Puget Sound Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Puget Sound Energy Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 203 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Puget Sound Energy CEO Kimberly J. Harris
Kimberly J. Harris
109 Ratings
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Specialist 
    Recommends

    I worked at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked with very good people. Good benefits and experience.

    Cons

    Few bad apples can kill the joy, but the rest of the pros make up for it.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Puget Sound Energy2019-07-26
  2. "Rewarding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Redmond, WA

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good leadership and trust of employees

    Cons

    Vertically integrated, lack of progressiveness

    Puget Sound Energy2019-07-26
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Management clownshow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people - Smart and kind. Great healthcare benefits. Ability to work in different parts of the company.

    Cons

    Management has no vision, and is technically inept . There is no business strategy and future growth will suffer. Tactical decisions are made without understanding the full downstream impact on business segments and those responsible for implementation. Zero ability to move up in career development.

    Advice to Management

    Put professionals in management roles. These people should understand the markets and risks they are tasked with. Speak to your employees like they are professionals, not 6th graders. Figure out a coherent business strategy, and implement it. Quit worrying so much about how you are viewed externally and make some solid business decisions based on profit and loss.

    Puget Sound Energy2019-07-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good career but questionable values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Puget Sound Energy full-time

    Pros

    PSE is a great place to start your career. There are many departments to move around to depending on the level of challenge you are looking for. There are some really great supervisors & managers that look out for your development (and some not so great). Also, PSE employs many industry leaders, and if you can find and connect with them, they can really jump start your career. If you’re not looking for career growth,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Despite many great years at PSE, I experienced serious misconduct and grooming by a superior near the end of my career. My sex, age, and limited access to upper management made me a vulnerable target. Increasing severity of misconduct and efforts of predatory conditioning pushed me to a point at which I did not feel safe in the workplace. Evidence of misconduct was provided to HR, a cease and desist was issued. HR failed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stay connected with each and every employee under your supervision. Ensure team dynamics do not put your vulnerable employees at risk to misconduct in the workplace.

    Puget Sound Energy2019-07-19
  5. "Fast Paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office, great co-workers, awesome management

    Cons

    very strict office environment, hours

    Puget Sound Energy2019-07-17
  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits, and a good amount of paid time off.

    Cons

    Pay could be a little higher. The company tries to cut costs which make the overall experience a little worse.

    Advice to Management

    Be more progressive.

    Puget Sound Energy2019-07-07
  7. "Good place to work depending on the department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great chance to advance within the company

    Cons

    Some departments feel like you are still in high school

    Puget Sound Energy2019-06-11
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time

    Pros

    Steady employment and good benefits

    Cons

    Regulated monopoly interrupts innovation and creativity

    Puget Sound Energy2019-05-11
  9. "Typical utility culture, but with a desire to evolve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work life balance, family-friendly, friendly and generally motivated employees

    Cons

    can be bureaucratic and siloed, culture varies significantly across departments, struggles to commit to change.

    Advice to Management

    pick a strategy and really commit to it. adjust compensation and talent mix to reflect changing needs of the company and cost of the area.

    Puget Sound Energy2019-05-08
  10. "Steady career path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Specialist in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The industry and jobs are very stable, good place if you want to plant roots and stay for a while

    Cons

    The company struggles with implementing change. A lot of it is due to longtimers who see no reason to change

    Puget Sound Energy2019-05-01
Found 203 reviews