Cover image for PuppySpot
Logo

PuppySpot

Is this your company?

PuppySpot

Add a Review

PuppySpot Employee Reviews about "breeders"

Updated Oct 28, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 133 of over 133 reviews
2.2
19% Recommend to a Friend
17% Approve of CEO

Found 9 of over 133 reviews

2.2
19%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
PuppySpot CEO Jonathan Cherins (no image)
Jonathan Cherins
56 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Disability

This rating reflects the overall rating of PuppySpot and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "breeders"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Started good, ended horrible.

    Jul 19, 2021 - Puppy Concierge/Inside Sales in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Finding homes for cute puppies Remote work, get to do your own thing really Good commission (if you get a lot of sales)

    Cons

    So l started here back in September, l ended up being the last person from my training group still at PuppySpot (which should tell you something), throughout my time at the company there were a lot of changes internally (they always change the travel locations/travel availability on a weekly basis it seems), they do everything to please their investors and breeders, but never anything to please their employees who are on the ground everyday. The VP of Sales left during my time here and we got a new one, he is okay but this company has a low retention rate, which lets you know a lot as well. The puppies are very overpriced but l thought it was okay, but none of that money goes to the employees, all us employees ever got was some snacks, some slip and slides, some $25 gift cards, and a very low not livable wage (l'm single and l could not imagine having to feed a family off this very poor wage), the head of Marketing also left throughout my time here and that impacted sales a lot although they don't want to admit it. Today, they laid off 30+ employees including myself, with NO notice at all and out of the blue, offering me a small severance package of $1,100 LOL not even enough to cover my rent. Overall, this place has great potential to be an amazing business but the top management and also the 3-4 managers LOL are not enough to keep this company afloat for long.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Steer clear

    Oct 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers to work with

    Cons

    PuppySpot had some pretty big layoffs this summer. So there's been a lot of craziness that has come from that. But, things aren't getting better. Management doesn't listen very well or care about feedback from employees. The people team is a huge mess. They are disorganized, have no compassion, and have made this an embarrassing place to work. I've been made to feel stupid by them multiple times just for asking questions about things. People leader often sends super confusing emails to the whole company and turns it back around on you like you’re dumb if you question anything. I feel scared to be fired every day since the layoffs. I would definitely look somewhere else for a job. Most people aren’t in the field working with the breeders and puppies and I always feel like things aren’t being run with the puppies best interest in mind. Company cares about profit first above all else. Support your local shelter instead of these greedy breeders and company.

    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the PuppySpot team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The day I quit PuppySpot was the happiest day of my life.

    Feb 25, 2021 - Puppy Concierge in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you’re a vvhite man, they’ll try to make you manager instantly. If not, they’re outsourcing most departments to the Philippines anyway, so soon enough, their overworked employees will be able to collect unemployment while they retarget their abuse to underpaid workers overseas.

    Cons

    I have been looking forward to writing this review from day one. I spent two long, grueling years at PuppySpot that I’ll never get back, and I will carry the trauma with me from working there for the rest of my life. I was berated, sexually harassed, targeted by drug addicts, and subjected to scrutiny by racist, misogynistic, and homophobic employees, managers, and executives. I don't have enough fingers to count the number of slurs I and others were called in front of managers who did absolutely nothing. PuppySpot has the audacity to tell their employees that “they’re like family,” but at no point did I EVER feel safe or comfortable in that office as a woman and LGBTQ POC. My anxiety meds were TRIPLED from the stress of working in such a hostile environment, and I am not the only one enduring long-term medical impact from this pathetic company. HR didn’t care. Management didn’t care. You are nothing but a number to them, expected to skip breaks and work through days off and shamed and berated if you want even a little work-life balance. The company culture, or lack thereof, isn’t the only thing that’s a complete joke. The work is mind-numbing. You’ll make well over 100 calls a day, only to be cursed and screamed at, and if you’re lucky to get someone on the phone, have fun trying to sell them a $7k puppy mill puppy. They are a company of liars and snakes— they don’t care about their employees, and they care about the dogs they sell even LESS, constantly sending home sick, dying, and sometimes already dead puppies from subpar breeders and puppy mills. Need further confirmation of that? My PuppySpot puppy DIED within 3 weeks of coming home. They’re constantly raising prices, taking away commissions, and increasing weekly sales targets because they’re operating on a business model that isn’t sustainable and the company isn’t making any money. Instead of taking some time to reflect and consider employee feedback, they’re blaming it all on the sales team. I’m begging you: if you’re reading this because you’re interviewing here, or just received an offer, don’t take it. It’s not worth the toll it will take on your mental health, they WILL try to fire you after a few months, and you’ll make the same money working in a fast-food chain. If you care about animals or just value yourself at all, RUN.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The day I quit PuppySpot was the happiest day of my life.

