Protection 1 Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Apr 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Protection 1 CEO Tim Whall
Tim Whall
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "My direct manager, time off, employee alarm benefits(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good people that do their best to serve the customer and meet company standards(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management loses touch of mid management at times(in 9 reviews)

  • "P1 name was then changed and the family atmosphere was drastically changed(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      I would have retired with this company...

      Apr 26, 2019 - Service Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people! From upper management, technicians to office personnel they have nothing but the best. The company always made me feel like family.

      Cons

      Things quickly changed when a large security firm was purchased. P1 name was then changed and the family atmosphere was drastically changed.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Started out great, went Downhill quickly. Not a good organization to work for.

      Jun 2, 2012 - Commercial Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was happy when I first started. Had good branch managers, fantastic commercial sales team and sales coordinator. We're very productive and had fun in the process.

      Cons

      Due to upper management, the branch capsized 6 months after starting. Managers were gone, employees were being let go that were there for years. Jobs sold could no longer be processed quickly. Yet upper management kept sending daily emails ; Give us more, more. It became impossible to work there anymore. They hired a new manager who would yell at his staff, and downgrade people behind their backs. Have never seen a place go from good to ugly in less than a year.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      No strategy or training

      Apr 9, 2014 - Commercial Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great local office and great people. I joined this company because they provide a quality of service that is much better than any other competitor and it is true.

      Cons

      Upper management has no understanding of how to implement a strategy to increase commercial sales. The compensation is great if you can convince a small business owner to spend $95 a month instead of $25 with a competitor. I've done it, but it's tough.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I love being part of the P1 family

      Nov 6, 2013 - Marketing Manager in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome management who truly care about you, your thoughts and ideas. Lots of room for advancement and growth personally and professionally. Upper management works long hours and more than their employees. I have worked for companies in the past where it's the complete opposite. It's great to have leaders who actually lead and go above and beyond.

      Cons

      I have been here 2 years and don't have 1 thing bad to say.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Account Manager

      May 16, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most co-workers were good people. Decent benefits.

      Cons

      Other co-workers stabbing others in the back. Upper management choice on some department managers are very poor. No structure, no guidance when needed. Talked down to by manager- one time she was discussing what dress she was going to wear with a fellow employee, and I went to her with a serious issue with an account and was told-"I don't have time for this". Company was great until new owners came in. Cut out bonus with no notice, then lied to about getting a bonus over and over. Was glad to leave when I did

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      General Manager

      Jul 10, 2016 - General Manager in Visalia, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Possibility of advancement is available.

      Cons

      Upper management loses touch of mid management at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Pros

      They have nice marketing material.

      Cons

      No direction, no leadership, no support, no universal pricing, insufficient staff in the branches, no regard for the customers or the employees, no communication, morale is extremely low unless you are in upper management. Unreasonable quotas, no leads, no raise in car allowance the entire time I have been here. Impossible to get paid what is owed to you....they find a loophole to withhold your commissions. Managers know little about the industry...they hire guys to read the p&l. Lets see...they fired almost all the IT department, good luck getting IT support. They tell you to send an e mail to IT for help if you need it...wait, I cant...my computer doesn't work...that's why I need IT support !They don't carry inventory in the local branches...hey, that cost to much money! No ink for printers...hey, that cost too much! Can't use Fed Ex...must use USPS to save money! Getting a stamp from them is a long and torturous process. Work environment is unhealthy, hostile and uncooperative. There are no clear processes in place resulting in a constant state of confusion and blatant inefficiency. I could on...

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't do it-Please read this review-Isn't worth it.

      Oct 1, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At first, there seemed to be many. Health insurance, dental, vision, 401k, paid training, opportunity to advance & incentives to make more money.

