Prudential "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Prudential Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Prudential Chief Executive Officer Charles Lowrey (no image)
Charles Lowrey
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "Challenging work combined with great work life balance(in 328 reviews)

  • "Good benefits with a focus on doing good in the community(in 158 reviews)

Cons
  • "Obviously if you're more in it for the work life balance then this is your place(in 71 reviews)

  • "Remote location from the main office in Newark(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Rock Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits package, community involvement and work/life balance.

    Cons

    SOme positions don't offer a lot of room for advancement.

    Prudential2019-10-21

    Prudential Response

    October 24, 2019Event Coordinator

    Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to review your work experience.

    Continue reading
  2. "Like a comfortable old shoe..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Fort Washington, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance, Alternate Work Arrangements, Benefits, Environment

    Cons

    Behind the times with technology. Slow moving. Lots of long tenure amongst associates.

    Prudential2020-01-14
  3. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance there

    Cons

    Limited opportunity to grow quickly

    Prudential2019-12-23

    Prudential Response

    December 30, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. As you know, a career in financial services can be difficult yet also rewarding. We wish you all the best!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lean-Up, Clean-Up, Out With the Old, In with the New"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Roseland, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement, work-life balance, maternity/paternity leave, onsite nurse

    Cons

    constant re-orgs, rising benefit costs, unclear direction, changes

    Continue reading
    Prudential2020-01-03
  5. "Pretty good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disability Examiner in Phoenix, AZ
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team building, great customers, and decent salary

    Cons

    It does not take diversity and inclusion seriously, allows bullying and harassment as long as their statistics look good. No work/life balance

    Prudential2019-12-10
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    they dont meet industry pay standard

    Prudential2019-12-01

    Prudential Response

    December 6, 2019

    Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you had some positive things to say about your experience with Prudential. We hope that you find Prudential to be a safe and open environment to voice your concerns to your manager.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Very solid employer, if not stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay was competitive, the benefits were mostly excellent (except healthcare, being the now common high deductible tied to an HSA). Having good paid time off, able to sometimes work remote, an actual pension, stock purchasing, and a very good work-life balance is very nice. Nearly all senior executives are excellent, smart, open, caring people, and I worked directly with several. There are many great people who care about clients, especially in sales, client relations, even claims.

    Cons

    Heavily bloated middle management, with many people who create their own work and covet what they have to stay relevant and employed, many of them Peter Principle incompetent. Company restructures every 2 years or so, which creates anxiety, curbs productivity. Ageism likely a factor. If you are over about 50 and not a performer in sales or an exec, you are a prime candidate to be purged in one of these restructures. Serious concerns about this company's future. They will be around for another 100 years, they will survive, but disruption due to technological advancements (e.g. someone under 40 more interested in using an app based on algorithms than having any connection at all to a big company like Pru) will hit this company hard in book keeping, record keeping, client relations, even marketing jobs in the 2020's and beyond.

    Continue reading
    Prudential2019-11-20

    Prudential Response

    November 26, 2019Event Coordinator

    We value the feedback we receive here on Glassdoor. This information is valuable as we assess our processes and programs. If you’d like to discuss more, feel free to email us at socialmedia@prudential.com.

    Continue reading
  8. "A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst/Developer in Newark, NJ

    I have been working at Prudential full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance and Benefits are really good.

    Cons

    Tech is not really up to date on some teams.

    Prudential2019-11-12

    Prudential Response

    November 19, 2019

    We value the feedback we receive here on Glassdoor. This information is valuable as we assess our processes and programs. If you’d like to discuss more, feel free to email us at socialmedia@prudential.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Skeptical of new management's vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - A lot of red tape - Extremely political

    Cons

    - Good work/life balance

    Prudential2019-11-22

    Prudential Response

    November 26, 2019Event Coordinator

    Thank you. We appreciate your candid feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Network Engineer in Roseland, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is top notch.

    Cons

    Too many dead weighs, the people refuse to learn new skills.

    Continue reading
    Prudential2019-11-05

    Prudential Response

    November 26, 2019Event Coordinator

    Thank you for the review. We invite you to submit additional feedback and suggestions for improvement at socialmedia@prudential.com.

    Continue reading
Found 391 reviews