Purdue University Graduate Teaching Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Purdue University Graduate Teaching Assistant Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Purdue University CEO Mitch Daniels
Mitch Daniels
24 Ratings
  1. "graduate teaching assistant at Purdue is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in West Lafayette, IN

    I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good salary, can choose which class you want to teach

    Cons

    very competitive sometimes some profs won't be that responsible

    Purdue University2019-03-18
  2. "Graduate Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant in West Lafayette, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Purdue University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to resources (lab space, IT, software)

    Cons

    Under compensation for Graduate TAs/RAs

    Advice to Management

    Allocate more funding to Graduate TAs/RAs in the Polytechnic Institute.

    Purdue University2019-05-21
  3. "Graduate Teaching Assistant - Purdue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Purdue University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Students Nice environment to work with Professors

    Cons

    Large volume of classes - 80 to 100 students Lots of grading In-class activities every week

    Purdue University2019-03-19
  4. "Sometimes student, sometimes staff member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The insurance isn't too bad, though good luck trying to find a psychologist.

    Cons

    Pick only two: mental health, academic success, quality teaching.

    Advice to Management

    Develop a solid definition of what a graduate staff member is, and use that terminology at all levels of communication about our roles on campus. It's disheartening to receive an email saying that Mitch Daniels has generously given everyone a bonus if you're not sure whether you're part of that group. It's like we're considered students when it benefits the university and considered staff when it benefits the university.

    Purdue University2019-03-30
  5. "Graduate Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent collaboration between labs and core facilities Great environment for learning with graduate-level courses in particular taught by dedicated, knowledgeable academic scientists

    Cons

    Internal funding processes for research are not transparent

    Purdue University2018-09-24
  6. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    a waiver of tuition, self-development, opportunity to work and study

    Cons

    absence of a permanent workplace

    Purdue University2018-02-08
  7. "Better than many"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package, fair salary for cost of living, nice people

    Cons

    Location is not so great

    Purdue University2018-01-29
  8. "Department of Chemistry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant in West Lafayette, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Purdue University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are well known, have a lot of well known researchers, and the support staff is amazingly helpful.

    Cons

    I was refused training from my direct supervisor that was essential to my work at nearly every turn. The politics of the academic environment make moving forward as a community and individual laborious. Quite often, the graduate students are not taken seriously as independent thinkers and researchers.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the input of those working beneath you. Often they are putting in more work and face time than management into common issues, and they have lots of ideas of how to improve the educational environment.

    Purdue University2018-02-08
  9. "Great school to start your STEM career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Teaching Assistant in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities to participate in cutting edge STEM research with world class faculty. Numerous opportunities to connect and interact with industry and government employers. Positive campus culture.

    Cons

    Located in small midwestern town which lacks the some of the activity and energy of a large metropolitan area.

    Purdue University2018-01-19
  10. "Okay then...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purdue University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, supportive supervisors and mentorship, good departmental colleagues (in the same area)

    Cons

    Overly competitive for what it is, graduate stipend too low, too few chances for professional growth through diversified teaching opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    none.

    Purdue University2017-10-26
Found 54 reviews