Punahou School Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Punahou School Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Punahou School CEO James K Scott
James K Scott
3 Ratings
  1. "Former TA at Punahou School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Punahou School

    Pros

    Great to get to know your teachers better.

    Cons

    Minimum wage. No other cons!

    Punahou School2018-08-31
  2. "Strength & Conditioning Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strength & Conditioning Coach 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Punahou School full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The school has been a great experience and staff is very friendly. Working is very intense and fulfilling. Made many amazing memories.

    Cons

    I have no cons working at Punahou.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the professionalism and support you provide to staff and faculty.

    Punahou School2018-04-19
  3. "Fantastic school to work at - Summer school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Punahou School part-time

    Pros

    I was a TA there for summer school. Absolutely love it, feels like family. Couldn't recommend a better place for a high school summer job.

    Cons

    None! I love the school and the culture.

    Punahou School2018-03-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Punahou School part-time

    Pros

    Excellent environment, culture of learning and mutual support

    Cons

    The school is going through some changes at the moment, so if you don't like changes, it might not be for you.

    Punahou School2017-09-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Punahou School full-time

    Pros

    Creative freedom, meaningful work with motivated kids.

    Cons

    Controlling administrators, low job security.

    Advice to Management

    Listen. Follow the golden rule.

    Punahou School2017-09-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Summer School TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Punahou School part-time

    Pros

    The Academy teachers at Punahou are some of the most interesting, interested, and engaging people I've had the chance to meet and work alongside. I enjoyed my job as a summer TA - writing lesson plans, helping with grading, and interacting with students all made it a worthwhile summer job.

    Cons

    Punahou admittedly doesn't pay its summer-hire TAs very well. The minimum wage in Hawaii is very low, especially given how high the cost of living there is, and that is what we were paid.

    Punahou School2017-09-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adminisrative Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Punahou School full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Open, beautiful environment, access to great parking and food service, young energetic co workers

    Cons

    Ability to take vacation when children are out of school.

    Advice to Management

    Keep upgrading IT support.

    Punahou School2017-08-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Punahou Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Punahou School part-time

    Pros

    Punahou created a nice work environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes (during the summer school) there seemed to be a lot of disorder.

    Punahou School2017-06-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "World class in every way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Punahou School full-time

    Pros

    If you wanted to be a professor but never got the right degree, great job.

    Cons

    Elitism abounds at all prep schools.

    Punahou School2017-05-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Love Punahou"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Punahou School part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Always providing me opportunity for professional growth.

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about.

    Punahou School2016-12-29
Found 21 reviews