PuppySpot Reviews

Updated May 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
39%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
PuppySpot CEO Jonathan Cherins (no image)
Jonathan Cherins
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love the casual environment, the people and what we do(in 6 reviews)

  • "Flexible scheduling; Lots of employee benefits; Fun, family-like work environment; Plenty of opportunities for advancement;(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I was with Puppy Spot when it was Purebred Breeders and there was a stark difference on how things were run(in 11 reviews)

  • "Upper Management is oblivious and not transparent(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      When you do what you love...

      Sep 10, 2020 - Puppy Manager in Hollywood, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a pleasure working with the people that I work with. Upper Management seems to care and listens to us when we have things to offer. Since we have started working from home, they have gone above and beyond to make sure our adjustment is as smooth as possible. I have been here for over a year now and can truly say I am happy with my job!

      Cons

      Working from home is hard, but grateful for the concessions that have been made.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Doing things the hard way and not valuing employees was a way of life.

      May 3, 2021 - Customer Advocate in Hollywood, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My co workers were great,

      Cons

      No good pay raises expecting customer advocates with no vet training to disclose health issues. When I worked there, there were 13 total CAs to about a hundred sales people. Each CA had roughly 50-60 customers that wanted personalized information about their dogs daily. So managers expected CAs to do the work of 5 people. The false family narrative that corporations like to try to force do your throat is endless. ATROUCIOUS work life balance. Don't expect to have a life, your schedule was never the same. Lastly, they fired a lot of people when the new people took over who had no idea what they were doing and we're more than likely just high powered friends of the CEO with degrees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Read the reviews before you apply.

      Apr 21, 2021 - Sales Associate in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are no pros that I can speak of.

      Cons

      They expect you to work 12-15 hour days and days off to make your sales quota. There are no boundaries so that you can live your life. They only give the good leads to people who are willing to do that.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      Mar 18, 2021 - Sales Representative in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment. Team is very helpful and empowering to help you achieve your goals.

      Cons

      Commission scale only seems to favor those that have worked for the company for a long time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Read the reviews and believe them.

      Mar 2, 2021 - Puppy Concierge 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - There are no pros to this company.

      Cons

      Unfortunately working for this company has revealed the corruption that still remains present in the market. Simply put, do not work here. I accepted the position here desperate for work as I was fresh out of college. But the struggles and the unethical practices of exploiting puppies for a profit are not worth it. You are expected to work on your days off and take little to none lunch breaks. If you do take your legally allocated time off, then you will be reprimanded by management. This is unhealthy, and I've had the unfortunate experience of witnessing colleagues getting physically and mentally ill from the demands of the toxic work environment this company fosters. To add on, you are not properly compensated. The base salary here equates to wages you would receive working in a food or retail position. If you do not meet the bi-weekly quota of 10 sales then you are set on probation. To end it all, this environment is unprofessional overall. The "casual" environment felt like I was in a sub-par college program with people that had no sense of divide between work and personal inter-relationships. Any reviews you see here that are positive are from management themselves in order to phase out real testimonies from former employees. Ever since I left this place for a real company, I now realize how mistreated I was simply as a human being. Now, I'm getting a salary that aligns with my area's cost of living, help from HR in times of disrupt, and management that communicates with me.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The day I quit PuppySpot was the happiest day of my life.

      Feb 25, 2021 - Concierge in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you’re a vvhite man, they’ll try to make you manager instantly. If not, they’re outsourcing most departments to the Phillippines anyway, so soon enough, their overworked employees will be able to collect unemployment while they retarget their abuse to underpaid workers overseas.

      Cons

      I have been looking forward to writing this review from day one. I spent two long, grueling years at PuppySpot that I’ll never get back, and I will carry the trauma with me from working there for the rest of my life. I was berated, sexually harassed, targeted by drug addicts, and subjected to scrutiny by racist, misogynistic, and homophobic employees, managers, and executives. I don't have enough fingers to count the number of slurs I and others were called in front of managers who did absolutely nothing. PuppySpot has the audacity to tell their employees that “they’re like family,” but at no point did I EVER feel safe or comfortable in that office as a woman and LGBTQ POC. My anxiety meds were TRIPLED from the stress of working in such a hostile environment, and I am not the only one enduring long-term medical impact from this pathetic company. HR didn’t care. Management didn’t care. You are nothing but a number to them, expected to skip breaks and work through days off and shamed and berated if you want even a little work-life balance. The company culture, or lack thereof, isn’t the only thing that’s a complete joke. The work is mind-numbing. You’ll make well over 100 calls a day, only to be cursed and screamed at, and if you’re lucky to get someone on the phone, have fun trying to sell them a $7k puppy mill puppy. They are a company of liars and snakes— they don’t care about their employees, and they care about the dogs they sell even LESS, constantly sending home sick, dying, and sometimes already dead puppies from subpar breeders and puppy mills. Need further confirmation of that? My PuppySpot puppy DIED within 3 weeks of coming home. They’re constantly raising prices, taking away commissions, and increasing weekly sales targets because they’re operating on a business model that isn’t sustainable and the company isn’t making any money. Instead of taking some time to reflect and consider employee feedback, they’re blaming it all on the sales team. I’m begging you: if you’re reading this because you’re interviewing here, or just received an offer, don’t take it. It’s not worth the toll it will take on your mental health, they WILL try to fire you after a few months, and you’ll make the same money working in a fast-food chain. If you care about animals or just value yourself at all, RUN.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The day I quit PuppySpot was the happiest day of my life.

