Providence Health & Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Providence Health & Services Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Providence Health & Services CEO Rodney F. Hochman (no image)
Rodney F. Hochman
584 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people who work here are amazing and truly care about each other and the patients and families.

    Cons

    The only con is that the pay is not quite as high as some other larger hospitals in LA.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Providence Health & Services2019-10-08
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Clinical Psychometrist in Santa Monica, CA

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great people, delivering great care, in a great location

    Cons

    management sometimes poor and disorganized at times.

    Providence Health & Services2019-10-06
  3. "providence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cardiac Monitor Tech in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, job security. Good EHR system.

    Cons

    Pay seems a little low.

    Providence Health & Services2019-10-03
  4. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    nice people, flexible time, good parking

    Cons

    IT need support, no communication

    Providence Health & Services2019-10-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Pay and Benefits and friendly environment

    Cons

    No Diversity among certain teams

    Providence Health & Services2019-09-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "on call"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - On Call Patient Dining Assistant 

    I worked at Providence Health & Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Offers alot of opportunity to grow.

    Cons

    On Call is horrible. Its a great way to work full time without receiving benefits.

    Providence Health & Services2019-09-27
  7. "Great Place to work with even better Coworkers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rehabilitation in Mission Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great you definitely feel like everyone is on the same team! Would definitely be open to working here again!

    Cons

    Parking and traffic is very annoying, and then there's all the red tape that comes with working at a hospital.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the facilities seem a little older it would be nice if they were able to reinvest in some of the facilities especially for the employees who have been there longer. To be fair I have not been there in a while so they may have done this already.

    Providence Health & Services2019-09-28
  8. Helpful (5)

    "IS is Broken"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Renton, WA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great health insurance options. Adequate PTO Premier Brand Potential for very interesting work

    Cons

    High turnover. Hemorrhaging talent. The people who stay are the least capable Frequent layoffs. Constant reorganization. My team has had three different managers in the last two years. Inexperienced managers appointed to lead teams. Promotions are based upon favoritism (because there’s no other way measure success) Once you hit a certain title level, that is the end of the road in terms of advancement. You... then wait endlessly to be recognized. No performance management system No pay for performance. Recognition is focused on Management. Fearful managers like to strip away success and the ability to apply expertise from their top IC’s to keep them ‘manageable’. If your boss isn’t being recognized for your achievement then no one is recognized. Annual raises don’t even cover cost of living adjustments, particularly for top performers or tenured employees at the top end of their pay bands.. Senior IC’s shoulder a huge percentage of the work, but junior IC’s are promoted faster with associated increases in pay and bonuses. Politicians get promoted. The rest are sent back to the salt mines. I watched a PMO resource get promoted from Sr. to Principal to Manager in 3 months. The people that helped make him successful received nothing. I watched a Sr. Manager get promoted to Director if an area he knows nothing about. I watched a freshly minted Manager take over an advanced software development team where the manager had zero experience with app dev or the products that the team uses. If he had applied as an external candidate, he wouldn’t have even received an interview request. Management likes to outsource everything, even when they have knowledgeable personnel as employees. The net result is that employees are never allowed to be experts at anything, and consulting firms dominate the IS landscape and control our strategy, standards and execution without any knowledge of how internal teams operate. Your employees have become bit-part actors in their own careers. As a result, internal employees who are rock stars get fed up and leave, and those who remain are the least performers, who never grow. When we outsource all of our work to vendors, we lose all of the accumulated IP from the work that is being done, and create huge dependencies on vendors for continued work. I have yet to see a manager who is capable of collaboratively developing an individual development plan with their directs. Managers have no interest in what their employees want from their careers. Many managers believe that the sole purpose of their team is to promote the manager’s agenda that is designed to make the manager look good (vs. supporting strategy or business priorities). Zero support from HR on internal postings. HR Recruiters treat employees like dirt. The average tenure to go from senior IC to Supervisor or Manager is about 8 years. This is true even if the person has held prior leadership and management roles. IS is still a disorganized mess. Everyone wants to be in charge, and do what they want to do (vs. doing the role that they are chartered for) India IS resources are a necessity because the US people who could help you don’t want to work here. (See above)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Centralized IT doesn’t work at this kind of scale. Cultural bias still prevails. Ignoring it affects everyone. We are a hospital system, not an IT company. Balance. Take the politics out of the workplace, stat! Implement a performance management system. Re-work your compensation plans to ensure growth for your top IC’s, who are festering in dead end roles. Fund a bonus pool that rewards performance and high... achievers. Stop promoting managers who don’t know anything. Stop protecting people who are coasting. Focus on retention, or turnover is going to continue to hurt. IS has cultivated a bad rep in the marketplace. Fix it, or you will continue to burn through local talent and find problems with vendor dominance. Please don’t remake Providence in Microsoft’s image. If we wanted to be Microsoft, we’d go work there. Your Cons list is HUGE!

    Show More
    Providence Health & Services2019-10-30
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ER Registered Nurse in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great hourly pay, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Inconsistent upper management, favoritism, shortness of equipments

    Providence Health & Services2019-09-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Cash Application Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liberty Lake, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hours, pay was ok. Meet some decent people I worked with.

    Cons

    Did not treat employees well. Did not follow code of conduct when it came to the employees.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favoritism.

    Providence Health & Services2019-10-25
Found 1903 reviews