Punahou School Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Punahou School Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Punahou School President James K Scott
James K Scott
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Punahou School

    Pros

    great place and people, definitely very community driven. Provide opportunities for professional growth if willing to commit long term. Great facilities and opportunities for kids.

    Cons

    Management can be slow moving because of a relatively large bureaucracy. This slows things down sometimes. At the same time, huge amounts of resources to be leveraged and the staff and expertise to make it happen.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job making Punahou such an amazing school. If you're looking to attract the best and brightest, try to find ways to make the school more affordable, and find ways to extend the lessons of Punahous success to others.

    Punahou School2016-11-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "After School Care Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Punahou School part-time

    Pros

    Great teachers and coordinators to work with, kids are fun to be with! When in the cafeteria have access to board games or can assist kids with homework.

    Cons

    Rotate through car calling duty, which can get boring when standing to the side of the road waiting for parents to drive up so you can call for their kid to get picked up.

    Advice to Management

    Advertise this job opportunity to students; I remember hearing in the bulletin that after school care was hiring but maybe also post flyers or get the word out in other ways.

    Punahou School2016-11-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "HR Rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Punahou School full-time

    Pros

    Just attended new hire orientation for new teachers. The Director of Human Resources is the absolute best; knowledgeable about the school; caring; welcoming; and totally supportive. If the rest of the administrators are like her, then, this will be an awesome place to work! While I was dreading attending these administrative sessions (including the workshop on sexual misconduct prevention), these have been some of the most engaging administrative sessions I've ever attended.

    Show More

    Cons

    none that I have experienced so far!

    Punahou School2016-08-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Teacher in Honolulu, HI

    I worked at Punahou School for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Punahou is an amazing school and community. Teachers are supported in every way possible. Kids are engaged in learning.

    Cons

    "Tiger parents" put a lot of pressure on their kids to "succeed." They sometimes have a very narrow definition of what success is focusing only on grades and test scores.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support teachers in any way possible.

    Punahou School2016-05-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Teachers Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Punahou School full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers and teachers to work with, always a plan for what to do for the day. The students are great to work with, eager to learn and participate.

    Cons

    Communication through email was a little difficult because of the system changing at the time. Things must have improved since then.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what is keeping Punahou a leader in the education field. It is very innovative while having the students interest first.

    Punahou School2016-02-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "It was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Punahou School

    Pros

    - Most of the staff are very driven and personally motivated - Our school focuses only on its students instead of the community as a whole. This focus allows our students to be the best

    Cons

    The school is really large

    Punahou School2016-01-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not as pretty as it seems on the surface"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Punahou School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits & campus beauty. A few good people.

    Cons

    Culture - extremely passive aggressive and cliquish.

    Advice to Management

    Innovate or collapse under the weight of "tradition".

    Punahou School2015-06-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I have been working at Punahou School

    Pros

    sports social teaching good teachers staff community

    Cons

    price is very expensive it costs alot

    Advice to Management

    nice job

    Punahou School2014-03-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazingly fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Student Worker in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Punahou School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people there are just amazing and everyone makes you feel important and well liked.

    Cons

    It can get somewhat cliquey, but other than that there is really nothing bad about working at Punahou.

    Advice to Management

    none.

    Punahou School2013-04-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Punahou School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, people are friendly, beautiful campus, work with some of the brightest students in the state, work in a fun setting

    Cons

    There is a lot of traffic on campus. But, other than that there is really nothing bad about this place.

    Punahou School2013-02-11
Found 21 reviews