Purdue University Student Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Purdue University Student Worker Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Purdue University CEO Mitch Daniels
Mitch Daniels
3 Ratings
  1. "Awesome school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Purdue University for less than a year

    Pros

    There are so many possibilities at Purdue and they are endless

    Cons

    Seasoned professors are hard to deal with. Grading can becoming really hard

    Purdue University2014-05-15
  2. "Student Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, decent minimum pay for students

    Cons

    Can be tiresome and not relate to major

    Advice to Management

    Equal pay and benefits for all campus jobs

    Purdue University2018-02-26
  3. "Student Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Purdue University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Purdue offers flexible hours, understands that being a student comes first

    Cons

    Does not always have variety of student jobs available. Many are in food service.

    Purdue University2017-09-20
  4. "Good for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Student Worker in Hammond, IN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Purdue University

      Pros

      Great people and flexible hours.

      Cons

      They like their drama and gossip.

      Purdue University2016-09-07
    • "Overall a good environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Worker in West Lafayette, IN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Purdue University part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule, works around classes for students. Able to change schedule every semester based on course load. Higher than average starting rate.

      Cons

      Few hours,only ten maximum per week, doesn't add up to much once taxes come out. Work varies daily, one day you could study the whole time, the next you're completely busy.

      Purdue University2016-02-29
    • "It was ok working for purdue"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Worker 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Purdue University part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Cheap living generally. The city is quiet as well

      Cons

      The town is boring. That's an understatement

      Advice to Management

      hmm

      Purdue University2013-05-03
    • "Purdue allowed me to grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Worker in West Lafayette, IN
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Purdue University

      Pros

      1. My boss is smart, talented, and a great leader 2. My colleagues are truly passionate about their work 3. Learning opportunities are everywhere 4. Growth both personally and professionally 5. Two words: TUITION REMISSION

      Cons

      1. Lower pay 2. Communication btwn depts can suffer due to large size 3. Sometimes conservative 4. Not in a larger city

      Advice to Management

      Continue hiring people who are truly passionate about what they do. It is inspiring to work for and with people who love what they do.

      Purdue University2010-04-07
    Found 7 reviews