KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Prudential

Engaged Employer

Prudential

Add a Review

Prudential Employee Reviews about "newark"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 of over 3,980 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Prudential Chief Executive Officer Charles Lowrey (no image)
Charles Lowrey
509 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people, good technology, good benefits(in 185 reviews)

  • "Great benefits for all employees(in 183 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long working hours and no work life balance(in 81 reviews)

  • "Parking/Commuting in Newark, people depends on the group you work in(in 69 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Prudential and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "newark"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great place to work at

      Jan 20, 2021 - Vice President in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      alternative work arrangements is excellent decent compensation

      Cons

      bad location in Newark. too much of crime around the office

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Depends on your department

      Jan 11, 2021 - Intern in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Secure company, many people work their for 20+ years

      Cons

      Parking/Commuting in Newark, people depends on the group you work in

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. What people are saying about Prudential

      Join the conversation on

      Financial Advisors

      1m

      an 

      Investment Advisor Representative

      I’m considering joining Prudential as an Advisor. Give me the good, the bad, the ugly in your opinion… Thanks!

      27

      17 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      A Joke Of A Place To Work

      Jan 3, 2021 - Vice President in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good employee benefits and work from home opportunities.

      Cons

      Prudential is a joke of a company. I worked in the Newark corporate offices for many years. It is one big, inefficient bureaucracy. I once spent 18 months spinning wheels on a project with 15 other associates. In that time we were forced to create lengthy power point presentations that said nothing. Our final results were nothing more than a list of a few ways Prudential could hire people. Ridiculous. After years in this environment, you realize it isn't fixable and not worth your time and effort. I quickly learned that I could get away with not working while being paid a very high salary. I would show up at meetings here and there but spent hours each day at the gym next door, working out with many other Prudential employees doing the same. Also worked from home often where I caught up on home chores. Lastly there are many employees there who do not know how to keep their hands to themselves and eyes where they belong. Numerous times I had associates touch my hair, shoulders and arms and stare at my crotch.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Generally a good place to work

      Oct 12, 2020 - Data Entry Clerk in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      decent benefits, good people to work with generally

      Cons

      i find the newark location to be just ok

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Important to find the right manager/management/function

      Oct 21, 2020 - Director, Actuary in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career Options Diverse Product Lines Total Compensation

      Cons

      Lack of Diversity of Thought Leadership Inattention to organization deficiencies/Pretentious Geographically (Newark, NJ) - Centric vision

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to work for

      Aug 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, flexible working hours

      Cons

      No work from home capabIlities within the marketing org which is hard when your office is located in downtown Newark

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company that cares about its employees

      Jul 21, 2020 - Senior Marketing Management Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Starting to really invest in its young people; lots of women in leadership positions; very diverse; international group (PII) does very interesting work

      Cons

      Newark is not the most beautiful city, and Newark Penn Station was probably the worst part of my day, but the work/life balance makes it worth it. Also, easy commute from NYC, depending on where in NYC you live.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Dumpster Fire

      May 19, 2020 - Marketing Director in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commute if you live near Newark.

      Cons

      CMO is completely inept. CEO is gutting the company to lower costs in all the wrong places. Was tricked by the CMO in my opinion. You need to apply to other positions for career development they rarely promote. Culture has gone downhill every year for the last 5 years.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      Prudential Response

      Event Coordinator

      Thank you. We appreciate your candid feedback.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Solid actuarial career

      May 4, 2020 - Actuary 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large insurance company, plenty of actuarial roles available, good work/life balance, focus on talent management

      Cons

      Hierarchical at times, location is not the best (Newark, NJ)

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Prudential Response

      Event Coordinator

      Thank you for your positive feedback. We’re glad you recognize our efforts to support talent through challenging work and a focus on professional development.

    11. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Prudential is a great company to work for

      Aug 21, 2019 - Vice President 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Diverse and dynamic workforce Excellent intern programs Work/Life balance Support for re-invigorating the city of Newark

      Cons

      This is a large organization, it can be difficult to build your personal network.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Prudential Response

      Event Coordinator

      We’re glad to hear how much you appreciate the culture you have helped to create.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 92 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Prudential Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Prudential? Share Your Experiences

    or