Providence Health & Services "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Providence Health & Services Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Providence Health & Services CEO Rodney F. Hochman (no image)
Rodney F. Hochman
599 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work for, management is really supportive and they really value work life balance(in 94 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, no micromanagement, Epic charting(in 88 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Physical therapist assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist Assistant in Issaquah, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team environment, good flexibility, management is open to listening to concerns and working with you, nursing staff is wonderful as well

    Cons

    There have been periods of low census which made getting hours difficult at times, turnover in upper management fairly often

    Advice to Management

    Management is great

    Providence Health & Services2017-04-27
  2. "Ok place to work, Poor management,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Seattle, WA
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ok place to work, nice co-worker and flexible time off and working hours.

    Cons

    Ok Benefits, It is a health care company, but we have high deductible for our health care. Some years no merit increase, some year 0.25% and others years about the same not even 2%. Our vacation days got took away 4 days for people who work longer than 7 years once, already pay deduction. Company said that they have no profits, so no increase, but Upper management got Bonuses for non profit company? Company keep... merging or buying with other companies, mean they are growing, but no increase for lower level employees. Act like non- profit, but all profits for upper management and CEO 😖

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be fair to others like you are trying to earn your mission statement of helping vulnerable people.

    Providence Health & Services2019-11-16
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ER Registered Nurse in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great hourly pay, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Inconsistent upper management, favoritism, shortness of equipments

    Providence Health & Services2019-09-23
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Unorganized Reactionary For Profit Disguised As A Non Profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Coworkers And Parking Is Free

    Cons

    Constant Budget Cuts And Pressure To Keep Costs Down Has Pretty Much Ruined This Place. It’s Run By Executives That Pay Themselves Millions On The Backs Of Underpaid Staff Who Are In Fear For Their Jobs. Layoffs Happen At Least Once A Year In The Hundreds. No One Knows Who To Go To For Answers To Questions. No Regard For Employees Well Being. The Mission Is To Help The Poor And The Vulnerable, Not Create More Poor... And Vulnerable People! This Place Is A Joke. Think Twice Before Working Here, You Will Be Frustrated And Not Get Any Support From Upper Management Because They Are Too Busy Kissing The Rings Of The Multi Millionaire Executives. They Always Pay Lower Than Competitors And Can’t Keep Good Staff So The Place Is Full Of Mediocre Managers Mediocre Staff And Temps. I Wouldn’t Even Let Them Take Me To This Place If It Was An Emergency And I Was In A Ambulance. The Only Ones That Win Here Are The Ones That Keep Getting 8% Raises And Make Millions. Today Another 1000 Employees Were Layed Off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit. The Nuns Should Take Over.

    Providence Health & Services2019-05-31
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits. Flexible hours depending on role.

    Cons

    Too many changes with corporate reorganization, change management is basically non-existent. Terrible communication from top down. Upper management personnel are incompetent. Extremely high turnover rate. Salary lower than local healthcare-system competitors in Southern California.

    Providence Health & Services2019-05-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Only as good as those around you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Supervisor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best thing was the folks working for and with me.

    Cons

    Worst thing was how out of touch upper management was.

    Advice to Management

    Either be involved or really listen and trust those who are in departments you oversee.

    Providence Health & Services2019-04-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cash Applications Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My coworkers were awesome! Great benefits! I enjoyed my employment with Providence.

    Cons

    It seemed at times that upper management walked around like sheep. I rarely saw anyone have a thought of their own. It may have been due to fear of losing their job ?

    Advice to Management

    Look to your internal employees for advancement opportunities before looking outside. Be honest with your employees!!

    Providence Health & Services2019-03-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Providence review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and benefits

    Cons

    No communication from upper management

    Providence Health & Services2018-12-28
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Prove it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Providence Health & Services for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sometimes tater tots are served in the cafeteria. (8 words)

    Cons

    Management says they are LGBTQIA friendly yet refuse to include “sexual orientation” and “gender identity” in the (so-called) Nondiscrimination policy. When upper management was approached, I was ignored.

    Advice to Management

    Proof is in the pudding — if management truly supports LGBTQIA people, they should protect us like everyone else, and not exclude us.

    Providence Health & Services2018-11-08
  11. Helpful (5)

    "Accounting Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Renton, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Providence Health & Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are many volunteer opportunities. It also provides you with the satisfaction of being part of an organization that contributes to the community.

    Cons

    Upper management does not care about the staff. Several layoffs within the past couple of years. Several department restructuring. Unrealistic goals set by upper management. Overworked staff with little to no appreciation from upper management. Work/life balance does not exist. Punitive work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with respect and listen to their concerns. Acknowledge that change does not happen overnight. Understand the root cause of high turnover in the Accounting department and change the culture and working environment.

    Providence Health & Services2018-10-31
Found 45 reviews