    Feb 25, 2021 - Concierge in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you’re a vvhite man, they’ll try to make you manager instantly. If not, they’re outsourcing most departments to the Phillippines anyway, so soon enough, their overworked employees will be able to collect unemployment while they retarget their abuse to underpaid workers overseas.

    Cons

    I have been looking forward to writing this review from day one. I spent two long, grueling years at PuppySpot that I’ll never get back, and I will carry the trauma with me from working there for the rest of my life. I was berated, sexually harassed, targeted by drug addicts, and subjected to scrutiny by racist, misogynistic, and homophobic employees, managers, and executives. I don't have enough fingers to count the number of slurs I and others were called in front of managers who did absolutely nothing. PuppySpot has the audacity to tell their employees that “they’re like family,” but at no point did I EVER feel safe or comfortable in that office as a woman and LGBTQ POC. My anxiety meds were TRIPLED from the stress of working in such a hostile environment, and I am not the only one enduring long-term medical impact from this pathetic company. HR didn’t care. Management didn’t care. You are nothing but a number to them, expected to skip breaks and work through days off and shamed and berated if you want even a little work-life balance. The company culture, or lack thereof, isn’t the only thing that’s a complete joke. The work is mind-numbing. You’ll make well over 100 calls a day, only to be cursed and screamed at, and if you’re lucky to get someone on the phone, have fun trying to sell them a $7k puppy mill puppy. They are a company of liars and snakes— they don’t care about their employees, and they care about the dogs they sell even LESS, constantly sending home sick, dying, and sometimes already dead puppies from subpar breeders and puppy mills. Need further confirmation of that? My PuppySpot puppy DIED within 3 weeks of coming home. They’re constantly raising prices, taking away commissions, and increasing weekly sales targets because they’re operating on a business model that isn’t sustainable and the company isn’t making any money. Instead of taking some time to reflect and consider employee feedback, they’re blaming it all on the sales team. I’m begging you: if you’re reading this because you’re interviewing here, or just received an offer, don’t take it. It’s not worth the toll it will take on your mental health, they WILL try to fire you after a few months, and you’ll make the same money working in a fast-food chain. If you care about animals or just value yourself at all, RUN.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    The Sinking Ship - S.O.S

    Nov 13, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Hollywood, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My co-workers and the puppies.

    Cons

    The amount of changes we have had to endure in these past few years have had such a negative on the employees. A company that was once a profitable company is falling short every day that passes. Not only on a financial level but unfortunately on a moral level as well. With the previous CEO he was about branding and creating a foundation that would be consistently presentable to the the public. He really tried to break the stigma of buying from a breeder, making the public aware of puppy mills and having a vision of the future. Our current CEO involves himself in the day to day minutiae of things because he likes to be in control. But where it matters, like placing a puppy with a well known animal trophy killer or placing a puppy in the wrong hands of an animal abuser he is not present. Lay offs have occurred in the past year of c-level executives. The CEO has not stopped and taken a look at the storm he has brought and continues to create. He has shaken the livelihoods of so many employees including myself. It is a toxic environment. We are living in constant fear, we are overworked, underpaid, neglected, disrespected, chastised and undervalued. Our managers are beaten up emotionally and mentally. There is no safe space here. We have not seen the light at the end of the tunnel for a long time.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    STAY AWAY !!!! IMAGINE SPEAKING TO A CUSTOMER RIGHT BEFORE THEIR PUPPY WAS SUPPOSED TO ARRIVE AND IT DIED !

