KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Protiviti

Part of Robert Half
Engaged Employer

Protiviti

Add a Review

Protiviti Employee Reviews about "consulting firm"

Updated Nov 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 of over 2,448 reviews

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Good work life balance and growth opportunities(in 328 reviews)

  • "Great people, great culture and environment(in 151 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Clients are majorly Internal Audit(in 93 reviews)

  • "Usual Consulting firm based cons(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Protiviti and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "consulting firm"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place to work.

      Nov 13, 2020 - Senior Consultant in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company genuinely cares about its employees. Even during these uncertain times, the company has been open and transparent and kept employees well appraised on the direction of the company. The leadership team is impeccable and sets a good example for the rest of the company. They are not your typical consulting firm but definitely headed in the right direction. It's a company you will always be proud to have worked for and where you can feel secure in your job as long as you are doing your best.

      Cons

      It's a lot harder for experienced hires to adapt to the culture. Tip would be to try and get involved in as much as you can as soon as you arrive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Autonomy, Challenging, Growth

      Oct 18, 2019 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As someone who has spent their entire career (10+ years) with the company and have seen it grow from a fledgling company grappling with the fallout of Anderson/Enron and struggling to keep up with the demand for SOX services, to a dynamic, progressive and highly competitive consulting firm offering a diverse suite of consulting solutions, I can say that this is in fact a great place to build a career. I've enjoyed taking part in and watching the firm evolve and am more excited than ever to see what unfolds over the next five years. Take away: You will be given the opportunity to take control of your career and provided with all the resources you'll need to achieve the goals you set out to hit.

      Cons

      While it recently hit the $1 billion revenue mark and is projected to blow past that in the future, there can be some limitations in terms of the diversity of industry and clients depending on what market you are in. With it being a smaller firm compared to some of the bigger consulting and big 4 accounting firms, you may have to be more flexible in terms of mobility and work location. However the company is very accommodating with this and has rolled out a mobility program to allow for people to move to different locations if it makes sense for both the employee and the firm.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lots of Potential

      Aug 3, 2020 - Consultant II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly people, great culture, open policies, and great communication from all levels in the company.

      Cons

      Not solely a management consulting firm, lots of other work they don't tell you about. Being a new consultant, you're in a foundations program, which nearly all foundations consultants don't understand.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Short Review

      Aug 28, 2020 - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smaller consulting firm with reach in various industries and parts of the country/globe.

      Cons

      Some groups are newer and smaller -facing a lot of internal politics and thrash related to scaling up. Be aware of how large of a team you'll be joining - as you might be limited to opportunities/limited career growth based on work they win.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Growing Quickly and Ramping Up Benefits

      Feb 6, 2020 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Hours are very reasonable for consulting firm. - Culture is nurturing and focused on employee career growth. - Many ways to get involved at the company outside of day to day work. - Pay is more competitive with other firms. - Benefits have drastically improved (great paternity leave, increased 401k match, more CTO, among others). - Management is focused on growth and employee retention.

      Cons

      - Work isn't always interesting. - You may travel more than you prefer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      OK place to start consulting career

      Oct 9, 2019 - Senior Consultant, Technology Consulting in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - If you come in with true consulting experience, you can easily shine as a star - Work/life balance - Good primer for working at a real consulting firm

      Cons

      - Salaries are ~20-30% less than competitors - 2-4 years behind where competitors are at with new solution offerings and "Innovation" - Technology Consulting offering lacks identity. Protiviti is known for being an Internal Audit firm, with that, building out a Technology Consulting practice felt like it lacked its claim to fame. Most Technology projects are a result of some sort of audit project, are audit in nature, or are very implementation focused. - Will often get staffed on projects outside of your domain to avoid bench time

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Innovation, Integrity and Inclusion!

      Oct 22, 2019 - Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture. Also, Protiviti dedicates significant time, resources and money towards innovation and management and staff have high integrity. They listen to the client and want to do what is best for them. Not easy to find in a consulting firm.

      Cons

      Protiviti recognizes that they need to do a better job in hiring diverse talent, especially in management. They are talking significant actions - for example, Protiviti has a senior executive who is solely dedicated to diversity and inclusion (and separate and distinct from the Chief of HR). Further, they are putting efforts towards hiring more women, including women who have taken time off during their career.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Consulting that values You

      Oct 18, 2019 - Consultant I in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work is interesting - They have really good people, and I'm not just saying this. There is real community here and the team aspect to each engagement is evident. - The amount you get paid for the amount you work is better than at Big 4 companies. As someone who has worked at Big 4, you might find yourself working 60 hours a week, but only getting paid marginally more than at Protiviti. At Protiviti, you will work between 40-50 hours a week (depending on which solution you are in) with an off chance of working 60 hours once or twice a year. - Typical consulting firm travel perks, fun events to build office culture on Fridays - Access to upper management is much better at Protiviti than other consulting firms - This is the kind of firm you don't want to just hop in for two years and go somewhere else. It's the kind of lifestyle, work environment, and career that you want to stick with because it is just that good. - People actually take majority of their CTO/PTO (Choice/paid time off) and it isn't looked down upon, it's actually encouraged.

      Cons

      - Benefits/pay isn't as boisterous as the Big 4's - I'm willing to sacrifice a higher salary at either Big 4 or BCG, McKinsey, etc. for the work/life balance, people, and company that genuinely cares. So pay may be marginally less, but everything else for me personally makes up for it. - Other than that, I don't see why you'd want to work anywhere else besides Protiviti!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Under market pay and favoritism

      Apr 2, 2019 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) I have had great experiences with the consultant - manager levels. Genuine people who try their best to do the right thing.

      Cons

      1) Salary is a joke - I have spoken to my Career Advisor and Executive Advisor regarding this multiple times. They are unable to articulate where I fall within the salary band and flat out told me they were no allowed to share the range with me. All they can say is that I am within the salary range of my position which is not helpful. Different solutions do the same work yet the pay is drastically different. 2) Promotions are skewed toward individuals who suck up to MD's. Advancement isn't based on performance rather on who you know. 3) Staffing is done behind the scenes and you have no control over what project you are staffed on for the entire year. 4) Deceptive on the nature of the work that we do. We focus on internal audit we are not a true consulting firm!

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Protiviti Response

      Director of Recruiting

      Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that we are not living up to your expectations. I would encourage you to highlight your concerns on salary and staffing to your HR lead as well. We are as transparent as possible in recruiting and strive to hire the right people both skilled and interested in the work we do. We share the stories from our people and then ask that candidates meet as many people as possible to hear their individual stories as well. That way they can hear both what our strategy is in each of the areas as well as what are people are doing. I am happy to also offer my support if there areas that you would like to discuss where you feel we can be more transparent. We wish you the best as you continue your career with Protiviti!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great work/life dynamic , lots of opportunities to pursue what interests you.

      Oct 18, 2019 - Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The environment and culture is the best part. You work with people who you can actually be friends with outside of the office. There is a healthy competitive environment that continues to help you advance your career. Almost every employee is eager to help eachother out and learn from one another.

      Cons

      Depending on what project you are on, the work can be dry. That is going to happen when you start off at the bottom of any consulting firm.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Protiviti Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Protiviti? Share Your Experiences

    or