Public Consulting Group "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Public Consulting Group Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Public Consulting Group President William S Mosakowski
William S Mosakowski
215 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great work environment, a great place to grow and contribute to your community(in 21 reviews)

  • "Solid work, great people, some opportunity for new work and traveling(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work for People Who Want to Be Challenged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Public Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging, rewarding, and entrepreneurial environment. I found PCG to be a relatively "flat" company where good ideas came from all levels of the organization. Heavily invested in my professional development through formal education/training and informal mentoring/coaching. I gained a deep depth and breadth of knowledge very quickly, and was given space to create my own role and develop my own interests and expertise. Overall, a great place to work on teams of smart people on some of today biggest public sector challenges.

    Cons

    Long hours, fast paced, travel...but that is professional services in general.

    Public Consulting Group2014-09-06
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Decent company bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Social Services Coordinator 

    I worked at Public Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    20 days pto Health benefits Work from home opportunities

    Cons

    No help from management Salary so no paid overtime Long hours

    Public Consulting Group2019-06-17
  3. Helpful (5)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Public Consulting Group

    Pros

    The projects make for challenging work The clients allow us to engage in exciting policy projects I have great co workers Our work actually makes a difference

    Cons

    work requires long hours and deadline pressures the national foot print and reach can challenge teams as they work together Considerable travel for many leads to unavoidable flight delays and travel snafus

    Continue reading
    Public Consulting Group2016-07-08
  4. "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Public Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy, growth opportunities, competitive compensation, solid environment, and flexibility

    Cons

    Lots of responsibility, exposure, long hours, lack of senior leadership communication, non-competitive 401k vesting structure

    Continue reading
    Public Consulting Group2015-09-08
  5. Helpful (18)

    "Great experience for college grads, but some things do need to change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Raleigh, NC
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Public Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked here for a little over 5 years (first as a business analyst and then as a consultant) and overall had a positive experience. This is a place where you will learn so much and you will continue to amaze yourself with your inner strength and ability to stay sane in many a high-pressure situation. PCG continues to grow at an insane rate and purposely lags in hiring, which gives entry-level staff an opportunity to develop a solid skill set across many operational areas - so, if you are not a fan of the 'sink-or-swim' approach, then you should not look here. I found that, in a very short time, I was either a major contributor to, or essentially managed, several projects. I really appreciated that, if I worked hard, I could forge my own path and I was on a team where that was accepted and encouraged. I also cannot say enough about the teams with which I worked. I was very fortunate to work with people who shared my work ethic and were able to provide support to each other when the going got tough. I was also lucky enough to benefit from the company's MBA program. While working full-time and taking 2-3 classes per semester for 18 months was extremely challenging, I benefited greatly from meeting/networking with my PCG cohort and receiving, essentially, a free MBA from Clark University. Sure, there are some serious issues that the firm must eventually address, especially in terms of its substandard benefits, attitude towards entry-level staff (who do a majority of the work) and its unwillingness to recognize the need to invest in technology, but for an entry-level job, this is a great place to learn about and constantly challenge yourself. I was given opportunities that most people would not get so soon after graduating college and I learned and honed a lot of skills which will continue to serve me in the rest of my professional life.

    Cons

    Of course, every organization has its share of strengths and weaknesses. I found that my pay and benefits were sub-par compared to similar firms, especially since I felt that there was very little work-life balance. There was an expectation to put in long hours, which is not unique to PCG; however, it is not for everyone and I honestly got to a point where I started burning out from the constant stress. I will never forget being told that 'if you don't wake up stressed, then there's something wrong'. I got to a point where I finally realized how absurd that statement was. I do believe that the firm as a whole does not feel the need to retain consulting staff - I have heard of several instances where upper management really did not understand/value the immense contributions of consulting staff. There is definitely a mentality that business analysts (and even consultants to some degree) are easily replaceable. And unfortunately, because PCG only seems to hire when the need is absolutely dire, offices hire at random times and do not have the time to thoroughly screen candidates. The firm's unwillingness to understand how important its technology infrastructure is continues to baffle me. Upper management continues to think that 'PCG is not a tech company', which is highly misguided. There were weekly email/network outages and I will never forget losing almost 4 years of data and emails when our local server failed and no backup had ever been run because our office was 'not on the list'. In this day and age, that kind of failure is completely unacceptable. I never understood why the firm refused to hire more developers (many were hired on a contracted basis) - I remember the anguish of losing key developers because they no longer wanted to work on a contractual basis (which is completely reasonable). The firm also insists on using outdated and antiquated software/code, which won't help anyone in the long run.

    Continue reading
    Public Consulting Group2013-01-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic environment, stay away. It gets MUCH better once you leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Public Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location. Convenient to multiple public transportation lines. Some of the people are nice, a lot are smart and hard working.