    Oct 4, 2019 - Puppy Concierge in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    THERE ARE ABSOLUTELY NO PROS

    Cons

    everything about working here is a con , you are signing up to work for a failing company. they think 90% of america can afford to buy 3000 - 5000 dollar dogs which is insanity . you will spend your life living inside of that building trying to shove puppies down peoples throats. they brainwash you to think it is a fun company to work for and that you will make a lot of money but you will make more at mcdonalds! if you do not sell 10 puppies in 1 and half weeks you will be fired . they have fired hundreds of people thinking it will work but the current staff is burnt out , stressed and the ceo laughs in your face like you are blessed to be working there . you will need to work 55-60 hours , maybe more a week to stay alive at this place and you wont get paid more than 35 thousand a year . this is a sinking ship of a company that takes a 1000$ dog and sells it for 3500$ and expects you to convince the buyer that it is worth it . you will have to make hundreds of phone calls a day , harassing customers to the point that they will get nasty with you . the company encouraged drinking on the job as they provided alcohol to all of their workers and never have i ever seen in any work place managers drinking and cursing on the job. you will lose your hair , your sanity , your life and your time for horrible pay. if you love animals and your family you will stay far away from this company because they are not who they say they are and finding a puppy a good home is the least of their worries . they claim to be puppy mill free but that is the most ridiculous , demoralizing statement they make. the breeders they use are sub to low par and countless times i had puppies die prior to making it to the customer . imagine speaking to a customers child right before their puppy was supposed to arrive and telling them that it died !

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    An incredibly stressful experience with uncaring higher management

    May 23, 2019 - Customer Advocate in Hollywood, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great food on the weekends Casual dress all the time

    Cons

    Wow, where can I begin? I was with Puppy Spot when it was Purebred Breeders and there was a stark difference on how things were run. When it was sold, things obviously (and were expected) to change but I truly feel as though it was the beginning to the slow burn end. -Chronic Under Staffing: Puppy Spot seemed to think that chronically under staffing the Travel Department and the Customer Advocate department was acceptable and workable. At a certain point it got down to roughly 8 Customer Advocates and maybe 10-12 travel reps. The customer Advocates were told by someone in a position of power that there was a hiring freeze. But low and behold apparently there wasn't. So the team had been struggling for nearly a year on a lie. It got to the point that for over year, there was just simply unlimited overtime because there was no possible way that anyone could get their tasks done in an 8 hour period. By the time that I left, there were only 13 customer advocates. I would also log in from home to work an additional 2 or 3 hours because the work became simply too much. Somehow, management assumed that only having 13 customer advocates compared to their nearly 100 sales reps was adequate coverage -An Incredibly High Stress Job when it really never had to be: This job became incredibly stressful because the work just piled on. Nobody seemed to know what was going on and no one seemed to know what they were doing. Before the buy out, turnover was fairly average and it wasn't at all dramatic. This job became so stressful that the travel department literally had two managers quit within a week of each other. This is after a previous supervisor/manager quit about a month before. In about 4 months, the Travel Department had lost about 6 people, three of them management. By the time I left, the running joke with many people from different departments was about quitting. Everyone joked about quitting all the time but we could all tell the undercurrent of truth. -Higher management seems to have the idea of throwing everything to the wall to still what sticks. And even if nothing sticks, they run with it anyway. Case in point: The Customer Advocate team switched over to Puppy Managers. Meaning that instead of a customer calling in and anyone could help them, the customer would be assigned to a Puppy Manager after the completion of the sale. That Puppy Manager would be with that customer to answer any questions or concerns until the puppy goes home. This would have been a GREAT idea if there were more than 13 people on the Customer Advocates Team. By the time I left, each rep had roughly 60 accounts with about 10 accounts daily. Granted, you aren't talking to all 60 customers daily, but you can easily have to handle about 20-30 accounts a daily (dealing with those customers requests). This is on top of taking calls that aren't your accounts, uploading health paperwork, calling breeders for information about the puppies or travel, setting up travel and disclosing health issues. -Promises Promises: I'll say one thing about Puppy Spot Higher Management: They are GREAT on hyping up change and how it's going to be awesome. They will promise to give you a box of stars wrapped in gossamer when all that's really in that box is disappointment. The higher ups had been promising raises for the new position change but by March, the Customer Advocates didn't even get their yearly reviews. Puppy Spot definitely put dogs first, I truly wish they had that same mindset with their employees. "Family" but in the corporate way: All jobs like to say that they're a 'family' and that as a family and that really does vary from employer to employer. When it was Purebred Breeders, I truly felt that it was meant that PBB was family. Puppy Spot? It's spouted all the time but that's with a big ol' asterisk. Puppy Spot is all about 'family' until they have to throw you under the bus. And management will throw you under the bus. I think I realized a little too late that hard work and dedication didn't really mean much to PuppySpot. They are NOT a company that will go to bat for their employee so don't let the family talk fool you. Don't be loyal to these jobs that aren't loyal to you. And Puppy Spot is a job that will not be loyal to you regardless of how long you've worked there or how hard. If you've found your spot there, that's awesome, that's great and I wish you the best. But I would never recommend PuppySpot to anyone.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst Company to Work For

