Puget Sound Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Puget Sound Energy Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 198 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Puget Sound Energy CEO Kimberly J. Harris
Kimberly J. Harris
107 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable job, company truly cares about safety of it's employees. Pay is good, yearly incentives are great. PTO is generous.

    Cons

    Not great benefits, very old fashioned. Hard to get in unless you know someone at the company. No vacation time versus sick time.. all PTO based.

    Puget Sound Energy2017-07-26
  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Puget Sound Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and nice work place

    Cons

    Micromanaging is tough and they could be more easy on employees

    Advice to Management

    Be more easy on employees

    Puget Sound Energy2017-06-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work - People and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Reporting Analyst in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dealing with many managers and other employees on a daily basis I can easily say mostly everyone here is great and is willing to help. If you are an accountant but want to move into HR, managers and the company help you to get you there and this actually happens. Work life balance is very reasonable although this is dependent on the group you are in.

    Cons

    This is a utility so we don't have breakneck technology like some of the other tech companies. Pay may be slightly under do to this as well.

    Puget Sound Energy2017-06-03
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Great people, terrible middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and a friendly atmosphere. It can be hard to fit in with the half of the company that has been there for 30+ years, but they come around eventually and they are a wealth of knowledge if you are willing to listen. Despite external reviews it is obvious that the employees care about customers and take genuine pride in their work.

    Cons

    Management is typically chosen based on how they perform as individual contributors and not based on actual leadership potential/ability. Many supervisors and managers are shuffled around under the guise of "increasing their experience in a different area of the company," when in fact they are failing. It takes an act of congress to get fired here... but maybe that is a pro depending on who you are.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your people and be genuine about it. Break down the silos. Give credit where credit is due.

    Puget Sound Energy2017-05-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Puget Sound Energy part-time

      Pros

      Stable company and good benefit package

      Cons

      Work can be boring not so innovative

      Puget Sound Energy2017-04-26
    • Helpful (5)

      "GREAT PLACE TO WORK BUT MEDICAL BENEFITS ARE PURE GARBAGE!!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bothell, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Flexible, telecommute options Awesome coworkers Interesting work I like my boss

      Cons

      Pay could be a little better Medical benefits are trash - worst I've had in my professional career. This is enough to have me look for employment elsewhere.

      Advice to Management

      I really hope you get rid of this new coinsurance plan. Past few years, I enjoyed the affordable copay plan. Now, I have a deductible and large coinsurance. My medical costs have skyrocketed. I have a disability that requires seeing a specialist several times a year- this type of specialist is not covered by the deductible and the procedure I have done is no longer covered with the office visit (it is now extra)....

      Show More
      Puget Sound Energy2017-05-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time

        Pros

        They have a good culture.

        Cons

        No major cons I can think of.

        Puget Sound Energy2017-04-18
      • "Old School Corporate Utility Environment with Nice Benefits"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time

        Pros

        Nice benefits, agreeable salary, flexible work schedule.

        Cons

        Old school, corporate, not on the cutting edge.

        Puget Sound Energy2017-04-09
      • Helpful (6)

        "A lot of tension between departments"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Associate Project Manager in Bellevue, WA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Very good health benefits and low pressure in general. The stress comes when you have to battle with other departments to get things done.

        Cons

        Have to be on storm duty (supposedly voluntary, but not sure what happens if you decline too often). A lot of office politics (it's everywhere, but pretty bad here).

        Advice to Management

        Show empathy to the employees and demonstrate that you are working with them to resolve endemic issues.

        Puget Sound Energy2017-04-08
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Puget Sound Energy full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Good place to work, pays well

        Cons

        I have no cons for this employer

        Puget Sound Energy2017-03-31
      Found 198 reviews