KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Publix

Engaged Employer

Publix

Add a Review

Publix Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10,334 of over 10,463 reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Publix CEO Todd Jones
Todd Jones
3,202 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and retirement package(in 751 reviews)

  • "Good company good benefits free food(in 445 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of hours can sometimes be given to part time workers(in 351 reviews)

  • "Long hours, cold temperature in produce warehouse(in 306 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Publix and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good job

      Jul 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, healthy work group, make friends and very enjoyable work.

      Cons

      managers are sometimes weird and rude almost at every publix ive been too.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Co-Workers but hard to Move Up

      Jul 20, 2021 - Front Service Clerk (Bagger) in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working with my coworkers and I could have better managers but moving up and the stock is really good if you have money to spend... I believe that it said if I put in 10k before I am 25 by the time I retire, I will be a milionare, but I for sure as heck don't have that kinda money...

      Cons

      Getting raises are rare even if you bust your a** as its pretty competitive. Everyone is competing with everyone in the district. Don't recommend for a job the rest of your life.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not the worst employee but not the best either

      Jul 2, 2021 - Assistant Baker Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company gives stock based on hours of service; Health Insurance is decent; If you don't like your current store you can transfer One of the better retail establishments to work for.

      Cons

      Good employees are expected to pick up the slack for sorry employees; The pay raises are minimal; Anytime I requested time off for something personal it was always an issue despite me coming early, staying late, or giving up my days off to help the department. Promotions are based on relationships, not merit. I have seen people get promoted after being in a position only 6 or 7 months while others have been in management for years and are not considered for the next step. Also if you have previously worked as a manager before, Publix will still make you a general associate and pay you peanuts like your experience and education is irrelevant. Your starting pay is based on how generous or stingy the department manager and store managers are. Many of the benefits people associate with Publix are not available to those hired in the 2000s (bonuses for associates, extra pay to work on Sunday). I was forced out because my store manager and I did not get along but looking back I'm glad to be gone because my current job treats me way better, listens to my suggestions and pays way more than Publix.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great job to have while in school

      Jul 20, 2021 - Front End Staff 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great job to have while in school, working to save up for tuition and pay my rent. I started here when I was in high school and spent almost 7 years working my pay up. I recommend it to any young individual who needs a job and wants to start learn basic soft skills for jobs in their future.

      Cons

      Can be very political. People stay at Publix for long periods of time for good reason, but that doesn't mean things don't get political. I worked in several different stores during my time there and there was no shortage of who likes who best.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Pros and cons

      Jul 22, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours and schedule Decent pay

      Cons

      New hires will start off making as much as experienced employees because starting pay scales yearly by more than the average raises you recieve. Would not recommend making a career out of this company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jul 19, 2021 - Shipping and Receiving in Lakeland, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are great. Especially the yearly bonus and sharing of stock. You need to work here for 3 years to get the most out of these benefits though. And since the company is large you can move around and change jobs and positions.

      Cons

      Can get very busy at times. Management for me was mediocre.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It's good until it's not

      Jun 26, 2021 - Grocery Clerk 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relatively flexible schedule, especially if you're a student. Nice enough atmosphere, and most co-workers are decent people.

      Cons

      Management can definitely be an issue. You can feel as if you don't get as much support as others do. Favoritism is unfortunately very common. I used to be accused of being slower than others yet I recall working faster than one of the team leaders yet they never got reprimanded. They will not look your way unless you kiss up to them. I can think of many coworkers who could sit in the manager's office for a whole shift and talk with them and never have to work a minute of their day. It was very frustrating. Lastly they do not care for your safety and will do the minimal for if you are hurt during the job. Bad interactions with customers will be looked at as your fault more often than not and can lead to punishment.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Quality of work life varies...

      May 27, 2021 - Deli Clerk 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They provide reliable hours and good pay if you are a hard worker. They provide benefits such as stock, insurance and other benefits once you reach a certain amount of hours worked.

      Cons

      Management can ruin the work experience and often does. Even if you are an amazing employee and I mean associates that go out of their way to surpass what is expected of them. If the manager does not like you they will constantly hover over you waiting for you to make a mistake or disrupt your work and ask you why you do not have your work done. They also tend to jump to conclusions before knowing what has occurred even if its wrong. While on the other hand if you are favored you can pitch tantrums, spread or encourage discrimination(personally reported racist rants and discriminatory remarks made to customers and coworkers. Was told they were not discriminating they just had a difficult personality, nothing was done), stand around and talk while others do work and also tell lower management they can not tell you to do your job. I have seen management throw associates under the bus even though it was the managers fault for the incident.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      CSS pros and cons

      Jul 2, 2021 - Customer Service Associate in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved working at publix. I was pretty much a full time CSS during covid, working nearly 38 hours a week and even getting OT. Being able to be in a fast paced enviornment was exciting but often stressful.

      Cons

      I learned that being the reliable one and being the first one to take a shift for someone meant only more work less respect. I became the reliable CSS and people sadly took advantage knowing I would never say no. I was ready to help out even until my last day.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unprofessional in every aspect

      Jul 17, 2021 - Catering Consultant in Pensacola, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      after a year of working and obtaining a certain number of hours, you do get benefits like vision and dental. However, I had trouble finding providers that worked with their insurance.

      Cons

      Very unprofessional management, harassment and bullying took place. Not only to me, but with others as well. If you know someone who works there, you'll get hired and moved up rather quickly. It's all about connections. I felt as though I was just a number.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10,334 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Publix Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Publix? Share Your Experiences

    or