Public Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Public Consulting Group Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Public Consulting Group CEO William S Mosakowski
William S Mosakowski
205 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great work environment, a great place to grow and contribute to your community(in 21 reviews)

  • "Solid work, great people, some opportunity for new work and traveling(in 14 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great CEO. Opportunities for those who work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Public Consulting Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Young professionals get excellent experience.

    Cons

    Challenging work with a lot of travel

    Advice to Management

    More training for consultants

    Public Consulting Group2019-10-21
  2. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Public Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO and work from home

    Cons

    inconsistent leadership, not transparent on company goals

    Public Consulting Group2019-12-10
  3. "Just a job no team culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Curriculum Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Public Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    steady and consistent job

    Cons

    Very poor chances at advancements.

    Public Consulting Group2019-12-07
  4. "Great Pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Healthcare Program Specialist in Albany, NY

    I have been working at Public Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, communication and they offer 401k with a decent match

    Cons

    Benefits are a little expensive but not the best

    Public Consulting Group2019-11-22
  5. "Inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Service Desk Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Public Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote work and relaxed environment

    Cons

    Hard to advance sometimes favorites are ahead of the line for promotions

    Advice to Management

    More communication between departments, there is always a communication issue

    Public Consulting Group2019-11-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Experiences and Bad Experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Public Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Remote options Flexible schedules Great holiday and PTO You learn a lot

    Cons

    Most growth is not based on your skills and qualifications Medical insurance pricey Extremely disappointed in HR not being neutral in conflict resolution

    Advice to Management

    When you have more than one person quit without notice at the same location within a minimum time span, you should take a heavy look at your practices. I really enjoyed working for the company but once NN and AR took over the SC project, it was a nightmare. I learned a lot from being there and was promoted on my new job within months with a salary exceeding what I had at PCG; I apply a lot of what I’ve learned in my... new career and feel as if PCG was a stepping stone to my success. It’s not all bad and there are great people at the company.

    Show More
    Public Consulting Group2019-11-12
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I worked at Public Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good benefits, remote work

    Cons

    Extensive travel, policy is ever changing, no room for growth

    Public Consulting Group2019-10-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Solid work and great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Public Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Solid work, great people, some opportunity for new work and traveling

    Cons

    Work isn’t always the most exciting

    Public Consulting Group2019-09-17
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Burnt out and unmotivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Track in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Public Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great boot camp if you can stick it out (which I would definitely suggest doing). You are thrown in as a project manager right away and can learn endlessly. Teammates can be great. Biggest pro is the flexible remote culture.

    Cons

    The company culture and pay are demoralizing. While I do not disagree with the business lines, I do disagree and was personally burnt out of the business profits going to those who never participate in the work. Bottom up structures are not inherently bad, but PCG has put 95% of the actual work to new staff, BAs, Consultants, and Seniors. These people get extremely minimal pay for the amount of revenue they produce.... Work ethic and results are not celebrated, honored, or recognized, more more more is always the vision and goal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Monetarily value your staff, share your incredible profits in T passes, bigger bonuses, higher salaries, then you can ask everything you already do of them. Realize the amount of turnover occurring and actually do something about, create a workplace people want to go to!! Now it's just a quiet, stressed building.

    Public Consulting Group2019-09-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Flexible schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Public Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and PTO are great

    Cons

    Management is very disorganized and business structure keeps changing

    Public Consulting Group2019-09-19
Found 377 reviews