Providence Health & Services Medical Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Providence Health & Services Medical Assistant Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
96%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Providence Health & Services CEO Rodney F. Hochman (no image)
Rodney F. Hochman
7 Ratings
  1. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant 

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time

    Pros

    nice staffs, good environment to learn

    Cons

    no cons that I found while working at Prov.

    Providence Health & Services2019-07-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They do a great job of fulfilling "the mission". They have good benefits etc.

    Cons

    after being here for 8.5 years my pay topped out at at 20.30 per hour. There is a PCC (receptionist) that makes 1 dollar less than me. I have 20 years experience. It is a good place for new MA's to work but not good if you are the "boots on the ground" long term. Because of this I have to resign and work somewhere else where I will be compensated for the work I do and be compensated for having an education beyond... what a receptionist does.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Expand your pay scales for quality Certified Medical Assistants.

    Providence Health & Services2019-08-28
  3. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Medford, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The experience I received from them was just what I needed in my first job of my health care career. I learned and meet the most amazing people. All the people I interacted with inside Providence were extremely kind and caring.

    Cons

    Politics. Same with every big organization.

    Advice to Management

    all new employees need to have had the proper training in all areas to reassure all areas are being given the same amount of training for each different skill sets required. If there is something the caregiver is lacking provide them with the chance to learn and work in area to try and improve.

    Providence Health & Services2019-08-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits, coworkers are amazing

    Cons

    Pay could be better, management isn't the best, high turnover mainly because of pay and management.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with me more compassion and empathy and they will want to stay and do above what is required of them. A happy team makes for happier patients and better care.

    Providence Health & Services2019-07-05
  5. "Great opportunities and on the higher pay scale!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Olympia, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Opportunities for growth and advancement.

    Cons

    I have not personally experienced any.

    Providence Health & Services2019-05-18
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pay is good Managers a great

    Cons

    coworkers a rude talk and gossip behind your back. No holiday pay Very little vacation time.

    Providence Health & Services2019-01-30
  7. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Spokane Valley, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing mission that matches moral values and helps those who truly need medical care.

    Cons

    Less pay than some places.

    Providence Health & Services2018-10-10
  8. "Working for Providence was very rewarding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Battle Ground, WA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Patient care, working close with doctors.

    Cons

    I felt like I had a lot of ideas for the work place, but my boss wouldn’t listen to new ideas.

    Advice to Management

    Get a new manager.

    Providence Health & Services2018-08-13
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Worst job experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant 

    I worked at Providence Health & Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very rigorous training if you consider slavery a positive experience

    Cons

    Rude CEO. Deceptive. Liar in chief. Pay cuts and ALL promises unkept. Verbally abusive Terrorizes staff Rude to other healthcare professionals Hires someone to screen, block and delete negative reviews on websites rather than focusing on ways to ethically improve company image and reputation.

    Advice to Management

    Please appoint someone ethical to help run this practice.

    Providence Health & Services2018-03-09
  10. "Providence is a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, friendly work environment, tons of learning experiences

    Cons

    Providence is a great company to work for. I don't have any cons.

    Providence Health & Services2017-12-23
Found 33 reviews