Purple Land Management Reviews | Glassdoor

Purple Land Management Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
24%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Purple Land Management Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer Bryan Cortney (no image)
Bryan Cortney
53 Ratings
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Recommend this job to your worst enemy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The other associates are very nice and kind, they're the only reason I stuck around for as long as I did.

    Cons

    1. First of all, any positive reviews you see are because HR begs people to write nice reviews on this place daily. They are completely made up and fabricated. Every employee I have talked to hates their lives at this company. These nice reviews are fake do not believe them. 2. None of the VP's have any idea what is actually going on with their employees or the work they put in 3. Management doesn't care about you at all and this is reflected in the benefits, the firing/laying off process, and the way you are treated at work. 4. Benefits are basically non existent. There is no 401K matching and only 10 PTO days. Thats it. This covers vacations, sick days, family emergencies, everything. Doesn't matter if you started yesterday or have been with the company for 5 years, everyone only gets 10 days. 5. The firing/laying off process is absolutely ridiculous. Project managers get paid per person on their team. They bring in inexperienced people by the masses, pay them practically nothing, promise raises and NEVER deliver. Then, when it comes time for you to finally get your raise of your end of the year bonus, they make up some BS excuse on why they have to "let you go" to keep more money in the companies pockets. 6. They do not invest in their employees whatsoever. There is absolutely no training, you mostly fend for yourself. Instead of warning you if your production numbers are low, they just fire you on the spot, still with the same BS excuse, they are never upfront on what the real reason is. 7. You are expected to pay for everything. Any travel you do, you pay your own money upfront for. Parking? No reimbursement, only for the Houston office, not even corporate. If you need to access documents online, guess who has to front the money? Hint: its not the company. You do get reimbursed but this is just another example of how they don't care about their employees. They have plenty of company cards but do not allow employees to use it to do the basic functions of their job. Only VP's get that luxury. 8. The atmosphere of the office is unlike anything I have ever seen. No one talks, the office is completely silent. They had to buy white noise machines so you wouldn't be able to hear the sound of a pen drop. Its an extremely weird environment to be in every day. All in all, this company is completely toxic and corrupt. You don't know how draining it is working for a place that doesn't care about you until you are hired on. I'll be absolutely shocked if this place is still in business in 3 years. Management is running it straight into the ground.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-12-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Purple Land Management full-time

    Pros

    Purple has provided ample growth opportunities during the short amount of time I have been here. Over the past two years, my dedication hasn't gone unnoticed and that is refreshing in the workplace. The culture of the workplace is steadily changing for the better and I can't wait to see where it goes! Would definitely recommend Purple to anyone looking to find their forever workplace. Thanks Purple!

    Cons

    As in all workplaces, the only con I would mention is everyone is so dedicated to work, that we sometimes lose sight of the given opportunities to relax and enjoy the office space. Whether that be a provided lunch for everyone or something of the same nature, I look forward to all employees and contractors feeling the flexibility to stay and spend time during these special occasions and get to know others in the office!

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-11-01
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Good Resume Builder, No Career Incentive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman, Occasional Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learned a lot, met some good people. Took the things I learned to a better paying, higher skilled, more rewarding, and far less uptight employer. NOTE: I was in the Denver office, which seems to be much more relaxed and an altogether more enjoyable environment.

    Cons

    Deadlines are often met with scrambling. Career growth is non-existent outside of building your own skill-set to take elsewhere. Unless you want a job managing projects and living a life revolving around breakneck deadlines and the work of untrained title examiners. There is really no reason to stay with this company. Most skilled landmen can and will do better.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-10-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Purple Way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Landman in Canonsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Great atmosphere. Wonderful bosses.

    Cons

    Communication sometimes lacks. Difficulties working remotely through offices out of other states.

    Purple Land Management2018-10-09
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some stability which helps if your in between projects.