      Feb 25, 2021 - Puppy Concierge in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you’re a vvhite man, they’ll try to make you manager instantly. If not, they’re outsourcing most departments to the Philippines anyway, so soon enough, their overworked employees will be able to collect unemployment while they retarget their abuse to underpaid workers overseas.

      Cons

      I have been looking forward to writing this review from day one. I spent two long, grueling years at PuppySpot that I’ll never get back, and I will carry the trauma with me from working there for the rest of my life. I was berated, sexually harassed, targeted by drug addicts, and subjected to scrutiny by racist, misogynistic, and homophobic employees, managers, and executives. I don't have enough fingers to count the number of slurs I and others were called in front of managers who did absolutely nothing. PuppySpot has the audacity to tell their employees that “they’re like family,” but at no point did I EVER feel safe or comfortable in that office as a woman and LGBTQ POC. My anxiety meds were TRIPLED from the stress of working in such a hostile environment, and I am not the only one enduring long-term medical impact from this pathetic company. HR didn’t care. Management didn’t care. You are nothing but a number to them, expected to skip breaks and work through days off and shamed and berated if you want even a little work-life balance. The company culture, or lack thereof, isn’t the only thing that’s a complete joke. The work is mind-numbing. You’ll make well over 100 calls a day, only to be cursed and screamed at, and if you’re lucky to get someone on the phone, have fun trying to sell them a $7k puppy mill puppy. They are a company of liars and snakes— they don’t care about their employees, and they care about the dogs they sell even LESS, constantly sending home sick, dying, and sometimes already dead puppies from subpar breeders and puppy mills. Need further confirmation of that? My PuppySpot puppy DIED within 3 weeks of coming home. They’re constantly raising prices, taking away commissions, and increasing weekly sales targets because they’re operating on a business model that isn’t sustainable and the company isn’t making any money. Instead of taking some time to reflect and consider employee feedback, they’re blaming it all on the sales team. I’m begging you: if you’re reading this because you’re interviewing here, or just received an offer, don’t take it. It’s not worth the toll it will take on your mental health, they WILL try to fire you after a few months, and you’ll make the same money working in a fast-food chain. If you care about animals or just value yourself at all, RUN.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid at all Costs

      Dec 8, 2020 - Puppy Concierge in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team members are great

      Cons

      The commission is terrible. The base is minimum...you sell 2,000-8,000 puppies and only make 25 bucks for the first sale 50 for the second and so on. To make any money you need to be selling 10+ puppies a week. They want you to sell puppies but when you first start you BARLEY get leads. I would be sitting around for 2 hours without any leads. How can I make expected sales with no leads.. they are quick to lay you off without warning.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Make PuppySpot Great Again!

      Oct 11, 2020 - Team Lead in Hollywood, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The entire organization for starter Puppies Hours of operation Flexible schedule Benefits Pay Work from home Raises Room to grow Daily, weekly, monthly, & annual meetings

      Cons

      Needing to hear out some of the employees more.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I found PuppySpot Entirely by Accident, and It was the Best Decision I've Ever Made

      Oct 11, 2019 - Sales Manager in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I found PuppySpot entirely by accident. I wasn't looking for a sales job (and had never done commission based sales before), but I liked the atmosphere and decided to give it a shot. I mentioned in my interview that I was interested in career progression and was told "Perform well for 6-9 months and we will get you there. That was January. I started in February, became top sales person for the office by May, was a Team Lead by August and a Sales Manager by September. The opportunities are there if you're willing to ask for them and work for them. Do I work 50-55 hours a week? Absolutely. Are there frustrating days/weeks? Yes, it's a sales job. But as I tell everyone, I also get to sit here and talk about puppies all day every day. It's rewarding, fulfilling, and I really love the people that I get to work with on a daily basis. I have rarely worked for a single boss that I respected and felt respected by in return, but I believe that of every single supervisor here. What started as an impulse decision to get out of a bad situation has turned into a promising and exciting career path. Definitely recommend!

      Cons

      Sometimes, with the frequent changes and improvements the company makes, it can feel a little frantic and overwhelming at times. But honestly, if you can roll with that, the changes are for the better and always in the name of doing what's best by our pups and employees. I can't fault them for that.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 99 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PuppySpot Job Seekers

    Puppy Concierge
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at PuppySpot? Share Your Experiences

    PuppySpot logo
    or