Pulse (UK) "pulse" Reviews | Glassdoor

Pulse (UK) Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
Pulse (UK) CEO Mike Barnard
Mike Barnard
0 Rating
  1. "Pulse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pulse provide some of the best training and support that I have ever seen in a company. This has been echoed by a number of new recruits, as well as existing staff who have developed under the organisation. There are also fantastic opportunities for progression, as well as being able to develop a career within a reputable, stable and most importantly ethical company. Almost all of the management team have grown organically within the company which is proof of the career development available, as well as ensuring that the company maintains the same ethics and vision.

    Cons

    Given the scale of the organisation, decisions can sometimes take a while to be made or authorised. There can also be delays in implementing changes as they may need to be mirrored or approved company wide.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-01-28

    Pulse (UK) Response

    March 8, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are very passionate about supporting our employees to help them to grow within Pulse and ICS; developing clear career paths and providing training and opportunities for progression is definitely a key focus across our business. We are committed to gathering and acting upon feedback from our employees, finding out what's important and having an impact on their experience here and will continue to do so. We are always looking at ways in which we can continue to improve our business and really value your feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. "Build a fantastic career in recruitment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Process Manager in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for Pulse myself for nearly 15 years, it is clear that there is encouragement to develop our own management internally, instead of employing managers from outside the business, which gives us a key USP against competitors. Career development is so important and the pathway is visible from day one. There are a number of benefits including good basic annual leave, opportunity to buy/sell holiday, online discounts portal, health insurance to cover you/partner/family, as well as a pension scheme. Pulse is also invested in giving something back, so there are regular charity events and functions happening throughout the year, which the majority of people get involved in. I have and will continue to recommend anyone to work here, whether you want a career in recruitment, admin, HR, marketing, finance. The opportunities are endless!

    Cons

    Parking onsite at our office is a bit of a nightmare!

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-01-26

    Pulse (UK) Response

    March 1, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are very passionate about supporting our employees to help them to grow within Pulse and ICS; developing clear career paths and providing training and opportunities for progression is definitely a key focus across our business. We are committed to gathering and acting upon feedback from our employees, finding out what's important and having an impact on their experience here and will continue to do so. It's great to read about your positive experience thus far and I hope that you continue to develop and progress in your career here.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    I have fond memories of Christmas parties, managers away days, long service awards and summer barbecues when we had them. The geographical reach of ICS was always a plus which meant service to candidates and clients was simple and effective. While I didn't enjoy the training sessions as I felt they were outdated, meeting up with people from other offices was a good to share best practise. On a personal level I grew fond of many people there including my first director and the CEO, Richard. There is career progression but it's quite unavailing.

    Cons

    I worked my way up through Pulse over the course of 8 years. I worked hard every day because I wanted to grow the ladder, lead a team, earn more money and become pivotal in future plans for the company. What was once a vibrant, personable company eventually turned into a monster, hell bent on making money at almost any cost. When the agency caps hit, my positive career was immediately called into question and I was made to feel like I became bad at my job over night. I worked 10-12 hour days without any thanks. As I grew the ladder I realised that 'progression' was a myth; in fact, what happened was my base was partially increased inline with the increased responsibility however the way the commission structure is arranged meant my consultants were taking home more than me. I worked hard to get to management level but all it meant was endless meetings, I even had one meeting to discuss what we were going to discuss at a future meeting. My experience of career progression was accumulating other people's problem areas and being tasked to fix them - more career accumulation as opposed to progression methinks. The role felt like groundhog day as instead of head hunting, placing candidates and forming effective collaborative relationships I was measured on the productivity of my team and had to count the number of phone calls they made and outbound duration of calls vs duration inbound. I grew tired of this ineffective approach to recruitment and moved on. I worked for a couple of divisions and sadly, from my experience, the approach is the same - tired and ineffective. It's of no surprise to me that ICS are investing more in life sciences because while I'm sure they still make a lot of money in nursing, they are no longer regarded as the significant market leaders they once were due to the arrogant decision not meet cap rates as they thought they were irreplaceable within the NHS in 2016 where they lost significant market share.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2018-08-09
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Sharks don't only swim in water"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Nice office, few friendly individuals and nice chilled water.

    Cons

    Pulse are the perfect example of why recruiters get a bad name. For an individual with confidence, from the minute I set foot into that place I felt intimidated and looked down on. The company culture is awful. A very dog eat dog environment where you can tell that everyone is in it for the money and for themselves. Even when you are greeted by the employees on your first day you can read right through their artificial smiles. As I see other people have said, they are a very one dimensional "our way or the highway" type firm. A wide variety of arrogant, stubborn personalities. You cannot even voice your opinion in the most professional way without some giving you a glare or a sarcastic, rude remark. It really is the lion's den and you get bullied and intimidated from the word go which for a job that requires you to communicate for a living really does affect your confidence and self esteem. I strongly advise everyone to avoid working at this place. There is a strong reason why their staff retention rate is so low and if you go on any job boards like reed, totaljobs etc you will see that they are constantly advertising new vacancies. I wonder why that is?