    Cons

    Where to start... Lower level staff are given no respect at all. Quote from a manager in Human Services regarding the hiring of a new business analyst: "Can't we just pick someone off the street to do what they do?" The pay is horrible. They pay WELL below industry average. The bonus structure is decent, but does not even come close to making up for the low salary. While the pay is terrible at the bottom, it's great at the top. Bill and the rest of his partners make millions. Long hours. People are routinely "asked" to work nights and weekends. When a senior consultant asked management how they were supposed to stay billable while working on so many proposals, they were told that "proposal work is meant to be done on your time." Young staff, often young female staff, are often volunteered to stay late (like 11pm or so) to work on proposals that make management more money (their bonus is tied to the revenue they bring in), but doesn't do a thing for them. In fact, if you volunteer to stay late "to show you're a team player" you frequently get "asked" to do the same again and again. No work/life balance. This goes hand and hand with long hours, but women should definitely think twice about working here. It's definitely an "old boys club." Many of the higher up women in the company are single with no children. I did not want that to happen to me. This place takes over your life, so if having a family or any type of work/life balance is important to you, stay away. Toxic Environment. Young staff is "encouraged" to stay late (passed 6pm) to put in face time. The later you stay the more it gives the appearance of working hard. What ever happened to rewarding people based on the actual merits of their work and not how much face time they put in? IT. Very frequent IT issues. The email system went down on a weekly, almost daily basis. The drive where all your files are stored frequently gets full, and IT is forced to ask you to delete files before you can save new files. I didn't have great insight into the IT dept, but from reading the reviews some have posted, it doesn't seem to be their fault, just lack of investment/caring by upper management. As is typical, they try to get people to get their work done by spending as little money as possible. Poor Quality of work. PCG tries to sell its "expertise" in a lot of different fields. To all the PCG clients out there: the people who sold you on the fact that they could do the work are not the same people who actually do the work. The work is actually done by recent college grads in their early twenties with no real expertise or knowledge of Medicare laws. We would make things up on the fly, and our managers would accept it, because let's face it...they didn't know any better either.

    Continue reading
    Public Consulting Group2012-10-18
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Public Consulting Group

    Pros

    The only pro is the location, even I have to drive to a T station to get to work. and some nice people.

    Cons

    Oh boy where to start, - HR is like one way road, they don't even listen. Tolerance of unfair practices. - Consultants are very rude. - Growth within the company is a myth, just pack your staff and look somewhere else. - IT management got no clue about the environment. - There is a dept called NOC, I don t know what is that for? Useless. - Email service is always down, vpn connection is a nightmare. - Long hours of work, over 50 - Very closed minded when it comes to new ideas or constructive criticism - Low salary compensation in comparison to other. - Dev manager are close minded, no vision for improvement. - Invest in your workforce. Be accountable to your workforce. Communicate decisions and the Company’s performance. - Favoritism is the name of the game. - There are a lot of tribal tensions. This leads to an uncooperative environment.

    Continue reading
    Public Consulting Group2011-10-03
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Public Consulting Group

    Pros

    Great, hardworking group of people (excluding most managers). Great opportunity to get your MBA at Clark University paid for and only owe a year of your life afterward. 100% paid for and managers will let you go to classes (in Worcester, MA), decent bonus structure

    Cons

    Long hours 50+ hour work weeks, No work/life balance, always working under the gun, some of the projects have very little direction and management couldn't be bothered, a lot of responsibility very early in your career (you have to project manage a proposal, or present something at a client meeting). Although there are more women at the company, it seems women have to work harder to get "noticed"

    Continue reading
    Public Consulting Group2011-03-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "This Old Boys club isn't dying."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Public Consulting Group

    Pros

    Christmas bonus; although it has been slashed in recent years Year-End bonus based on performance; despit Admin who recieve whatever the budget can handle. Just built an one-site gym. No more than 5 people can use it at a time.

    Cons

    This is a company that asks so much of you while giving little to nothing back. This is not a 9-5 job. Its 8-8. Requires many long hours; after hours and weekends. If you already have plans you better change them. There is no work - life balance. If there is a large proposal be prepared to work several overnights and weekends until the job is complete with no recuperation of time or appreciation for your efforts. Severely under pays its staff across the board and has even cut benefits in recent years which is surprising because they have the profits to update the facilities. They promise you opportunity for growth but provide little to no feedback on how to accomplish this. They also promise you an opportunity to receive your MBA, Good luck with that! It has to be approved by a manager and HR. PCG does not appreciate its Admin staff. Over pays it’s Senior Management while keeping lower level employees on the ladder several years with no room for advancement and provides no opportunites for growth. Very closed minded when it comes to new ideas or constructive criticism. They aren't paying you for your ideas. PCG is a company that grew far larger than it anticipated. Often underbids jobs just to get the work. And "borrows" funding from other projects. Have you noticed all the “nice” reviews are posted around the same time? That’s because managers promote employees to write stellar reviews to counteract the true reviews posted by current and former employees. Would you want to work for a company who intentionally interferes with honest reviews? PCG can’t handle the criticism because they need more minions I mean employees.

    Continue reading
    Public Consulting Group2010-12-16
  10. "World of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Public Consulting Group

    Pros

    Your success at PCG will be determined by you and you alone. The opportunities to prove yourself and advance your career will be frequent. What you do with them (or fail to do) will fairly determine your compensation and advancement.

    Cons

    Long hours can wear on you.

    Continue reading
    Public Consulting Group2010-11-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews