Publix Reviews | Glassdoor

Publix Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6257 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Publix CEO Todd Jones
Todd Jones
1590 Ratings
  1. "Shifting hours, relatively good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Replenishment Specialist in Merritt Island, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Publix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good co-workers Solid pay, getting more than a 75 cent raise every 6 monthsis rare, but 50 cents is possible Managers will notice if you work hard Quick paced work so easy to lose track of time

    Cons

    Hard work Shifting hours, brutally early at times (3AM). Promotions into team leads are highly competitive. Your back will hurt after a while Given a lot to do and not a lot of time to do it

    Advice to Management

    Hire another person or two during midday or afternoon.

    Publix2019-08-08
  2. "Where working and shopping is a pleasure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Publix part-time

    Pros

    Clean and safe environment Wonderful employees and customers

    Cons

    Physically demanding Rude customers at times

    Publix2019-08-09
  3. "Worked there for 14 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Grocery Manager in Athens, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Publix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, upward mobility, consistent growth.

    Cons

    Unpredictable hours, extremely high expectations.

    Publix2019-08-08
  4. "Order selector publix Warehouse Distribution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Publix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, bonuses, and stock contribution

    Cons

    No medical benefits for 3 months

    Publix2019-08-06
  5. "Great place to work while in college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Grocery Clerk in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Publix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Work with class schedule Busy environment that allowed time to pass quickly Able to get experience in multiple different positions

    Cons

    Had to stay later than anticipated most nights to catch up on work before the next day.

    Advice to Management

    I had great management most of the time, only thing I would add is more communication between all departments within the store.

    Publix2019-08-05
  6. "Pubic pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Grocery Stock Clerk 

    I worked at Publix part-time

    Pros

    The job has Good pay

    Cons

    I have no cons. Good place to work

    Publix2019-08-05
  7. "I wouldnt do it again."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Deli/Bakery Clerk in The Villages, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Publix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some really great people.

    Cons

    Bonuses taken away for non-management, schedule, no set days off. A very chaotic work environment. Every full time employee is a supervisor. When you finally get benefits, they aren't really yours, like vacation, which you have to pay back if you leave.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of employees. There is really no need to schedule people with 8 hours between shifts on a regular basis. Be more up front with the truth: you have to sell your soul in order to move up. There are so many peoply competing for full time and management positions that it can take a very long time. Don't take away the benefits that motivate people to want to work for you. Don't go the way of other companies...

    Show More
    Publix2019-08-19
  8. "It's a decent entry job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Publix part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Commitment to customer and history of company

    Cons

    -It's a supermarket so it's not the best work

    Advice to Management

    -Treat workers like adults and give better benefits

    Publix2019-08-19
  9. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Saint Augustine, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Publix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They work with your schedule Great with hours Raise every six months (dependent on performance)

    Cons

    Expect a lot of you for the pay Hard to move up

    Advice to Management

    Please try to build healthy and close relationships with employees. Not that much trust there because of fear.

    Publix2019-08-20
  10. "It really depends on your management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Winter Garden, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Publix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good work environment, can get promoted if you work hard enough.

    Cons

    Management was awful, no discounts, very few hours

    Advice to Management

    Build more of a connection with your employees. I know that there should be a professional work environment but often times I felt as though my superiors didn't care about me as a person and it really made my time working there miserable. I have had a great manager there and it really made a difference. Be more compassionate!!

    Publix2019-08-20
Found 6257 reviews