Prospect Medical Holdings Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
39%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Prospect Medical Holdings Chairman of the Board, CEO Sam Lee (no image)
Sam Lee
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Expensive health benefits, no 401k match(in 5 reviews)

  • "Turn-Over rate is high, the work load never seems to go away due to how the workflow is set up(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Med-Surg"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Norwalk, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prospect Medical Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to gain clinical experience and teamwork is excellent.

    Cons

    It is a small hospital and there are limited number of beds

  2. "Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Upland, Chester, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prospect Medical Holdings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The best reason is the paid time off

    Cons

    The management is not good

    Prospect Medical Holdings Response

    January 18, 2021

    Your feedback - both positive and negative - helps us implement change. We have shared your feedback with leadership for follow-up.


  3. "NEW NURSES BEWARE"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Chester, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prospect Medical Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    experience, experience, experience, experience, theres no other PRO.

    Cons

    employer does not value employees, nurses are overworked and underpaid, patients are aggressive and sometimes violent, older nurses "eat their young", if youre a new nurse, expect to have every single patient on the floor that is on the brink of death or demented and violent.

    Continue reading
  4. "PCT"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician in Upland, Chester, PA

    I have been working at Prospect Medical Holdings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and Nurse staff in nice

    Cons

    Not enough Ppe and understaff

  5. Helpful (3)

    "A lot of uncertainty"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inpatient Case Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prospect Medical Holdings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of changes Typically pay well

    Cons

    A lot of changes Lay offs 3 during my employment Uncertain on job security Not very transparent Blame employees Training isn't sufficient

    Continue reading

    Prospect Medical Holdings Response

    May 25, 2020

    Your feedback - both positive and negative - helps us implement change. We have shared your feedback with leadership for follow-up.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Prospect is the best place I ever worked at."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Financial Planning and Analysis in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prospect Medical Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's too many pro's to list in my opinion but I'm also a current employee. 1) Good People with Good Culture 2) Owners are Amazing and Understanding 3) Challenging environment with a lot of learning and experience building 4) Ability to create your own position to fill a need in the company 5) A lot of PTO time 6) Willing to appreciate hard working employees 7) Making a difference in Healthcare

    Cons

    1) Job is very challenging in certain positions. If you want to coast, this place isn't for you. 2) No 401K match if non-union. 3) No free gym reimbursement

    Continue reading

    Prospect Medical Holdings Response

    February 9, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback and your contributions! We will pass along your feedback on 401(k) matches to our leadership team. We are always seeking ways to improve and serve our hardworking employees!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Anonymous"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Anaheim, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prospect Medical Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, Flex start time, food sold on sight

    Cons

    Completely obsessed with ROI ( Return on investment)

    Continue reading

    Prospect Medical Holdings Response

    March 2, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your candid feelings. It's great to hear that you appreciated the amenities we offer our employees. Our focus on return on investment (ROI) is one of the primary ways we determine where to focus our efforts and get the best results. It prevents our organization from wasting valuable funds on ineffective tactics. It’s also how we allocate company resources to enhance the experience of our patients.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Ran my hospital into the ground"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Prospect Medical Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My boss, co-workers and just the people i worked around with were amazing.

    Cons

    Corporate is terrible at communication. Pay is below average. Corporate doesn't know how to run a hospital. No holidays. Sometimes the company forces you to take PTO.

    Continue reading

    Prospect Medical Holdings Response

    February 9, 2020

    We apologize for any challenges you have experienced as a result of poor communication and are actively working to improve it by implementing an intranet. Thank you for sharing your feelings. Because of caps on how much paid time off one can accrue each year, employees may have to take some time off to go under this cap and begin accruing again. It's great to hear that you enjoy working with your team! We are very lucky to have so many wonderful, talented and compassionate people working for PMH. We're also fortunate to have an overall turnover rate that is below the national average for healthcare. Our turnover rate for nurses is also below the national average!

  9. Helpful (14)

    "Company about to implode"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orange, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prospect Medical Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Line Staff are good people to work with. Pay is average. PTO not bad.

    Cons

    This company can not manage its finances. It never pay it's vendors and barely pays their employees. Every pay period is a question mark if we are going to get paid or not. The medical benefits are a joke. Toxic culture to work in. They do not respect their people and treat employees and contractors like second class citizens.

    Continue reading

    Prospect Medical Holdings Response

    February 9, 2020

    PMH is a for-profit health system. We absolutely do pay our vendors. They are crucial to what we do. For the last several years we have worked to implement systems and get our accounting in order, as well. Regarding compensation, we frequently perform salary reviews and acknowledge when there has been low pay, then work to correct it. Our CEO in California has been working to improve compensation even further, but this may take a little time. Thank you for your feedback, as this is a timely issue that is under heavy consideration right now. Our medical benefits are through Blue Shield, Delta Dental and VSP. We recognize that the employee side of the contribution is currently high. We're continuously working on innovative ways to control healthcare costs and hope to one day pass these savings on to our employees. Thank you very much for your feedback and for the valuable contributions you made during your time at PMH.

  10. "Great people to work with, not enough internal promotions"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prospect Medical Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, understandable with life and work

    Cons

    No room for growth, too many external managers hired and quitting

    Continue reading

    Prospect Medical Holdings Response

    February 9, 2020

    We are lucky to have so many wonderful, talented and compassionate people working for PMH. We're also fortunate to have an overall turnover rate that is below the national average for healthcare. Our turnover rate for nurses is also below the national average! We actively encourage internal hiring. Hundreds of internal transfers happen every year at PMH. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 76 English Reviews