Protect America Reviews | Glassdoor

Protect America Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Protect America CEO Scott Fleming (no image)
Scott Fleming
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Food Trucks break room cool employees(in 10 reviews)

  • "They have ongoing education for team members and leaders that will benefit them where ever they go in their career(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "This is common & normal in a call center)(in 7 reviews)

  • "At any moment someone who has worked for this company for a couple weeks can walk out the door with someone's social and no one would know(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company To Grow With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protect America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Protect America is a very inclusive company with a wide variety of opportunities to grow within the company. They have ongoing education for team members and leaders that will benefit them where ever they go in their career. Their Values In Action motto really makes it a great environment to be in on a day to day basis.

    Cons

    The change in insurance provider hasn't worked well for my family.

    Protect America2019-06-15

    Protect America Response

    June 17, 2019N/A

    Making sure we are inclusive is very important to us. Talent can be found from a variety of people from all different backgrounds and beliefs. The more diversity we have the better we are as a company!

  2. "Good money/bad boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Protect America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    money was good while it lasted

    Cons

    terrible micro-management ok then

    Advice to Management

    get rid of scott

    Protect America2019-08-01
  3. "Right Idea & On the Right Track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protect America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low pressure environment for the most part.

    Cons

    Sketchy communication channels on a good day.

    Protect America2019-07-03

    Protect America Response

    July 23, 2019N/A

    Thank you for providing your feedback. We agree that communication should always be improved upon whether it is within a department or across channels. It sounds like we need to make sure we focus on this a little more and try to ensure we are better aligned. Thank you again for ...

    Show More
  4. "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Protect America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with

    Cons

    Almost everything else. These guys lie so much that they actually believe it. Their 5 star ratings are a fraud. From the end of march this year to mid April there are twelve 5 star reviews on them from current employees. These are guaranteed all done by current managers, or people who were asked or paid to do so. Funny how everyone loves working here on the internet right before they start looking to hire new... people. They even go back and respond to their own reviews! I was personally asked on multiple occasions to go on certain platforms to write reviews but did not participate. They will try and find any way to take money off your check, you will work the worst hours, work every holiday, get personally blamed for the company's shortsightedness, and feel completely depressed every day that you work there. They give all the monthly awards to the same 10 people (mostly managers) and don't generally care if you're happy or not. Customers are tricked into buying their system, then when they get it will quickly realize that it's garbage and want to send it back. Or if they don't send it back within 2 weeks they will spend the next 3 years of their life regretting their decision. Same thing goes with working here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Update they way you do everything. Protect America is slowly dying and upper management seems to care less. It's 2019 and to quote something I heard many customers say "it looks like it's from the 90's." Times have changed and just because it worked back them doesn't mean it will still work now. Your managers are just that, and to hear you call any of them a leader is laughable. Your people on the phones are... the lifeblood of your company, maybe if you ever listened to them and implemented any sort of change people would actually be happy to work here. Perhaps then you may just get a real 5 star review instead of having to make your own.

    Show More
    Protect America2019-07-08

    Protect America Response

    July 23, 2019N/A

    Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. You are 100% correct that the people talking to and supporting our customers are the most important and the lifeblood of the company. It sounds as if we need to do a better job in listening to their feedback and implementing change ...

    Show More
  5. "Great Company/Great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retention Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protect America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The leadership here is outstanding, they are always around to help. They work just as hard with us as for us. The COO herself has been seen on the floor taking calls to better the experience for our customers. The statement lead by example isn't just a motto here.

    Cons

    None that I know of.

    Protect America2019-04-18

    Protect America Response

    May 16, 2019N/A

    Thank you for sharing your observations. While we may not always be successful, we try very hard to keep the "Every Customer, Every Time" mentality. No matter the job title, our jobs start with the customer always. That's one thing that will never change.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "My Protect America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Build Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protect America full-time

    Pros

    I have worked at Protect America for the last 3 months. I feel it’s a great place to work. The company has a great induction training program that adequately prepares you. They have created excellent resources and continuous training that they make available to you. While it is a performance driven company they try hard to make it a fun and engaging atmosphere. There is potential for personal growth and therefore... feel I have found a home here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of documentation and reporting, of course good documentation is a necessary evil.

    Advice to Management

    Love that you are big on promoting from within. It gives associates something to strive for.

    Protect America2019-04-11

    Protect America Response

    April 12, 2019Recruiting

    That's great to hear and thank you for letting us know what is working! We want to be certain that our team members are adequately prepared to do their jobs well and be successful! Development is the main reason we have Protect America University (PAU) and we are excited to be able ...

    Show More
  7. "Great place for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Team Leader in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protect America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've worked here for 8 years and have always received the help and training I needed to grow within the company. It's a fun and diverse family environment to work. There will always be someone there to help you with any questions you may have. From learning a new process to better assist customers, to learning how to better communicate overall.

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to work mandatory overtime. But I guess that's not really a con considering its more opportunities to make more income.

    Protect America2019-04-10
  8. "Sorry to leave such a FUN atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Experience Supervisor in Leander, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Protect America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Although my time with Protect America (PA) has been a short one, my experience was a great one. The fun atmosphere and culture PA has is a wonderful way to make a workplace feel like you're working yet hanging out with your friends at the same time! I truly enjoyed all of my co-workers and EVERYONE was always available/willing to help with any needs. So you may be wondering... if this is such a great place to... work, why are you leaving? The answer to this is... my employment background is in a different field and an opportunity has arisen that I could not pass up.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons to speak of.

    Protect America2019-04-10

    Protect America Response

    April 12, 2019Recruiting

    We're sorry you're not part of our PA family any longer but we do appreciate your feedback! We're glad you saw what we see every day. We wish you the best of luck in your new endeavors!

  9. "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Logistics Team Member 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protect America full-time

    Pros

    I've worked with the Protect America team for many years and you truly feel like you're part of a family. Leaders here are very easy to talk to and work with, whether it's your manager or Sr. Director you know they have your best interests at heart. This is proven by their encouragement to grow and enhance your skills within the company .

    Cons

    I think we should have more outside company events like a company picnic.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Protect America2019-04-09
  10. "Diverse, Engaging, Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protect America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very rewarding job with the opportunity to help new hires become experts on home security systems and meeting new faces and/or personalities! Protect America has a great staff and is a company that truly cares about Every Customer Every Time!

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times. (This is common & normal in a call center)

    Advice to Management

    Stay in tune with your team!

    Protect America2019-04-09
Found 125 reviews