    Cons

    Constant shifting from one project to the next. Looked down upon for taking time off or going home at 5. Contractors are supposed to work from home. Many people who work there have minimal experience and minimal training.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-09-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "one year with a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Landman 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Purple Land Management full-time

    Pros

    Feels like you are part of a family with this company. They seem to really care about what's going on with your life here. Working conditions are great and management is very easy to get along with. I've never felt unreasonable pressure working here. When there is a tight deadline management conveys the importance of speed in a way that makes you feel like part of a team and are encouraging and helpful.

    Cons

    Sometimes the chain of command is unclear

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-08-07
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Do not work for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are just starting out as a Landman and need a paycheck, this is a place to start. But you will not grow as a Landman here.

    Cons

    Do not expect to be at this company long term. They do not plan on keeping people for the long run. This company has a cycle; they hire new college graduates that have very little work experience and little or no experience in oil and gas . After these hires have been there for a year or so, they dump them and add new college graduate hires with no experience in the industry. This way, they can pay them extremely low hourly wages because they are taking you on with no prior experience. Pretty cool if you are fresh out of college looking for a job right? Well yes, but if you accept this job, you will see why there are multiple pages of reviews that express how this company treats their employees. As an employee working for any employer, you are going to see yourself getting taken advantage of. This is just a part of corporate America and if you have ever worked for someone, this is just how life is. However, Purple Land Management takes it to a whole different level. The way they treat their employees is criminal. They will hire you as an employee with benefits. You will soon learn that no other Landman company does this. Purple does this so that they can rely on you to stay and have security for a year. The amount of work that you actually do for the company does not match up to what you are paid and no matter how hard you work, you will not get a raise. It is the definition of a sweatshop atmosphere. Management is manipulating. Going and expressing to them your concerns will either get you ignored, manipulated or fired. They have no interest in hearing what you have to say. If you are looking to grow as a Landman or in the oil and gas industry, this is honestly not the place for you. They are not looking for talented smart employees to stay at their company, just for someone who has never had a job before who they can manipulate into working for them. They will lie to you starting at your interview, be prepared. They will continue the lies until they let you go. The only reason there are good reviews on glass door about this company is because after you have been with the company for a year, HR sends you an email telling you that you should right a glass door review about the "positive changes" at Purple. Listen folks, there are no changes being made, just new people in new roles. If you would like to see for yourself, apply and accept the job. I for one am a person who typically looks at reviews and pays them no mind. In this instance, I wish I had actually listened to them. Although I got experience, the amount of manipulation and slime from this company did not make it worth it.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-08-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Landman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Petroleum Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Purple is a great place to get your foot in the door. Bigger company with a lot of different projects going on. Meaning there is plenty of opportunity to work different projects through out different plays. If you are looking to gain experience and get started this is the place to be.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Purple Land Management2018-06-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Purple Land Management full-time

    Pros

    I have been working at PLM for a few years now. I'm really excited to see how the company grows this year! Some very positive changes have already taken place, and their vision for the future of the company is being developed to ensure a more positive company culture and work environment. Management has worked hard to provide stable work for as many landmen as possible through the ups and downs of the industry.

    Cons

    Nothing to note here as of now. The changes being made within the company are all focused on addressing key issues that have been mentioned here in the past.

    Purple Land Management2018-05-29
  10. Helpful (11)

    "If you have experience you can do better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was paid a decent salary and never had to ask for a raise. If you have no experience and are willing to be a proactive learner (you must ask questions - they will not train you) then it is a decent enough place to acquire experience.

    Cons

    Benefits are laughable. PTO for full-time employees is horrible. I worked here for more than 5 years and still only had 10 days of PTO. This covered vacations, sick time, and any funerals you may have to attend. Any company I have ever worked for where I was a full-time employee I would have had 15 days or more of PTO and at least a week of sick time. Upper management will state how they listen to their staff but are disengaged when real-world problems are brought up even when you also present solutions. They would rather take a client to dinner and wine and dine them then to really fix the issue. As a result, they have lost clients due to this unsustainable process.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-05-30
Found 88 reviews