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2017-08-04

    Pulse (UK) Response

    August 7, 2017Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I can assure you that your experience is not representative of the way we treat our people or of the culture we aspire to achieve across the business. It would be useful to know what area of the business you worked in and to understand your review in more detail so we can look to address any issues. Please contact me in confidence at rozie.edwards@ukics.com

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Wrong side of average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    *Office location *Some good people work here (though lots have left / are leaving) *Well established company *Some good social events like Thursday night drinks every few months *Opportunities available on the intranet in other divisions so company is quite open *Have an oncall team so you don't have to take work home with you / oncall phone *Some good benefits - help cover travel, basic annual leave, team building trips *Do occasional charity events *Dress down Friday - donate a pound for charity *Free coffee and tea etc in the kitchen

    Cons

    *Company too big and has lost personal touch *Never had the commission structure explained. I billed more money from month to month but actually earned less. I've been on different schemes depending on how well team performs. It's always changing and I think it is discretionary dependent on my managers mood *Not a job if you're money hungry as there are too many limitations in place. If you do well then management often simply don't comply with the scheme from the last month. For example - I supplied into every available unit on my client list yet I got penalised for not converting a new client *Pointless targets as the indicator if you're doing a good job is if you make 100 calls in a day and are on the phone for 2 hours. Plenty of better ways to monitor progress *Different teams have different clients and you can be doing better than a colleague who is underachieving in a performing team but earn much less - it is not a level playing field regardless of what your manager implies *Management team are cliquey and rarely acknowledge the team working around them *unless your face fits* *Managers spend hours in meetings but we never get any feedback other than to ring more people - un-inspirational leaders and do little to motivate teams *Was often spoken to like a child being addressed by a teacher. I've recently completed university, got 4 A's at A-Level, worked very hard in my Pulse role and was very contientious so believe more respect was due. I learned that some managers are former nurses and have been there a long time which gave them an air of superiority which disengaged a large number of us *Managers don't say hello when they come in the office and you can see through them when they chat to you during their 'rounds'. This does nothing for the already low morale. They don't have to say hello but don't expect staff to be forthcoming when you come around for small talk *Work long hours without any thanks - tiny piece of a big business and that's how you get treated *Too many people (mainly a couple of managers) living on past glories. Clients may have historically been converted but keep coming back because of the service we continually provide, not because of a client meeting 20 years ago *Promotions are given not always earned. Given to keep hold of some staff or to conveniently replace people that leave. Recently a number of consultants were made senior but still did the same job as before *3 really good managers have left and weren't effectively replaced. I think 2 have gone to other parts of the company which makes me think it's not all bad just that this division is not a good place to be anymore *We were based over two floors in our office but laterly could fit on one as so many people have left *Change the plan every couple of months and don't have much faith in management. Lost lots of market share while management decided the best course of action but they never asked us directly who speak to the clients every day *When first employed I was promised the world but reality is very different - commission structure, career development, training, social events etc nothing is as outlined *When I started, I went through the onboarding process which was overkill especially given I had previous recruitment experience. Most colleagues that started at the same time have left now *Asked to do an interview with my manager but neither had ever done one before so looked like amateurs regardless of the set question interview form *Didn't get to vote on the designated charities we support and when I questioned about it I was told that we did but didn't voice our opinions so decision was taken out of our hands *Morale low and not a pleasant place to work *It's one rule for one person and a different for another; flexibility with break times, doctors appointments, targets, sickness, expectations, business dress *Pulse no longer regarded as the best agency in London and have lost a lot of market share *Office feels like a call centre *No sense of a team - I had no idea who half of my colleagues were who sat 4 desks away from me

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-11-27
  6. Helpful (5)

    "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Bookings Coordinator in Kings Cross, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) for more than a year

    Pros

    Pulse provided company events, had a great Christmas party and is based in a great location! You generally can leave work when your contracted time is up. There seems to be opportunities for career progression e.g bookings consultant to recruitment consultant to senior consultant and then team leader (if you want to be in senior management though, it might be difficult to get there if you are from an ethnic minority)! They also have a good benefit system and the MD and CEO are friendly.

    Cons

    The commission. They tell you at your interview that you receive individual commission if you hit your targets and then when you start, they change it to a team target. Its ridiculous because even if you work hard and hit your target every month, unless everyone on the team hits the target, you get nothing! It is one of the reasons I left. You also get micro managed.... its like being in school... but if they like you, you can take a 30 minute loo break every 2 hours (which a few of my colleagues did- funnily enough- they were the ones NOT hitting their target)!

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-10-02
  7. "Growing opportunities with a growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Support Worker in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pulse put the client at the centre of the experience, retaining that focus at all times. As such, the organisation continues to grow, partly as the high standard of training leads to a highly capable workforce.

