Protective Life "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Protective Life Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Protective Life President and CEO Richard J. Bielen
Richard J. Bielen
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are great benefits, PTO, building is being upgraded(in 14 reviews)

  • "They are a great company that offers the employee options that helps to better the work life balance(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Protective Life for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work environment, competitive pay, and great benefits

    Cons

    parking, break room , walkway,and restrooms

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2017-09-11
  2. "It’s an ok place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Protective Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are great benefits, PTO, building is being upgraded

    Cons

    Outdated software, too many changes without clean communication. Employees don’t feel secure in their job, management doesn’t encourage team work even though they claim they do. There’s very much a divisive and secretive style of management that leaves employees on edge and not feeling valuable.

    Protective Life2020-01-23
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Protective Life full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, company invests in it's employees, PTO is great to start, and many locations

    Cons

    Software is a little outdated and pay could be a little better. They are a mulit billion dollar company.

    Protective Life2019-08-24
  5. "Great place to start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protective Life full-time

    Pros

    Competitive sales environment with upward potential. Great benefits, and future.

    Cons

    The company overall can be very conservative in certain aspects.

    Protective Life2018-07-30
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Proceed with caution......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Protective Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, 401K, pension, family oriented company. Lots of volunteer activities for employees. On site cafeteria and walking trails ( home office). Easy to work with staff.

    Cons

    Absurdly low pay and salary increases. Advancement opportunities for those without an IT background are next to none, even for those with an advanced degree and a significant amount of experience. Company appears to prefer to hire from the outside and pay a higher salary rather than promote those who have a good handle on company culture and experience within the organization.

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2016-11-11
  7. "Mechanical Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Calabasas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Protective Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great team , great hours

    Cons

    Not enough recognition for their employees

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2016-06-10
  8. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Protective Life

    Pros

    Great environment. No micro-managing. Once permanent Great benefits.

    Cons

    takes too long to become permanent

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2015-07-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Benefits, Bad management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Protective Life

    Pros

    Great benefits, I really liked working there. Good people for the most part. I was in customer service. Liked the work, learned a lot.

    Cons

    Understaffed, employees are under trained. Very much still an old boys club. Promotions are hard to come by unless you are "in". Hight turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    Protective Life2015-02-24
  10. "Not bad for an entry level job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Protective Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, great benefits, plenty of PTO.

    Cons

    Little room for growth, micro management.

    Protective Life2014-10-11
  11. "Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Protective Life

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Solid Company.

    Cons

    There are none that I can think of

    Protective Life2014-09-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews