Provoke Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Provoke Solutions Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Provoke Solutions CEO Mason Pratt
Mason Pratt
10 Ratings
  1. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Provoke Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Innovative, talented, and challenging are but a few of the adjectives I would use to describe this company. However, above all of this, I would say they are warm and inviting. It is challenging to get in due to the high bar they set, but once in you are treated as family.

    Cons

    I can't say that I have anything negative too say, other than perhaps the hiring process can be challenging, and mind you this is coming from someone who went through an Amazon loop.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Provoke Solutions2018-03-01
  2. "Fun and Interesting Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Provoke Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got to work with some of the latest tech. Got to work on some cool projects and clients. Most of the people working there are fun and engaging. In the past we were a bit disorganized but I think the company has been doing its best to improve that when it can. Many of the people are open to changes in patterns and practices as long as you continue enforcing the use of them.

    Cons

    Throughout my employment there were some culture changes that felt a bit forced. There aren't too many cons or anything severe. First one would be that many of the projects were Microsoft ones, which can get a bit repetitive. Also working in the US sometimes people from the NZ office would try to incorporate business tactics that do not match how US businesses are so that is always interesting to see and be reverted since...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the current environment and try to get more sales with varied projects.

    Provoke Solutions2019-04-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer at Provoke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Provoke Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Small company, close relationships with coworkers. Gives a huge wealth of new skills and experience to more junior engineers.

    Cons

    Compensation does not keep up with experience gained in comparison to the rest of the market, and any raises must be fought for. Provoke's Seattle office was once 60% women and has since dropped to 0% women. Culture is fun as long as you're in the majority. Work is stressful but can be rewarding. Most of the devs are junior, and that can lead to difficulties delivering on time and within budget. No matching 401k.

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider your workplace culture, and stop the churn of training junior engineers to be incredibly talented then losing them to other companies that compensate them very well based on their wide array of skills.

    Provoke Solutions2018-08-01
  4. "Great culture in Bellevue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Provoke Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A really great culture in the office; relaxed, friendly, and light hearted. Team driven atmosphere.

    Cons

    Client base lacks diversity but they are actively trying to solve for that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the culture. You don't find that in other places.

    Provoke Solutions2017-11-20
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Kids at play"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Provoke Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Company can be flexible and accommodating when it suits their needs.

    Cons

    Poorly organized management and immature staff who often have no idea how to deliver a project to the finish line. Younger staff embody what's wrong with Seattle. Highly passive aggressive and belive acting like a high schooler is appropriate in the workplace.

    Provoke Solutions2017-04-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Experience at Provoke was amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Provoke Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management at Provoke excels at communication and planning. The culture is incredible and the opportunities are there for the folks that want to progress and grow.

    Cons

    Structure in some areas of the business need refinement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great communication and standard setting!

    Provoke Solutions2017-02-23
  7. "Fun place to work, change is happening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Provoke Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Provoke is a fun place to work, most people work pretty hard and have fun doing it. Provoke is no longer a small business and therefore the environment is different to what it used to be. Different is not always bad and in this situation its a positive. One thing that Provoke does well in to promote from within which really helps people to grow.

    Cons

    As Provoke continues to grow and change it sometimes feels like the company could do with planning the change more as some days there are surprises but I guess its better to have things actually happening than lots of planning an no action

    Provoke Solutions2016-03-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture and work is interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Provoke Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Well established company with a start-up feel in their satellite offices. Super cool culture, lots of transparency within the company, really awesome co-workers. Doing a lot of Microsoft work without having to do with the Microsoft politics.

    Cons

    Some pain points with working with other offices in different time zones. Sometimes causes long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and delivering good product to the clients!

    Provoke Solutions2014-09-25
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Wellington, Wellington
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Provoke Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people were my favorite part of Provoke. Everyone is intelligent, motivated, and has a personality. They are genuinely friendly and the company fosters a feeling of community. The work is challenging enough to be stimulating, but never overwhelming.

    Cons

    Not many honestly. Because it is services, things can get hectic now and then to meet changing client expectations on tight budgets. Pay could be better, but it is a trade off with a more relaxed work culture and the ability for anyone to advance if they put in the work.

    Provoke Solutions2019-04-04
  10. "Technical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Engineer in Wellington, Wellington
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Provoke Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place to work. Lovely people and everyone gets along nicely. Very relax working environment.

    Cons

    No Cons that I can think of. Its all positive at Provoke

    Advice to Management

    Amazing Senior management group that mingles with everyone.

    Provoke Solutions2018-10-25
Found 25 reviews