Puget Sound Energy Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Puget Sound Energy Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Puget Sound Energy CEO Kimberly J. Harris
Kimberly J. Harris
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Still the best job I have ever had! Love coming into the office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cloud Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love everything about this company: The Culture, People, Job. It helps that I have only worked for fast-paced, revenue growth companies my entire career prior to PSE... It’s nice to work for a company that is truely customer and community focused. That is really hard to come by these days.... I compliment PSE for their Cloud initiative. I feel like I am a part of something special... Being able to travel to industry...

    Show More

    Cons

    Too many projects in-flight.. Sometimes I feel like I spread myself thin.

    Advice to Management

    Take a step back and evaluate where you collectively envision PSE 10 years from now. Then decide what you want to do today.

    Puget Sound Energy2018-09-15
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits, and a good amount of paid time off.

    Cons

    Pay could be a little higher. The company tries to cut costs which make the overall experience a little worse.

    Advice to Management

    Be more progressive.

    Puget Sound Energy2019-07-07
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Engineer 

      I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time

      Pros

      Steady employment and good benefits

      Cons

      Regulated monopoly interrupts innovation and creativity

      Puget Sound Energy2019-05-11
    • "Steady career path"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineering Specialist in Bellevue, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The industry and jobs are very stable, good place if you want to plant roots and stay for a while

      Cons

      The company struggles with implementing change. A lot of it is due to longtimers who see no reason to change

      Puget Sound Energy2019-05-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Substation Engineer at PSE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Controls and Automation Engineer in Snoqualmie, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great people, diverse challenges, annual bonus, work life balance

      Cons

      Pay, difficult to receive promotions without "playing the game"

      Puget Sound Energy2018-07-22
    • "Energy to Do Great Things"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Bellevue, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Puget Sound Energy for less than a year

      Pros

      Great company to work for as an engineer or PM. People are honest, caring, and understandable. They are committed to providing safe and reliable energy needs. Has great benefits for full time including bonuses, pension, PTO.

      Cons

      IT is very slow at advancing Technology compared to other companies I have worked for (still on Outlook 2010, no use of tablets, projectors not installed in rooms, etc).

      Advice to Management

      Keep hiring interns and providing them with opportunities.

      Puget Sound Energy2017-09-08
    • Helpful (6)

      "Used to be good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Gas Design Engineer in Bellevue, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good starting salary and excellent benefits, interesting work if you want to branch out of general engineering

      Cons

      Typical backstabbing company, most people who work there are cowards and are afraid of conflict and if they do have an issue with you they will try to get you fired.

      Advice to Management

      Quit or buy a moral compass

      Puget Sound Energy2017-04-02
    • Helpful (11)

      "NOT a great place to work for people of color"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Bellevue, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Puget Sound Energy part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good pay, alot of mobility to switch engineering groups

      Cons

      Experienced alot of bias, as is typical in engineering, but even more so at this company If you are a young engineer of color looking for an internship or entry level job, don't be fooled by "PSE-its a great place to work". I urge you to look elsewhere.

      Advice to Management

      Address the low numbers of people of color in management, take human resources complaints about racial issuers seriously instead of trying not to "rock the boat". Your company will not attract young engineers looking for slightly more enlightened environment which is available in local city government, IE City of Seattle

      Puget Sound Energy2017-02-20
    • "Autocratic, high-handed, bureaucratic management and FTE managers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer Contractor in Bellevue, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Puget Sound Energy for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice office building and space.

      Cons

      Management does not know what they're doing and walk and talk about so full of themselves. Projects are ill - planned and get turned off without notice. The schedule is based on whim and the expectation is that all the work will just happen. Too many FTE employees do nothing besides sitting in meetings and contractors are expected to do all the work and get absolutely no credit for it! IT Managers keeps tight control...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      A flatter organization would be great for the company. There is too much hierarchy and simply too many useless positions.

      Puget Sound Energy2016-01-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great people and work/life balance, poor compensation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Bellevue, WA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Wonderful employees, nice headquarters. Generally good work/life balance, with 40 hours work weeks, though not for all job families. A rich history, and intelligent, hard-working leaders.

      Cons

      Compensation not up to its peers, while located in a city with an extremely high cost of living. You will not be able to live close enough to have a decent commute unless you are in management, and maybe not even then.

      Advice to Management

      You simply won't be #1 in JD Power unless you compensate your employees similarly to your local industry peers, who are located in cities with much lower standards of living. You have fostered a wonderful work environment, save this. Get honest about compensation. The individual contributors noticed that we didn't get a raise one year, and management got bumped a pay grade soon after to make up for their lack of a raise....

      Show More
      Puget Sound Energy2013-07-31
    Found 13 reviews