KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Publix

Engaged Employer

Publix

Add a Review

Publix Deli Clerk Reviews

Updated Nov 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 788 of over 11,773 reviews

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Publix CEO Todd Jones
Todd Jones
304 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Publix and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Protect your future

    Nov 17, 2021 - Deli Clerk 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best out there so good

    Cons

    No cons no problem drama

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love and Hate relationship

    Nov 11, 2021 - Deli Clerk in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Higher than normal pay, / the occasional bonus like for Thanksgiving, / Will help pay for your college for certain degrees if you work their.

    Cons

    Hard on you not only physically but emotionally, / sometimes you won't even get scheduled breaks on your schedule during 10 hour shifts and even when they do put you down for one they usually tell you that you only get a 30 minute break and if the department is busy you can't go on your break (which is usually caused by the terrible understaffing either from not putting enough people on the schedule or too many calling out). / Most days I'm scrambling around to get everything done, while I watch full-time people get what I would consider the "easy" work and even then I end up having to go on multiple bathroom breaks to decompress after working my butt off with, going off the last con, no breaks during super long periods.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The cons outweigh the pros at this point

    Nov 14, 2021 - Publix Deli Clerk 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's higher pay than the normal fast food chain restaurant

    Cons

    We never get our breaks in the deli especially if you're in the kitchen. If you're kitchen trained, you're probably gonna be stuck in there 4 times a week without any help because we're extremely short staffed. You're expected to cook for company needs when my specific stores company needs is even up to 9:30p. The store closes at 10p and we're only scheduled to 11... A lot of nights I'm scheduled 9hr shifts that end up being 11hrs Your managers expect you to get product out and satisfy customers without giving you help as well. When you start telling your management that you're overwhelmed, they laugh at you and then they tell you that you're causing yourself to stress out and to only worry about what you're supposed to worry about... which is literally what's overwhelming us. You're expected to be nice to customers while focusing on your cooking task which puts you behind because you're just 1 person in the kitchen on weekends with no management presence because they get to pick their own schedules to where they never work weekend nights. Customers are often leaving while angry at us because we cannot keep up with demand and most of us do not have the knowledge of what menu items they are asking for, such as the holiday platters that just rolled out.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company to work for

    Nov 10, 2021 - Deli Clerk in Altamonte Springs, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, culture, and atmosphere. They take care of their employees and give two evaluations a year.

    Cons

    It can be hectic in the deli, but the time flies by fast.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Acceptable, but awful schedule.

    Nov 15, 2021 - Publix Deli Clerk in Anderson, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Higher standards than most retail Better than average benefits Advancement seems achievable Employee owned

    Cons

    Terrible schedule - Will work random shifts and have poor sleep schedule and generally poor quality of life. High turnover means inconsistency and periods of being severely understaffed

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Publix Deli Clerk

    Nov 9, 2021 - Deli Clerk in Boone, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They're very flexible with hours/scheduling, and they'll also listen to what you want to do within their store/company and help you achieve those goals.

    Cons

    It's a very "drink the Koolaid or else" kind of environment. If you say anything that is perceived as critical of Publix, or even if you don't personally shop at Publix, they will be upset with you. They also told employees they would be offered hazard pay for working during the pandemic, but then proceeded to give us gift cards to Publix instead, which is not at all equivalent.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    great company

    Nov 14, 2021 - Part Time Deli Clerk 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great company to work for.

    Cons

    just the people i work with

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Great place

    Nov 24, 2021 - Deli Clerk in Snellville, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, hours, Coworkers, Benefits, and ability to move up

    Cons

    Not much really unless you don’t like working

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Contractor

    Place is great

    Nov 8, 2021 - Deli Clerk in Port St Lucie, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always have what I need

    Cons

    No cons at all for publix

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    love it

    Nov 3, 2021 - Deli Clerk in Pembroke Pines, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very flexible with hours and schedule

    Cons

    it’s hard to rank up and grow

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 788 Reviews

Popular Careers with Publix Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Publix? Share Your Experiences

or