    Feb 12, 2019 - Puppy Concierge in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If I would've gave my review when I started, it would've been 5 stars. But ever since the changes it is definitely the worst company I have worked for. - They provide Lunch on the Weekends - Great coworkers. Some good supervisors.

    Cons

    Too many to list them all. As you can see from all the bad reviews. - Only get paid well if you work 80+ hours a week - They work with bad breeders. Health guarantee is a joke. - Ever since they got new Executives, the company has gone down the train. Leaders lead by fear, not example. - They change the lead system all the time - Horrible Shifts. Not able to have a good work/life balance - Even though your on commission they eye your hours like a hawk. - Work from home only available to a few people - One company party a year for Christmas. You get a PuppySpot Sweater - You have certain metrics to make (100+ outbound calls, 3+ hours of talk time, or sell a puppy). You're calling the same people all the time because there isn't enough new leads. - Not enough leads. They over staff Sales Rep to pay less on commission. - Executives are the worst. - The mark up on the puppies are insane. Not enough paid out to the sales reps.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Oblivious upper management! Constant understaffing!

    Mar 29, 2018 - Travel Agent Supervisor in Hollywood, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Occasionally a puppy running threw the office

    Cons

    Continuous high turn over rate due to the constant unreasonable demands. Expectancy of work load to completed efficiently and effectively while being understaffed in EACH department 20 people, with the exception of sales. Causing low moral on their overburdened and underappreciated staff. Only 3 holidays are recognized and you will be required to work on those unrecognized days. The 3 holidays that are recognized someone will still be obligated to work on a "volunteer" basis. Upper management is oblivious to the day to day operations. Little recognition for going above and beyond to maintain outrageous demands. 40 hours of weekly overtime. Marketing is their top priority while network systems are outdated and underdeveloped. Exterior appearance is a complete facade. The cost of the puppies are doubled due to the health guarantee and limited registration. The health guarantee nor the limited registration is ever explained to the customer prior to purchase. The customers are promised far fetched ideas by the sales people. The constant new breeders are clueless and ignorant to the requirements to send a puppy home causing constant stress on the person having to convey the unhappy news to the customers that their new very expensive puppy will not arrive as scheduled. Inappropriate behaviour from management. Temperamental and irrational management. HR no help

