Purdue University Reviews | Glassdoor

Purdue University Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1763 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Purdue University CEO Mitch Daniels
Mitch Daniels
595 Ratings
  1. "graduate teaching assistant at Purdue is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in West Lafayette, IN

    I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good salary, can choose which class you want to teach

    Cons

    very competitive sometimes some profs won't be that responsible

    Purdue University2019-03-18
  2. "Some Good, Some Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Purdue University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Somewhat get to set your own hours around your class schedule.

    Cons

    You are expected to do a full-time position's work for a part-time salary. And different departments pay their students different amounts for the same work.

    Purdue University2019-04-01
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Purdue University part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Location is good for a student. Pay was more than I expected.

      Cons

      Work is slightly boring, I am not interested in what I am working on.

      Purdue University2019-03-30
    • "Sometimes student, sometimes staff member"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The insurance isn't too bad, though good luck trying to find a psychologist.

      Cons

      Pick only two: mental health, academic success, quality teaching.

      Advice to Management

      Develop a solid definition of what a graduate staff member is, and use that terminology at all levels of communication about our roles on campus. It's disheartening to receive an email saying that Mitch Daniels has generously given everyone a bonus if you're not sure whether you're part of that group. It's like we're considered students when it benefits the university and considered staff when it benefits the university.

      Purdue University2019-03-30
    • "Purdue University Note taker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Note Taker 

        I have been working at Purdue University part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        All you have to do is show up to the designated class and take diligent notes. Update the person you are taking notes for about any in-class opportunities

        Cons

        Cannot skip classes- very difficult sometimes

        Purdue University2019-03-15
      • "Good institution to be part of and to work for."

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Purdue University full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          This is a great community, nearby to metropolitan cities

          Cons

          Winter season is very long.

          Advice to Management

          I have high respect for my manager, very easy going person and easy to communicate with.

          Purdue University2019-03-14
        • "Graduate Student pursuing MS in chemical engineering"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Graduate Student in West Lafayette, IN

            I have been working at Purdue University full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Good faculties and course structure

            Cons

            I don't see any cons since its just a university but there are loads of homework you get. However, that to is for learning purpose

            Purdue University2019-03-23
          • "Your experience depends on your supervisor/boss"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Research Assistant in Hammond, IN
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Great hands-on learning experience. Creativity is encouraged. Opportunity to travel to conferences and meet other professionals

            Cons

            Can suck the life out of you, especially if your supervisor is the fastidious kind

            Advice to Management

            There should be bonuses/tips for RAs on a discretionary basis. Thats its completely non-existent isn't fair.

            Purdue University2019-03-23
          • "Wiley dining court"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I have been working at Purdue University part-time for less than a year

              Pros

              Free food, short hours, nice people, descent pay

              Cons

              i don’t think i have any

              Purdue University2019-03-08
            • "Graduate Teaching Assistant - Purdue"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Chicago, IL
              Recommends
              Positive Outlook

              I worked at Purdue University full-time for more than a year

              Pros

              Good Students Nice environment to work with Professors

              Cons

              Large volume of classes - 80 to 100 students Lots of grading In-class activities every week

              Purdue University2019-03-19
            Found 1763 reviews