Providence Health & Services Administrative Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Providence Health & Services Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Providence Health & Services CEO Rodney F. Hochman (no image)
Rodney F. Hochman
5 Ratings
  1. "Hopsice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Administrative Assistant in Kent, WA

    I worked at Providence Health & Services for less than a year

    Pros

    Able to make your own Schedule.

    Cons

    Some of the downfall for working with Providence is sitting in traffic.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to offer at this time.

    Providence Health & Services2017-07-01
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Varied, interesting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Providence offers good benefits and PTO

    Cons

    Less into employees and more into profit as of late.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like they matter and they will rise up and exceed your expectations

    Providence Health & Services2019-03-09
  3. Helpful (9)

    "The Worst Place I Have Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wages are slightly better than other healthcare institutions in Portland.

    Cons

    The most dysfunctional institution I have ever worked in. If I could give half stars for the ratings, I would. It's that bad.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe you should apply your mission statement to your own employees: "know me, care for me, ease my way."

    Providence Health & Services2019-01-11
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Wonderful mission and culture, but pay & benefits need work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant III in Portland, OR

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful mission, compassionate care teams, & a lot of opportunities for continued learning and growth

    Cons

    Disorganized and confusing company structure, & as of 2018 we all had to start participating in a difficult online health incentive program in order to earn money to put toward our health insurance. The health insurance also has a high deductible, and the coverage doesn't kick in until you have met that deductible (of $1200). Since Providence is non-profit, their salaries are generally not as competitive as... the other big hospitals in the area.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The provider-led medical home model in my experience has caused an arrogance amongst some of the providers within the organization. Need to include administration in more of the decision-making. Please also do away with the Virgin Pulse health incentive tool or reduce the number of required annual points needed to earn our health incentive. Or, better yet, offer your employees a lower deductible health plan.

    Providence Health & Services2018-11-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Company is ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    company benefits are great

    Cons

    The company can keep people around too long. People that have checked out. They forget that they want to continuously improve the system and let employees get too comfortable and the CEO/Administration stops challenging them to put their best foot forward. Staff can start to let things go by the way side because of the this and it hurts the people PH&S serves.

    Advice to Management

    Learn when people have checked out and when they no longer have the best interest of the people at heart.

    Providence Health & Services2018-07-04
  6. "Administrative assitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Core mission and values of Providence

    Cons

    Pay is not as high as other hospitals in the area

    Providence Health & Services2017-10-06
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Integrity-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every department is different of course, but they try to hire good people and promote from within. Many work here decades and a lot has changed. Health care isn't a big money maker for the regular employee but it's sustainable and the non-monetary rewards are significant in that it's a quality place to work and values actually are valued.

    Cons

    Benefits are not as great as 5-10 years ago. Staffing in for clinical providers (MAs, RNs included) is often very tight and they burn out from overwork.

    Advice to Management

    The lower levels of employees in many areas need more staffing support. If one or two more people could be hired in each of these tight areas that have lots of turnover and people stressed out by the workload, a lot of mistakes could be prevented and happier employees would stay longer in their roles.

    Providence Health & Services2017-03-15
  8. "Administrative Assistant II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services

    Pros

    Excellent benefit package is available

    Cons

    Benefit package doesn't quite make up for pay scale.

    Providence Health & Services2016-11-07
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance, mission driven and lots of flexibility.

    Cons

    Communication is lacking in my specific department.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent on changes to the department.

    Providence Health & Services2016-03-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company Principles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Renton, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They pay a competitive wage and have a great mission. Plenty of ways to give back to the community and outreach programs.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement. Very difficult to have new positions approved. The stewardship process is not smooth and the HR department is not reliable.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within based on skills not favoritism. Look into the way lower level people are treated by higher level employees.

    Providence Health & Services2016-02-29
Found 14 reviews