Provident Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Provident Bank Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Christopher Martin
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great People and work life balance(in 5 reviews)

  • "Decent pay, good incentive to perform well, fantastic paid time off policy, good health benefits(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Managers tend to micromanage due to high pressure to meet sales goals(in 8 reviews)

  • "very low pay for interns in the banking industry(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Bank - Amazing teammates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CLA Closing Coordinator III in Iselin, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Provident Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits; decent pay; great place to work

    Cons

    Technology a bit slow; lack of formal training

    Advice to Management

    Decentralize some processes

    Provident Bank2019-04-09
  2. "Provident is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BCM in Doylestown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Provident Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Awesome people! - People in the back office and up top strive to better the company and they listen to your concerns. - Very personal atmosphere, people care about each other. - Decent pay, good incentive to perform well, fantastic paid time off policy, good health benefits. - Lots of room to grow. - CEO Chris Martin is as good as they come.

    Cons

    - Poor 401k match - Technology is a bit behind other competitors.

    Provident Bank2019-05-09
  3. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Banking Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Provident Bank part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Management can be very flexible with hours if you ask them to.

      Cons

      Customers can be very aggravating at times.

      Provident Bank2019-06-11
    • "Disappointed with the management team."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Provident Bank full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Excellent and friendly co workers.

      Cons

      Management is not interested in retaining support staff. They would rather invest in the money producers. You are undervalued if your position is not income producing. They would rather hire from outside as opposed to promoting from within, at least in the market I worked in.

      Advice to Management

      Take care of your people, or they will leave!

      Provident Bank2019-06-13
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Banking Associate 

      I have been working at Provident Bank part-time

      Pros

      Great training and great people you work with.

      Cons

      Systems used are slightly outdated.

      Provident Bank2019-04-18
    • "Customer Service Representave"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Milltown, NJ

      I worked at Provident Bank full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Exceptional working with clients. I was devoted and was able to create such a bond with my clients that I felt like they were like family to me.

      Cons

      Poor Management not investing time to advance or promot in their staff. Just looking towards their own selfisf relatirement rathter than promoting growth in the company

      Advice to Management

      Be more business like and not take things personnally

      Provident Bank2019-04-21
    • "Disappointing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teller 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Provident Bank full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Customers are great and some employees

      Cons

      No respect for employees that give their all to customers and bank. Treated like less then. Management down play your complaints. Quick to say I’ll handle the individual but don’t. Quick to say let’s talk about it but never resolve the issues. Treat customers that carry higher balance different then the one who don’t. I’m very sad to know how customers and employees are treated at Provident Bank.

      Advice to Management

      Treat customers and employees better. Recognize what you have. Stop the favoritism.

      Provident Bank2019-04-10
    • "Teller and platform"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Banking Associate III in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Provident Bank full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great team Growth is amazing You learn a lot

      Cons

      Low pay You do a lot of work with not a lot of incentive I feel like I do more teller work then platform

      Advice to Management

      Depends on management but overall my manager is great

      Provident Bank2019-03-22
    • "It pay the bills"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Banking Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Provident Bank full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Depending on your branch and manager can be a easy day. But every manager make up there own rules and policies even though we have a handbook and a universal way of processing items and handling work.

      Cons

      Hard getting out of retail banking because they don't even care if you are qualified to work in the HQ/different departments. Every management from supervisor on up pick and choose what to enforce in the branches smh

      Advice to Management

      promote your team if they are qualified to be in the position they are applying for or at least send a proper email saying why you got a rejected. Not a basic rejection like I'm a outsider.

      Provident Bank2019-04-03

      Provident Bank Response

      April 11, 2019Human Resource Generalist, VP

      We are concerned that you do not feel that policies and procedures are being followed consistently and suggest you make your Market Manager aware of any violations or contact Ethics Point to confidentially report any violations. With job postings there are often multiple qualified ...

      Show More
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Underwriter 

        I have been working at Provident Bank full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great to work here always

        Cons

        Nothing much to say on this

        Provident Bank2019-03-06
      Found 99 reviews