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    PuppySpot Response

    Human Resources

    While we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, as we discussed with you in your exit meeting when you resigned, we maintain an open-door policy for all employees to voice any possible concerns that they may have. Unfortunately, given we were unfamiliar with these complaints prior to your resignation, we are truly confused with your comment that HR was “no help.” You did not actually avail yourself of our policy at all and we must address some of the false claims you’ve included in this review. Our recruiting and HR teams are always working diligently to ensure that we recruit well-qualified and dedicated individuals to join the PuppySpot team. Over the last two years, PuppySpot has increased the number of employees in various departments throughout the company and will continue to do so as the need arises. As you know, we are currently recruiting employees in a number of departments across the company. On the topic of obligation and recognition, like any responsible organization, we expect professionalism, transparency and integrity from our employees. We do have high standards for our employees in leadership roles to hold themselves and their teams accountable. While we recognize eight major holidays, we have a volunteer system to provide our employees with options to better serve our community seamlessly during some of those holidays as there are puppies traveling, breeders working with their puppies and customers needing assistance--all of whom depend on us. We appreciate and reward hard-workers who show ambition and desire to grow with opportunities for advancement, as demonstrated by the numerous team members who started as entry level employees and are now in managerial and leadership roles. However, your statement about 40 hours of weekly overtime is simply untrue. We want to emphasize that PuppySpot truly values the opinions of our employees and we are continually evaluating ways to improve the functionality of our various departments, company’s operations and employee experience. Our executive teams as well as HR team dedicate a lot of time and resources to maintaining a friendly, professional, supportive and employee-focused company culture. In fact, we just restructured our Customer Advocate and Client Services departments to not only better serve our community, but also our internal team, as well. To stay updated, these teams have also been given additional tools like access to the JIRA ticketing system and real-time access to the phone system to provide productive and efficient solutions to any issues any of our members may encounter. Regarding our pricing, the cost of our puppies entails so much more than what you’ve stated. We handle all the research for our customers so that they can focus on welcoming home their new furry family member. We maintain a simple platform at www.puppyspot.com so that customers from around the country can easily find in a central location the puppies they are seeking wherever in the country the puppy is and wherever in the US or Canada the customer resides. Knowing that each customer has a unique set of needs, we utilize a hands-on, personalized approach to provide guidance throughout the entire placement process. Our team’s support includes: managing breeder conversations, handling all research and vetting responsible breeders, confirming completion of nose-to-tail veterinary examinations before and after a puppy leaves his or her breeder’s care, and coordinating all travel arrangements prior to the puppy’s arrival in his or her forever home and continued support for all of our puppy parents. Additionally, we offer an industry-leading health guarantee on all of our puppies that we require our customers to acknowledge they've read as part of our purchase agreement. Finally, our managers are always open to constructive insights from our employees. That said, we are very disappointed that you didn't take advantage of our open-door policy prior to our departure and have such a negative view of your time as a member of our team.

  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay Away

    Mar 5, 2018 - Account Manager in Hollywood, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Met some wonderful people while working there -Learned a little bit about dogs

    Cons

    -Terrible management -Hostile work environment -Pay is bad -High turnover -Poor communication -Fisher Price phone system -HR doesn't care about employee's well being -Managers saying ridiculous things behind employee's backs to corporate executives -Manager in Breeder Relations plays favorites, is unapproachable, rude, condescending, unpleasant, lacks leadership skills, walks around office stomping feet, wears inappropriate clothing, does not know what positive reinforcement is, does not lead by example, talks about people behind their backs, does not know how to speak to people, leads by bullying, and intimidation (fails at it), does not realize team are not her children, or lackeys. Would have declined job offer at PuppySpot if I had known who I was dealing with prior. "You truly cannot stand above others unless you have the strength to do so"

    14 people found this review helpful

    PuppySpot Response

    Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. While we appreciate you sharing your candid opinion about your experience with PuppySpot, your claim about our HR team and management level not caring about our employees is simply not true. We are relentlessly striving to create a supportive environment for our team of dedicated employees and are incredibly proud of our leadership team. Your negative opinion towards the managerial style of your supervisor focuses on a very personal level, which is unfortunately not constructive feedback. Our managers are available to provide guidance for our teams and help all members of the team to grow and develop. More importantly, they are always open to constructive insights from our employees. That said, we are very disappointed that you didn't take advantage of our open-door policy to provide feedback in real time and address your concerns directly with any of the HR, Management or Executive teams when you were still a part of the PuppySpot team.

Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with PuppySpot Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at PuppySpot? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

PuppySpot Photos

+ Add Photo
PuppySpot photo of: Employees attending a City Commissions meeting to support our pro-dog stance on pet ownership.
PuppySpot photo of: PuppySpot employees enjoying the day at the 2018 Broward Humane Society Walk for the Animals
PuppySpot photo of: Red Nose Day 2019
PuppySpot photo of: Red Nose Day 2019
PuppySpot photo of: Red Nose Day 2019
PuppySpot photo of: Red Nose Day 2019
PuppySpot photo of: Red Nose Day 2019
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 133 PuppySpot reviews submitted anonymously by PuppySpot employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if PuppySpot is right for you.