Protective Life Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

Protective Life Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
1.7
3%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Protective Life President and CEO Richard J. Bielen
Richard J. Bielen
3 Ratings
  1. "Contact Center Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protective Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, atmosphere, growth potential, stability

    Cons

    increase in pay in small increments

    Protective Life2017-10-30
  2. "Great pay, bad politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Protective Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, beautiful work space, above average salary

    Cons

    In-fighting, communication with employees isn't great, understaffed in some areas, overstaffed in others. Very political .

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2019-12-26
  3. "Work here only if you want to feel worthless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Elgin, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Protective Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't really think of any

    Cons

    Leadership treats people horribly, especially the operations services leadership. They specifically target people to drive them away. Their subordinates are belittled and berated constantly under the guise that "I have every right to provide feedback." However what is received is not feedback but complete bullying. The sad part is, the HR department is useless when it comes to correcting this treatment by these leaders and has even encouraged it. Nothing will change here unless the operations leadership changes.

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2019-12-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid this company, there is not a good internal culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Case Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Protective Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There was a lot to learn and enough work going on to keep you busy at all times

    Cons

    The culture in my department became much more oppresssive over the last year. Lots of micromanagement, and harsh punishment for simple mistakes. They track how much "Idle" time you have and will look for excuses to fire people when the application volume falls.

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2019-08-12

    Protective Life Response

    August 19, 2019

    Thank you for providing feedback! We are disappointed to hear of your experience, but appreciate your transparent perspective. We use all feedback to help us understand our opportunities to grow as an employer.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good employers value their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Protective Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, flex time, and has cafeteria on site

    Cons

    Culture no longer values tenure. Upper management is allowed to speak to b those below them horribly. HR is a joke and does nothing to support the employees. No longer a family oriented place that supports work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2019-07-02

    Protective Life Response

    July 8, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to maintaining a positive working environment. While we’re disappointed to hear your concerns, we also appreciate your candor as it helps us identify opportunities moving forward. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of big picture thinking at operation level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Protective Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hands on environment. User level involved in technology discussions. Good partnership with local it to solve problems.

    Cons

    Lack of trust at leadership levels. Change management issues. Micro management. Inflexible work environment. Onboarding not structured.

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2017-09-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good 'ol boys club."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Case Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Protective Life

    Pros

    I worked at the Protective Distributor Cincinnati Ohio Office. I liked that it was small. Most people were friendly. A mostly relaxed atmosphere.

    Cons

    Made me believe that as a contract employee I would get hired if I stayed. Told me this for months only to hire other people and let me go right when my contract was up. Company not diverse. Out of 100+ employees, only 7 black and 1 Asian. Too many young kids working and getting promoted and shouldn't be.

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2017-01-07
  8. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Protective Life for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity for advancement if hard working, quick learner, team player, smart.

    Cons

    Upper management sometimes misses opportunities to help middle management become better managers overall.

    Protective Life2016-09-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protective Life

    Pros

    Great wellness program. Offer incentives for participation.

    Cons

    Lean staff. Tap the same high performers for projects until they're burned out.

    Protective Life2016-08-17
  10. "Case Manager 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Protective Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and work life balance

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities, senior management, culture

    Protective Life2015-07-20
Found 12 reviews