KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Protiviti

Part of Robert Half
Engaged Employer

Protiviti

Add a Review

Protiviti Employee Reviews about "internal audit"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 112 of over 2,448 reviews

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Good work life balance and growth opportunities(in 328 reviews)

  • "Great people, great culture and environment(in 151 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Clients are majorly Internal Audit(in 93 reviews)

  • "Usual Consulting firm based cons(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Protiviti and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "internal audit"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Really great experience despite pandemic

      Sep 7, 2020 - Summer Intern in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great people and culture work life balance

      Cons

      not much work on real projects not very interesting projects (mostly internal audit)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company for Internal Audit Work

      Jan 24, 2021 - Senior Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Protiviti is a people-centric company, where culture is a key value. Most of us stay at Protiviti, because of the support we get from our managers, advisors, management, and HR. There is a feeling of trust and transparency that is created by the easy-going environment. People do not have egos and are willing to help each other. Within the audit related solution/work at Protiviti, many of the engagements are SOX testing. This type of work is great for entry level auditors and set a good foundation for a career in Internal Audit. You can quickly get exposure to the internal audit industry leaders, gain professional services skills, and set you up for a great career in Internal Audit. Work-life balance is a lot better compared to the big-4. If you are transparent about your workload, my managers have always been understanding if you raise your hand for help.

      Cons

      If you do not want to have a career in Internal Audit, and are looking for technology consulting projects, then you have to be careful with which office you are joining. Some offices specialize in certain solutions, so it is important to ask before you join what type of projects are currently available for you to be staffed on and make sure that it aligns with the type of career you are aiming for. I add this as a con, because in the past Protiviti may not have done the best job communicating the type of work that was available per office to their new hires, resulting in new consultants working on projects that they were not expecting or wanting.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Find great talent and pay as little as possible

      Mar 22, 2020 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance and overall culture

      Cons

      Collaboration across solutions is non-existent and controlled by the internal audit MDs. Revenue splitting / sales credit is a constant battle and does not reward employees for working with other individuals as a team. Pay is significantly below market and annual increases are always 3%. Leadership does not understand pay bands outside of the internal audit and strong talent walks out the door after discovering the ins and outs.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      OK place to start consulting career

      Oct 9, 2019 - Senior Consultant, Technology Consulting in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - If you come in with true consulting experience, you can easily shine as a star - Work/life balance - Good primer for working at a real consulting firm

      Cons

      - Salaries are ~20-30% less than competitors - 2-4 years behind where competitors are at with new solution offerings and "Innovation" - Technology Consulting offering lacks identity. Protiviti is known for being an Internal Audit firm, with that, building out a Technology Consulting practice felt like it lacked its claim to fame. Most Technology projects are a result of some sort of audit project, are audit in nature, or are very implementation focused. - Will often get staffed on projects outside of your domain to avoid bench time

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company!

      Oct 18, 2019 - Consultant in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Protiviti has a great culture, not in terms of providing free snacks and lunches (which they do), but in terms of making sure their leaders act like leaders. Managers+ tend to have the implicit understanding that their role is 1) to manage projects to successful completion and 2) grow your consultants. Most managers at Protiviti have that growth mindset, don't get stuck in their own little power bubbles, and generally do a good job of advocating for their consultants. There are of course exceptions, but this is the culture that is exuded from executive leadership that most managers+ tend to follow. Work-life balance is pretty spot on, and there isn't an expectation (in internal audit at least) to put in exuberant hours to get your work done. People do a pretty good job at being reasonable about staffing and talent management.

      Cons

      It's pretty tough to switch between solutions if you decide the work you're doing isn't for you. The stars have to align just right for it to happen, and let's face it, most of us aren't that lucky.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Gained good experience but too many politics

      Aug 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gain good internal audit experience

      Cons

      -Work is mundane and boring -Regional offices are overrun by politics -Management only staffs on you projects if they like you, not merit -Salary was low compared to others -Sometimes on the bench waiting to be staffed

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior Consultant - Fantastic Team to Work With