      Cons

      Heavy turn around in staff and management. When I was there over 60 reps and supervisors left out of 85/90 in a one year span. Mandatory overtime, forcing you to work a 16 hour shift, go home and sleep and have to be in for your 8 hour shift 8 hours later. Mandate list which was constantly being enforced, no way to manipulate it like they say you can in the interviews. They couldn't hire & train people in the rate they were leaving. Favouritism. You can get away with murder as long as the right supervisors like you. Nepotism. People dating and sleeping around with upper management of course get treated differently. You get sucked into the fact that you can make good money there, you just have to kill yourself to do it. They will allow you to work an additional 24 hours in a work week. You burn yourself out and have no life. If you call out, refuse mandate, leave early-you will get attendance points and be punished by being put back on the mandate list. So after being sick you have to worry about being forced to work a 16 hour day the day you come back. When I started I saw so many people come and go, and I couldn't figure out why-within 3 months I hated that place. The job itself was tolerable, you were dealing with idiots all day that couldn't remember their password. But the way the place was run was HORRIFIC. I left there with the money I saved after 13 months and no other back-up job. I was so unhappy being there that I would rather quit and live off my savings for a few months until I could find another job than stay there. That has got to tell you something about that company.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Intimidate, humiliate, no training or coaching, no assistance

      Apr 10, 2013 - Commercial Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      National recognition. Good Products. Fairly decent customer service.

      Cons

      I was hired with very little experience in the security industry. But with almost 30 years of b2b sales experience working 2 different industries they figured with the proper training I would be a an asset to them. What they "figured" and how they would follow up on that are 2 different things. I was without a manager from day 1 for 5 months. I was told by upper management to try to learn equipment on my own. I was told to go out and try to sell without any formal training. Finally agfter 6 months I was sent to their corporate training center (bootcamp). I was there for 3 days and they never mentioned one thing about alarm systems, cctv systems or access control. They didn't go over their software management software, they didn't go over their customer database software or even educate on networking tools. What they did do was make everyone stand up and tell the P-1 story in a variety of ways. How "great this company is". How great management and ownership is etc. What a rediculous waste of time and financial resources. They were adamant in pointing out the 80% attrition rate of sales personel. Sure enough within my first year over 50% have either been let go or quit. The VPs, who I call the dog and pony show, are a lot of hype and in one particular person's case a future HR nightmare. This guy sends out sales spreadsheets to all Salesmen showing sales to date and humiliating those who have not made a sale by specifically pointing it out. I finally started getting the hang of the industry and started making some headway. It took an act of god to get vacation time I had coming to me and was pressured on my return to make numbers on what was a short month. The next month they said make 100% quota or you are gone. I made 72% which ranked 50 out of 160 salesman nationally, but it wasn't enough. There is no stability in this industry for salesman. How can a person buy a home or new car, increasing their monthly expenses, when knowing their job will never be secure. They want to be known as the best company in the alarm industry, when they should focus on being the best alarm company to work for.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      COULDN'T GET OUT FAST ENOUGH. I HAVE NEVER HAD A WORSE JOB THAN THIS.

      Jul 3, 2014 - Customer Service in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None except for getting a meager paycheck.

      Cons

      Took the job to have something on my resume besides unemployment after a layoff. MASSIVE TURNOVER. Upper management talks about how great they are but the whole company sucks. THE COMPANY IS ALL ABOUT THE MONEY--FOR THEM---NOT YOU. Morale is bad. Raises are non-existant. Customers are horrible and verbally abusive to the employees. Company keeps patting itself on the back telling themselves and you how great they are, which they are NOT. I ended up on anti-depressants to get through the rest of my time there and got out as soon as I could. All the managers stand around and talk all day to each other so there is no actual management help. You are constantly micromanaged about how much time you spend on calls. I would have preferred a fast food job to this one. No chance for advancement but they will talk it up big time but it won't happen. Last time I drove by the place they had a big desperate banner out in front looking for help. They bribe employees to show up for work with cheap prizes and greasy food dinners. The year end bonus? A cheap Chinese made Christmas ornament and a book telling how great the company is---AND NOTHING ELSE. No year end bonus, no raise, nothing. If you want to be appreciated on your job go elsewhere and AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS OR YOU WILL REGRET IT!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Protection 1 Job Seekers

    Monitoring
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Protection 1? Share Your Experiences

    Protection 1 logo
    or