Pulse (UK) "pulse" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Pulse (UK) Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
Pulse (UK) CEO Mike Barnard
Mike Barnard
0 Rating
  1. "Pulse London Nursing - a cracking place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love working for such a well established and well respected Nursing agency. Happy 20th Birthday Pulse! A diverse workforce with a successful formula across the years of recruiting both home-grown as well as overseas talent to support the continued growth and success of the company. I am particularly impressed with the investment that the company have put into a 12 week on boarding programme, which all new joiners undertake. It is supported and delivered by a dedicated learning and development team working closely with team leaders, managers and directors across the division. The career pathways are very structured and the majority of senior post holders originally joined us at entry level positions, including myself. It is a hardworking , rewards driven environment that is continually evolving to ensure relevance and success in a changing healthcare sector.

    Cons

    Sometimes you can’t get a game on the table tennis table in the courtyard garden at lunchtime!

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-05-06

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 14, 2016Managing Director

    Thanks for posting your review. We’re glad you value our on-boarding process; we’ve invested a lot of time in making sure it gives new starters the best start in their career with Pulse. Congratulations on being with us for more than 10 years. We really value your loyalty and experience and are pleased to hear that you feel you’ve progressed and had a structured career path.

    Continue reading
  2. "#Pulse is the one!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Kings Cross, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    Pulse is a great company to work as they can offer so many benefits to help you progress in your career and also have a bit of fun along the way. With the support from managers and trainers, office workshops have been set up to be able to allow you to develop your skills and gain new ones. Regardless of the subject these are available to all staff members. I found this a great benefit as I started with Pulse before the on-boarding program began and it made me feel as though I was still being invested in and plugged a few knowledge gaps as well as gaining more confidence in my role. The culture of Pulse is so diverse that you are able to make new friends and earn tips from one another. Fun social events organised to allow you to have a chill out and be rewarded for the commitment you give. Nice staff, positive benefits, great company.

    Cons

    KPI, target driven can make you feel under pressure. Set in place to allow you to achieve and be successful but can put you off a bit.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-05-06

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 18, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are passionate about investing in our people. It's great to read that you have benfitted from the office workshops that have been set up for our current employees; giving you the confidence in your role. Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Micromanagement and Underhand Tactics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bookings Coordinator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good office location with good transport links (30 minute journey). - Open plan office making it easier to meet new people. - Good company reputation. - Christmas party is great fun! - Some really lovely people, although some gossiping when backs are turned.

    Cons

    - Since a poor review was left management has actively instructed employees to leave positive reviews which is what lead me to know about glassdoor. Reviews do not reflect the true culture of Pulse. - Poor bonus structure often meaning hard work isn't rewarded if the whole team doesn't meet team target even if personal target is met. - Feedback isn't fully taken on board. Agree with a previous review which stated that rules should be standardised for all teams; some people are drawing a short straw. - Micromanagement - High call times; not always possible to spend two productive hours on the phone.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-05-12

    Pulse (UK) Response

    May 18, 2016Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Staff are encouraged to leave a review as we use Glassdoor as a platform to gain feedback from our staff in addition to the other feedback and communication channels already in place. Its important that we receive all feedback so we can continue to make Pulse a great place to work. We are committed to ensuring we recognise, reward and invest in our staff. If you want to follow up any of your points with me personally please contact me at rozie.edwards@ukics.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (16)

    "Pulse London Nursing: not all its cracked up to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Some genuinely nice people, free drinks, opportunity to make a decent amount of money if in the right area of the company. Aspects of the on boarding were really useful and allowed you to meet more people which was especially helpful when you are new.

    Cons

    Where to start ! When I first started I thought i had struck Gold everything seemed so perfect but it wasnt long before I started to see past facade. As I said there are some genuinely nice people there but there is ALOT of two faced behavior going on. People in upper management will be ever so nice to you in and around the office as they build up a case against you for your dismissal. High turnover and considering the office doesnt have that many people alot of people leave or. dont pass probation. Many people have commented on the fact that people who are referred rarely pass probation (presumably because someone stands to make a grand and they do not want to pay out). Having spoken to a number of people within the company across the floors I can tell you so many people are unhappy at Pulse London and the way it is run. In addition many do not agree with how people are treated as disposable individuals rather than valued team members. Quite a few individuals are seeking employment elsewhere. The fact you are FORCED to pay a pound to dress down on friday for charity. The idea is nice but when there is a register ticked off to ensure you have paid your money and if you dont then senior management will pay you a visit it does make you question where the money is actually going? To the charity or the company? Charity should be goodwill and because you want and with a giving heart. Glass ceiling for people from ethnic minorities: As a Caucasian individual this particular point has no impact on me personally but I still believe there is an injustice occurring. Ive heard people pass comment on the fact that it seems particularly difficult for ethnic minorities to move through the company or secure senoor positions. There is a high concentration of ethnic minorities in some of the lowest paying roles where the earning potential is little to none past your basic salary. Micromanagement: Micromanaged to the nth degree this is one of the most unbearable aspects. Call times of 2h a day with no regard for the quality of the call. If your call stats are low you will know about it which would be fine if a call needed to be made but calling nurses and clients JUST to make up call time doesnt seem productive. Two faced people. This is something that you do not notice at first but the longer you are there you will quickly start to realise that so many people are two faced and should not be trusted, they will speak badly of their colleagues to other colleagues yet pretend to be friends in person. When they want you gone they will find absolutely anything to use against you, even the smallest mistake you made in your first month will come back to bite you when they want you gone. Clock watching culture. In all fairness to Pulse most people feel they can leave on time however God forbid you should try to get ready even one minute early (to avoid missing your train and having to wait 45minutes) and you will be told you are contracted to finish at x time and you work until the minute. However if you come in early not one person will tell you this is not your contracted time to start and you must stop working. There is an absolute culture of Pulse Taking, taking, taking and giving very little back and being very rigid. They would get so much more from their employees if they felt valued, respected and like Pulse were reasonable. Unfortunately the free drinks on a Friday and free bi monthly drinks cannot make up for the shambles that is Pulse. There is so much wrong with this company