      Oct 18, 2019 - Senior Consultant in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great overall culture - Local and corporate management really invest in helping their people grow! Great people to work with! - After over a year with Protiviti, I have yet to work with someone I didn't like or get along with. Wide Range of work - I focus on the Internal Audit side of things, and have had the opportunity to work on a wide range of clients - from tech companies to manufacturers. I've also had the chance to work on/with virtually every aspect of a business. Opportunities - Protiviti is very much in growth mode right now, and there's a lot of chances for someone to come in and make a real difference. Flexibility - One of the great things about Protiviti is they're very good about assigning you to work and to clients that reflects what you want, so long as you tell them. I've met a couple of people who LOVE to travel; they want to spend most if not all of their time flying somewhere else. Protiviti accommodates, and they spend most of their time away from their home market. Others prefer not to travel, either because of family, personal preference, or some other reason. Again, leadership accommodates as best they can, and they rarely go out of market. In addition, if there's a particular kind of project you want to work on, leadership will work to get you assigned to such a project. Mentoring - Every employee has three different advisors assigned to them when they start, and they help guide new employees both in starting at the job, and at determining a long-term career path. Perks - There's a lot of little stuff that's hard to quantify, so this is kind of a more miscellaneous category. That said, we have a lot of fun with team lunches, office town halls, initiatives such as office committees in charge of planning social activities and sporting activities, and other things.

      Cons

      Protiviti is professional services firm, and that does come with a few inherent downsides, or at least things to look out for. We are focused on client needs, and those needs can change, sometimes at the drop of a hat, and sometimes due to actions of other third parties, such as external auditors. Management does it's best to stay on top of everything and manage projects to avoid issues, but sometimes the work just needs to be done, especially if a team falls behind schedule. While I haven't heard of anyone in Salt Lake working Big 4 Busy Season-type hours (60-70 hour weeks), this definitely isn't a job where you can put in 40 hours, then check out, go home, and not think about work again until Monday morning. None of this has been an issue for me personally, but it's something to be aware of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Under market pay and favoritism

      Apr 2, 2019 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) I have had great experiences with the consultant - manager levels. Genuine people who try their best to do the right thing.

      Cons

      1) Salary is a joke - I have spoken to my Career Advisor and Executive Advisor regarding this multiple times. They are unable to articulate where I fall within the salary band and flat out told me they were no allowed to share the range with me. All they can say is that I am within the salary range of my position which is not helpful. Different solutions do the same work yet the pay is drastically different. 2) Promotions are skewed toward individuals who suck up to MD's. Advancement isn't based on performance rather on who you know. 3) Staffing is done behind the scenes and you have no control over what project you are staffed on for the entire year. 4) Deceptive on the nature of the work that we do. We focus on internal audit we are not a true consulting firm!

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Protiviti Response

      Director of Recruiting

      Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that we are not living up to your expectations. I would encourage you to highlight your concerns on salary and staffing to your HR lead as well. We are as transparent as possible in recruiting and strive to hire the right people both skilled and interested in the work we do. We share the stories from our people and then ask that candidates meet as many people as possible to hear their individual stories as well. That way they can hear both what our strategy is in each of the areas as well as what are people are doing. I am happy to also offer my support if there areas that you would like to discuss where you feel we can be more transparent. We wish you the best as you continue your career with Protiviti!

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fair Pay for Amount of Work Done

      Apr 14, 2020 - Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great people and culture - Structured promotion process

      Cons

      - Hard to get off bad projects - Same type of projects (from Internal Audit Financial Advisory perspective)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company for Internal Audit

      Oct 18, 2019 - IAFA-IT Senior Consultant in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people within the practice and even the people on the operations side are great! Anyone and everyone has the opportunity to talk to anyone at any level and be extremely candid and heard. The compensation is above average if you do an above average job and INVEST in the company and culture. If you do an above average job but still aren't invested in the company and the people you will stay at the average compensation mark. Overall, a great environment to work in if you like Internal Audit work and a GREAT work/life blend. Seriously, the flexibility within the Internal Audit space is amazing and on top of that the benefits for parents or people in a life transition are high caliber.

      Cons

      When it comes to getting staff more experiences and different work it's extremely difficult to make this happen. Asking to work within a different solution could take years to make a reality and even then the reality of being sucked back into your original type of work is 99% probable. Of course a lot of this depends on the market you are in and what the local Managing Directors are selling (so be sure to ask what the spread is when interviewing!!!) but in 2019 and 2020 within the Dallas market just about all of our work is Internal Audit and the majority of our new hires are working on Internal Audit unless they came in with an extremely niche technical background (usually an external hire, not a campus hire). We may have some large projects that aren't Internal Audit but the people being staffed on those projects are Manager or above or contractors we snag from our parent company, Robert Half. This is really the only con I can think of which isn't too bad if you are an accounting guru that is looking for amazing work life blend, great people, and the ability to succeed and move up the chain quick. If you want to be within the Technology Consulting or Process Improvement space, be careful about your specific market, and maybe come in with a very specific and much needed expertise/certification.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 112 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Protiviti Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Protiviti? Share Your Experiences

    or