Pulaski Technical College Reviews | Glassdoor

Pulaski Technical College Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Pulaski Technical College CEO Margaret Ellibee
Margaret Ellibee
4 Ratings
  1. "Part-time Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Instructor in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Pulaski Technical College for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I am online instructor, so I love the hours. This job allows me to work and enjoy my leisure time. Administration, faculty and staff are awesome. The president as well as the dean has an open door policy and they are their to assist at all times.

    Cons

    There is not a down side to working there; however, because I am part-time I do not get a chance to meet a lot of the other adjuncts that are not in my department. Except for during scheduled meetings.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Pulaski Technical College2016-12-06
  2. "UA-Pulaski Tech is a pretty good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Advisor in North Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulaski Technical College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere, pretty good benefits, good people.

    Cons

    Lack of communication, as with many colleges. Need more effort to help students navigate processes.

    Advice to Management

    More effort is needed to know your staff, not just senior management. I worked there over six months before ever meeting the Chancellor.

    Pulaski Technical College2018-08-30
  3. "Very satisfying yet challenging work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in North Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulaski Technical College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The students need and appreciate good instructors.

    Cons

    Expect changes constantly-Administration, restructuring, curriculum, ... must be flexible to work here.

    Pulaski Technical College2018-07-02
  4. "Project Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Little Rock, AR

    I worked at Pulaski Technical College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Faculty and staff really care about students

    Cons

    Merger with University of Arkansas eliminated some positions

    Pulaski Technical College2018-06-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pulaski Technical College full-time

    Pros

    One star is too elevated a description for PTC. They ran off the respected faculty. All that are left are clowns that could not go elsewhere. Seriously, these are the pros.

    Cons

    It took years to build an institution of almost 12,000 students. Ellibee, Strecker, et al. have destroyed it in no tome. It will take years to rebuild it again. Unfortunately there is no accountability to the governor, legislature, trustees, adhe, etc. There is enough blame to go around for all, especially for Ronald Dedman . . . . what a coward.

    Advice to Management

    1. resign 2. apologize to the people of Arkansas 3. fire all administrators 4. invite former faculty back in order to increase enrollment 5. resign, if you have not already 6. reduce the fees that you have stacked on top of tuition

    Pulaski Technical College2018-07-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in North Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pulaski Technical College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is no "pro" to working at the University of Arkansas - Pulaski Technical College under the current administration. Under no circumstances would I return to this organization. Sadly, it is a sinking ship.

    Cons

    The management of UA-Pulaski Tech has changed dramatically in the past few years. What was once a vibrant community college has turned into a sadly mismanaged institution. The classroom faculty and front-line staff members truly care about the students; however, their hands are tied. What a loss for Central Arkansas.

    Advice to Management

    The University of Arkansas System administration should conduct a thorough review of the UA-Pulaski Tech administration, beginning with the chancellor. There is absolutely no reason a leader should be allowed to espouse, "If you don't like it here, go find your happiness elsewhere" in a public meeting. And that is just one example of the type of leadership at the college. Unprofessional at best.

    Pulaski Technical College2018-06-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The Titanic is sinking!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in North Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pulaski Technical College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The students have a genuine need for mentoring, guidance and learning to change the course of their lives. There are a few hardworking and intelligent employees sprinkled across the campuses.

    Cons

    Administration has mismanaged the budget and hiring practices are warped or non-existent. The chancellor together with HR is OUT OF CONTROL to the point that people have lost count of how many faculty, staff and interns have been fired. Other untold numbers have resigned under threat of firing or pushed into early retirement. They have lied about and covered up the enrollment numbers so long and nobody knows why the parking...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get ready for a shake down or go ahead and resign yourselves because state and regional governing boards are sure to audit the place else they are criminally involved with what is happening under the table and behind closed doors.

    Pulaski Technical College2017-11-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Pulaski Technical College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, Work with good people!

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth

    Advice to Management

    No

    Pulaski Technical College2017-03-26
  9. "Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pulaski Technical College

    Pros

    Awsome amount of freedom for creativity in instruction.

    Cons

    The compensation was very low.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Pulaski Technical College2016-09-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Pulaski Technical College full-time

      Pros

      Staff cared about students.

      Cons

      Understaffed and underpaid because they had too many upper level administration positions

      Pulaski Technical College2016-05-24
    Found 23 reviews