KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Publix

Engaged Employer

Publix

Add a Review

Publix Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 637 of over 11,347 reviews

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Publix CEO Todd Jones
Todd Jones
3,607 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and retirement package(in 751 reviews)

  • "Good company good benefits free food(in 445 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of hours can sometimes be given to part time workers(in 351 reviews)

  • "Long hours, cold temperature in produce warehouse(in 306 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Publix and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "part time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good first job.

      Jan 22, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clean stores, good customer service training

      Cons

      Low pay for part time employees, but if you work your way up the ladder that’s when the benefits roll in.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Enough

      Jan 15, 2021 - Seafood Clerk in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • Good company values • Great career development • Clean work environments • Repairs store equipment same day • Great at focusing on quality product • Wonderful distribution system • Easy technology for employees to use • District Managers come in often and are considered normal • Straight forward reference and procedure guides • Good equipment to work with

      Cons

      • Your manager will change every 6 months • Some managers shouldn’t be managers • Part-time employees are viewed lesser, even if they can work circles around full-time employees • Pay is terrible; I am maxed out and Costco, Walmart, Best Buy, and Target starts at a higher pay than my maxed out pay. – I really should leave • No Employee discounts like Publix’s competition • Publix takes pride in its stock, but if you quit within 3-years it is not really yours and the company takes it away. • At the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic if you attempted to ware a mask at work, we were told to take it off or go home. • Publix pretended they care about employee safety regarding COVID-19, but they never enforce face masks, and did not require customers to wear them during a time employee were required to wear them. If you deny a customer service that is not wearing a face mask and they complain you will be talked to about how you should not refuse customer service. • You only get a 3-minute grace period for being late, but they will be allowed to work you an unlimited amount of time after your shift was supposed to end. • Publix has no 10-15-minute paid breaks. • You can work 6 hours or more without a break and it will be considered normal. Other companies require breaks before the 6th hour mark. • Publix has loosed up the dress code recently, but they fired a guy for having a man-bun. He was a 10 out of 10 worker fired for his hair. I once was yelled at because I did not have a buzz-cut. • I have worked at Publix for 5 years. I have seen people been discriminated against because of race and sexual orientation. • If you arrive early at work and ring the doorbell to get in and you wait forever for someone to open the door then you are still considered late. • If you get off work at the end of the night and you are waiting for they MIC to let you out and lock the door behind you while you are clocked out then you are not getting paid for 10+ minutes you being forced to stay in the building. • I got a COVID-19 test when I was sick and waited to return to work until it came back negative. I was told the missed days will count against me in my next review. Not like I am able to get a raise anyways. • If you are a part-time employee, they will refuse to train you for higher paying positions, such as cutting meat or cheese specialist unless you go full-time. Even if you work in the same department and have been with the company forever. • Full-time employees are required to commit their life to Publix being available anytime except two weekdays.

      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Like any regular stocking position except a bit better

      Jan 16, 2021 - Grocery Clerk in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Camaraderie 2. Helping others 3. Meaningful work (feeding the community) 4. Build physical strength 5. Benefits even if part time after 6 months work

      Cons

      1. Possibility of inefficient managing 2. 0.50 cent raise max, twice a year 3. Possibility of being understaffed and overworked or the opposite, overstaffed and not getting enough hours if part time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Publix Premium Customer Suckers

      Jan 13, 2021 - Produce Clerk in Bluffton, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good pay - Flexible Hours - Overall one of the best part-time jobs out here

      Cons

      - Customers are always right, even when they're very clearly wrong.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Job!

      Jan 9, 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Bradenton, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked well around my school schedule, great pay and even eye and dental benefits for part-time, management was always friendly

      Cons

      There weren't very many cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      I guess working there was a pleasure

      Jan 22, 2021 - Senior Produce Specialist in Huntsville, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, clean and friendly atmosphere, anniversary milestone benefits, stock is given to employees after certain time with company, stores have annual events for employees, occasional coupons/freebies for employees (no discount card)

      Cons

      Insurance covered almost nothing and none of my doctors were in network, Rotating management system made it difficult to keep a strong team for longer than a year, difficult to get full-time status if you start part-time (which was most of the time), management program has a lot of disappointing aspects

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jan 7, 2021 - Customer Service Staff in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Full time and part time Benefits

      Cons

      Must have a lot of patience

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Decent

      Jan 5, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits were good to have

      Cons

      Hours were long for part time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Publix Employee

      Jan 3, 2021 - Publix Deli Clerk in Boca Raton, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reliable and Really do HELP with the bills

      Cons

      Can be overworked at times. Lack of hours can sometimes be given to part time workers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good for Part Time. Terrible for Full Time

      Jan 17, 2021 - Customer Service Staff in Daphne, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Part Time Job for College Student

      Cons

      Crappy Managers, Lots of mental stress from Karens

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 637 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Publix Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Publix? Share Your Experiences

    or