Purdue University Student Reviews | Glassdoor

Purdue University Student Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Purdue University CEO Mitch Daniels
Mitch Daniels
38 Ratings
  1. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Cook in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Purdue University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They're pretty flexible to student schedules.

    Cons

    There are times when you must work over breaks.

    Purdue University2019-06-14
  2. "Great school with good reputation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Purdue University full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of ways to get involved in activities. Very reputable and have plenty of career resources.

    Cons

    Not the best socially. Classes can be difficult if not prepared.

    Purdue University2019-05-15
  3. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Purdue University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had the best four years of my life at Purdue where I was really able to grow outside of the classroom and learn a lot while I was in class.

    Cons

    It was only a 4 year program and I had to graduate.

    Purdue University2019-05-14
  4. "Some Good, Some Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Purdue University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Somewhat get to set your own hours around your class schedule.

    Cons

    You are expected to do a full-time position's work for a part-time salary. And different departments pay their students different amounts for the same work.

    Purdue University2019-04-01
  5. "Graduate Student pursuing MS in chemical engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Graduate Student in West Lafayette, IN

      I have been working at Purdue University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good faculties and course structure

      Cons

      I don't see any cons since its just a university but there are loads of homework you get. However, that to is for learning purpose

      Purdue University2019-03-23
    • "Easy process to apply"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Student Associate 

        I have been working at Purdue University part-time

        Pros

        Good pay for a part-time job.

        Cons

        Hard labour when assigned to dish.

        Purdue University2019-02-19
      • "Good engineering school"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Student in West Lafayette, IN

          I have been working at Purdue University full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Good education Teaches you well to adapt to new challenges

          Cons

          Cold No grade inflation, very difficult to get an A

          Purdue University2019-02-08
        • "Grad Student"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Ph D Graduate Student in West Lafayette, IN
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Purdue University for more than a year

          Pros

          Nice environment, fair salary for cost of living, amazing professors, and most importantly lots of resources

          Cons

          poor social scene, very packed on campus housing(though not for grad students), grade deflation, and TAing is very time consuming.

          Purdue University2018-12-05
        • "Its Graduate School what do you expect"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Compensation and Benefits
          Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student in West Lafayette, IN
          Doesn't Recommend
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Purdue University full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          You learn a lot and get to use many of the latest in field technology tools

          Cons

          limited sleep, not conducive to raising a family, they may tell you a time frame to finish and push it back further as you go. I will say in year 5 I switched Advisors/PI's and it has made a huge difference

          Purdue University2018-12-16
        • "Nice Place but low pay"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Graduate Student Researcher in Indianapolis, IN
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Purdue University full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Tons of brilliant faculties Top facilities

          Cons

          Pay is low remote from big cities

          Purdue University2018-09-06
        Found 98 reviews