    Cons

    As with many healthcare organisations, the training is unpaid.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-08-07

    Pulse (UK) Response

    August 8, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - your feedback and advice will be shared with the relevant team. Putting our people and our clients at the centre and providing a high standard of training is something that we are really proud of. It's great that you have a positive outlook and would recommend Pulse!

    Continue reading
  8. "Good company, good colleagues and good support!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Pulse is always looking to improve itself which is great. The company always knows it has more in the tank which really drives me to succeed everyday at work. Certain support teams work really well and there are certain people within the company who really make you love what you do and really do fill you with inspiration! My chief operating officer really is fantastic and is a great asset to the company. The CEO is really involved (considering the level he is at) which is really great and makes all employees feel part of a bigger picture. He seems to know a little bit about everyone-I don't know how he does it!

    Cons

    The training programmes need improvement, it would be great to have some help with that in branches. Also, it would be nice for all ideas to be explored by managers (within reason) as people on ground level really do have some valid points to help improve business and I don't think they should just be brushed to one side. Some of the support teams could do a better job with getting back to you at all or quicker rather than having to chase.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-07-10

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 18, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for your feedback - it's fantastic to read so many positive comments about Pulse. It is very important that our people are listened to. If you have any further recommendations on how we can improve the business and would like to discuss these in more detail, please contact me on ria.weller@ukics.com. Thank you for your feedback

    Continue reading
  9. "Trainee Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Recruitment COnsultant in Kings Cross, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training for new starters, great management, friendly colleagues. Lots of benefits. The director and CEO are very approachable and friendly. Good comission structure. Hard workers are recognized and rewarded. Amazing hours not like your normal recruitment hours of 0800-1800, working weekends, staying back and being on call. Hours that Pulse provide are almost mythical in terms of recruitment. Earlies:0800-1630 08:30-1700 0900-1730 0930-1800- most of the time we leave on the dot, we also get the 1 hour lunch. I worked in a agency were the hours were 0800-1800 we weren't allowed to leave at 1800. That was seen as "early" the average time we would be allowed to leave was 8-9pm. My old agency also had ridiculous rules of "you cannot make tea before 9am". It was pretty laughable. Pulse are relaxed with making tea or eating breakfast during work hours. As long as someone is at the desk to cover. I have worked in recruitment before and Pulse was literally like heaven to me. I adore the company the people and the amazing reputation Pulse has. Pulse is a friendly honest recruitment agency which is why they are a big force to be reckoned with in the recruitment industry. We have a bar every Friday and bi monthly work drinks. The Christmas party is also a amazing event we are offered to stay in hotels and travel is also provided. Team nights out are also paid for. In pulse we get 21 days of holiday a year and every year you stay you get a extra day. Pulse also provide days off on bank holidays, Christmas Day, Boxing Day New Year's Day. No other agencies do this. Pulse also offer new starters team building. The employees are taken to the South of France (everything is paid for and it is during days of work). The accommodation isn't a rundown hotel, but a French Chatteau. The views are amazing. Swimming pool, trampolining, breakfast, lunch and dinner is all included. The employees take part in activities and we also got to know the director and managers very well. It was a good way to socialise and get to know each other. Pulse teally care about their employees. "Getting fired" in Pulse is something I have only witnessed twice in the 2 years I have been in the company. Other recruitment agencies will fire employees for no reason without batting a eyelid. The online system adapt is just amazing. We are provided with 2 screens that makes such a difference when working. Headsets are also provided, we don't have to physically dial we can dial and text from adapt. In my old agency I had to text from a phone which was tedious and time consuming. The canteen/ kitchen is really nice, lots of toilets and a beautiful garden area with a ping pong table.

    Cons

    Believe it or not I have nothing negative to say. i have read some negative reviews but I have had a such a positive experience in Pulse. Recruitment is a cut throat industry but Pulse has somehow changed the mould.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-05-26

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 18, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for your feedback - it's fantastic to read so many positive comments about Pulse. We are passionate about creating a culture where our people feel valued and appreciated. It's great that you consider us to be a friendly and honest recruitment agency and that you have had such a positive experience in Pulse. Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. "Pulse London Nursing- fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Pulse London Nursing for just over 18 months and would highly recommend Pulse as an employer. Everyone is respected as individuals and supported with their personal goals, whether this is career progression or continuity in their current roles. Having no previous experience in recruitment, I have been offered thorough training, which in turn, helped to develop my abilities both professionally and personally, giving me the confidence to apply and be successful for promotion within the company. Managers are always on hand if you have a query and easy to talk to should you require any additional support. Regular staff meetings and events mean that you get to know everybody in the office and there is also a real community feel within the organisation.

    Cons

    It would be interesting to learn more about how other areas of Pulse, such as the regional teams, are doing and to have more interaction with these teams to see if there is anything they are doing differently that may benefit the way in which we work.

    Pulse (UK)2016-05-16

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 18, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for your review - it's fantastic to read that you would highly recommend Pulse as an employer. Our people are our most important asset; its great that you feel everyone is respected as individuals, supported with their personal goals and that there is a real community feel within the organisation. Thank you for your feedback!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 38 reviews