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-05-03

    Pulse (UK) Response

    May 11, 2016Group HR Director

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear that you found aspects of the on-boarding useful as this is an area we have heavily invested in. However, overall I’m sorry the experience you had whilst working at Pulse was not as positive as we’d like to achieve. We want to create a culture that is professional, high performing and where everyone is treated fairly and can realise their career goals and ambitions. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. If you would like to follow up with me personally on rozie.edwards@ukics.com I will take any steps necessary to address any specific issues in confidence.

    Continue reading
  5. "Pulse - Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    Great company to work for, great work ethics and top of their game in medical recruitment. Would definitely recommend working with them

    Cons

    There are no cons to working with Pulse

    Pulse (UK)2016-03-04
  6. "Best recruitment company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    Unlike at other recruitment companies I feel that my managers in the AHP team value me as a team member and are always on hand to help if I ever need anything. We have a great work ethic - we have lots of fun but we also work really hard. There is lots of career progression available within the company and the career pathways are very clear. I honestly feel that I have a career at Pulse. The Turnford office is great to work at, close to a local retail park and has free parking.

    Cons

    There are more employees than car parking spaces so you have to arrive early to park.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-03-03

    Pulse (UK) Response

    May 11, 2016Managing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. As you'll know, we've worked really hard over the years to make AHP a great place to work as a direct result of everyone's feedback, and will continue to do so!

    Continue reading
  7. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Leader in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    Absolutely loved my job. Management were very approachable and caring. Especially my manager at the time Tracy. She were so hard working and a credit to Pulse. Any problems she was the person to go to and helped me through some hard times. She went above and beyond her duty of care to her staff and especially clients. If it wasn't for personal reasons I would have still been at pulse now.

    Cons

    Only downside if you can call it that . Is where the main office of Leeds is situated. Hard for parking in central Leeds and expensive too.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-03-01

    Pulse (UK) Response

    May 11, 2016Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, thanks again.

    Continue reading
  8. "Pulse London Nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Recruitment Consultant in Kings Cross, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    Very supportive, Clear Career paths. Great brand and respected in the market place. internal systems very easy to use, Management are supportive and actually care.

    Cons

    no cons currently am enjoying my employment at Pulse London Nursing

    Pulse (UK)2016-02-25

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 20, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for your review - it's great to read that you feel supported and that you are enjoying your employment here with us at Pulse London Nursing.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Nightmare from start to finish, nearly left recruitment because of this agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    The 1 week notice during probation, which enabled me hand my notice in without having to stay a month longer.

    Cons

    Terrible Management in the London office, micro managed constantly and asked to sometimes justify a window of 5 minutes as there was not a "contact event" on the system. Had a threshold of 15k a month to hit before you start earning commision, absolute joke, much better agencies to work for. I've worked for a couple of agencies before pulse, have been with my current one for 4 years, I will always ensure I tell other recruiters to keep away from this agency. Coincidence that someone else I worked with previously joined the Broxbourne site at the same time, had been with her previous agency for 8 years, stayed with pulse around 3 months!!! Says it all

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-01-27

    Pulse (UK) Response

    January 29, 2016Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate any feedback. I am sorry that your experience of Pulse doesn’t match with the general feedback from other reviews. I note that you left us 4 years ago, whilst still within your probationary period. In that time we have been very busy investing in our talent acquisition and on-going development of our staff which includes the development of our existing and new managers. Last year we launched our new 12 week on boarding scheme which has received fantastic feedback and we have a continuous learning programme for our more experienced members of staff enabling them to grow, develop and progress. You mention our bonus scheme in your review, we know that any schemes we do have in place are fair and achievable and we continuously review these to ensure this is the case. If you would like to get in touch we would be happy to discuss with you further.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great company to work for with great earning potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The support I have received during my time at Pulse has been unparalleled. I receive regular 1-2-1 reviews with my line manager and have completed various recognised training courses which have all contributed in my success and development to date. I really enjoy the day to day buzz in office, and nobody is ever too busy to take the time to help in any situation. The earning potential is also great and if you work hard you will be rewarded generously!

    Cons

    In any sales role, there will always be ups and downs, but as long as you have the core traits of a recruitment consultant, the support of the team and guidance from management will always help you get back on track. Due to the high demands of the role of a recruitment consultant, it can sometimes be hard to maintain an even work/life balance.

    Pulse (UK)2015-09-30

    Pulse (UK) Response

    October 15, 2015Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really value your feedback.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 38 reviews