Protiviti Reviews in New York, NY | Glassdoor

Protiviti New York Reviews

Updated December 1, 2017
109 reviews

Filter

Filter

New York, NY

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Protiviti President and CEO Joseph A. Tarantino
Joseph A. Tarantino
85 Ratings

109 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The best work/life balance of any consulting firm (in 203 reviews)

  • An amazing place to start a career without a doubt (in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • Compensation is traded for work/life balance (in 73 reviews)

  • Most new hires out of college are placed in the Internal Audit & Finance Advisory practice (in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Associate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    It's a consultancy that strives to help you strike a balance between client work and family life - and mean it.

    Cons

    The solution offerings need to continue to expand from advisory focused to include more execution for follow-on work.

    Protiviti Response

    Dec 1, 2017 – Senior Manager, Best People & Culture

    Thank you for your thoughts! I agree with you wholeheartedly when you say that we mean it! Thank you also for the impact that you have made while here, and for the contributions that I know you... More


  2. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hours are okay.
    Salary is okay.
    Benefits are okay.
    People are nice.

    Cons

    Protiviti isn't really a consulting firm. The biggest red flag is that Protiviti is owned by Robert Half, a staffing agency. Let me make it clear, there is a very real reason Robert Half owns Protiviti and as time goes on Protiviti loses more and more of the little bit of independence the firm has from Robert Half.

    Protiviti is in actuality, a staff augmentation firm. A good 70%-80% of the projects are just contractor type projects where you'll just be performing some small process for the client. Let me make it clear, on the overwhelming majority of the projects you won't be making recommendations or providing analysis or just generally helping the client improve, no you will be doing work for the client that they could hire a full-time internal employee to do but for one reason or another they need extra help. The worst part is that many of these projects are like quicksand (and I say quicksand because on many of these staff augmentation projects they won't let you move even if another true consulting needs a unique skill you have). These staff augmentation projects often have people stuck on the project for easily over a year (at which point it's like why even work for Protiviti when you can get a full-time job working for the client doing the EXACT same work).

    Essentially working for Protiviti is like working as a contractor with the "title" of consultant

    The projects are overwhelmingly garbage, and I would recommend everyone to stay away (unless you're interested in following the client's mind numbing processes). Things are really headed in the wrong direction and unless Protiviti cuts it's ties with Robert Half, the firm will just become another division of Robert Half.

    Advice to Management

    Stop accepting garbage projects. People don't join Protiviti to be staff augmentation. I get that you need to meet revenue goals, but if you keep accepting the garbage projects you do, in a very short time the firms reputation will become absolute mud. Not to mention there is a reason people quit and leave with such awful exit interviews.

    Protiviti Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – U.S. Campus Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We value your feedback. I am glad you have enjoyed working with your co-workers , your salary and benefits, and your experience with work life balance... More

  3. "Excellent People and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Consultant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Technology Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people and culture of this company make it an exciting and informative environment. Protiviti is an excellent place to work and I feel very lucky to start my career here

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons

    Protiviti Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – U.S. Campus Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review and for your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you are having a great first professional experience with Protiviti. I have had the opportunity to grow... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, but work is lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant II in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Consultant II in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The culture at this firm is outstanding. I find it hard to believe that any other company in this industry does a better job at recruiting people who fit with the culture here. Any team I've been has been a great experience, and everyone is always willing to spend the time to help you out, which is very important for new hires. The people you work with are the reason you stay.

    Cons

    Compensation. Definitely is not in line with the compensation for similar advisory roles at Big Four, which is often who we consider our main competitors. A lot of people leaving the firm because of the uncompetitive nature of our salaries. It's great for your first year or two when you work 40-50 hours a week. But when you start working 60+ hours, the compensation is just not worth it.

    The work itself. For myself and many others, the work we're given can be monotonous and when management doesn't allow first or second years to work on engagements outside of SOX testing (for example), and expect you to be completely knowledgeable as a senior, is a difficult expectation to meet. Work could use more variety and trying to give employees diverse experiences earlier on in their careers so they are more well prepared for their future roles as senior consultants, managers, etc.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to keep your top employees from leaving, start increasing salaries instead of hoping they "boomerang" back and end up paying them more than what you would have initially to retain them. If you want the management of the future to be full of top candidates, you have to retain them young and pay them what they're worth in the market.

    Start to allow more junior consultants work on different engagements, especially within the IAFA practice, so that they are more well prepared as they progress within the firm.


  5. "Good... until they drop you for no reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Former Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Protiviti as an intern

    Pros

    Fun, Good People, Interesting Work, and Good Perks

    Cons

    Would not give full time offer for no concrete reasoning, which is not okay. Future Interns stay well aware that this company will drop you for no good reasons, even if your performance evaluations come back good.

    Protiviti Response

    Aug 15, 2017 – U.S. Campus Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us. I am pleased to see you had fun, experienced good people, enjoyed our work and received perks during the summer. During the... More


  6. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Former Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Protiviti as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing culture and great hands on consulting experience

    Cons

    Small firm, short decision period for full time offers

    Advice to Management

    Provide more time for interns to provide decisions.

    Protiviti Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – U.S. Campus Recruiting Lead

    Thank for your review! I am excited to learn that you had a great summer interning in our New York office and have been provided hands on consulting experience. Protiviti provides our interns three... More


  7. "Risk and Compliance Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Lender Due Diligence in New York, NY
    Current Intern - Lender Due Diligence in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, good pay and room for promotions, young business

    Cons

    difficult to do major tasks, usually given grunt work,

  8. "Internship with actual work experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in New York, NY
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti as an intern

    Pros

    - "The Intern Challenge" which is Protiviti's intern training program is not only extremely fun, it is also a thorough preparation for the audit and consulting industry
    - Once you actually start in the office, you are given the work of an actual entry level consultant and the work that you do and skills that you gain are experience that shine on your resume
    - HR is extremely involved and enthusiastic during the entire process and check-in with you throughout the summer to make sure that you are given work and are always there to answer any questions or concerns
    - senior management is available to talk to you directly and really appreciate hard work ethic and initiative

    Cons

    - only an 8 week experience instead of the standard 10-12

    Protiviti Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – U.S. Campus Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review and your thoughts regarding our internship program. I am glad to know you are enjoying your summer here. Protiviti runs a national intern program which... More


  9. "Senior Consultant I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I enjoy having the opportunity to work at different companies with great people. The small size of the company makes it great for consistency amongst projects, meaning a real team environment has been created.

    Cons

    Like most professional service firms, often times people get stuck on certain projects due to client needs. This sometimes happens on clients that aren't located in your market, forcing the employee to travel longer than anticipated.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. The transparency and accessibility of management is a main reason why people enjoy working at this company.

    Protiviti Response

    Jun 26, 2017 – Financial Services Recruiting Leader

    We appreciate your feedback! It is great to hear your involvement on project teams and teaming with various consultants has been a positive one. We strive for collaboration and consistency across... More


  10. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I worked at Protiviti full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love the Columbus Circle location.

    Cons

    Many changes but if you are okay with the ups and downs...

    Protiviti Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback!


Showing 109 of 1,134 reviews
Reset Filters