Purple Land Management Reviews | Glassdoor

Purple Land Management Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
24%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Purple Land Management Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer Bryan Cortney (no image)
Bryan Cortney
53 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Landman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time

    Pros

    Do not waste your time

    Cons

    I accepted a job in October with PLM and they began pushing my start date back multiple time. I can think of 3-4 times. Come around to January they took the job away and said they were not filling the position. Was out of work for 2-3 months.

    Purple Land Management2018-05-02
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Landman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Title Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I cannot think of one positive thing to say about Purple Land Management

    Cons

    They are the most unprofessional employer I have worked for. They have not one ounce for the employees. They beat you down with micro management always with the threat of firing you from the minute you start training. You become their back office slave. Stay away from this company.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-04-22
  3. Helpful (13)

    "The Purple Titanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They own a really opulent, nice and expensive office building in downtown Fort Worth. Purple seems to have some pretty good clients and they are good at schmoozing...

    Cons

    Not sure where to begin. Purple is a hard firm to take seriously. There is a lot of bravado and male chest beating about the program but they are unable or unwilling to deliver on their promises to either employees or clients. The pay is at the bottom tier for the industry. There is a lot of evidence that they actually "buy work" from some clients. If they put as much effort into building a solid foundation the opportunities would come to them by providing a quality service at a fair price they could improve their bad reputation but that would eat into the margins they use to finance all the schmoozing they have to do to retain and attract projects. You feel like you need a shower after work. Not for being dirty but for feeling like the slime of the organization is draining you physically and emotionally. This company lacks even a modicum of integrity. Ethics is a moving target. There is no coherent management philosophy that I could understand. Upper management is inexperienced in the basic work that it expects from the employees. The owners lack humility and really seem to believe their own hype. Testosterone runs rampant in the place and it is very much a bro culture in management.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-01-30
  4. Helpful (30)

    "It's better than being sold into a human-trafficking slave trade (I guess)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were some really great, knowledgeable people that worked there. None of them were in management. If you really, REALLY need a paycheck (and can wait 6-weeks to get it), it's safer than prostitution.

    Cons

    Geez, where do you begin ? Pay: The compensation for your work was well below industry standards. When I worked there, the most you could bill for in one day was 8 hours. So even if you worked 10 hours(for example, if you worked through lunch, showed up early and worked late, like the management insists upon), you're still only being paid for 8, instead of the 10 or 11 you actually worked. Well that's odd.... but wait, it gets much, much worse. Office environment: It's absolutely miserable. They have this motto at Purple... "give more than you take". That's their way of saying "work your butt off, and expect nothing in return". It usually takes the employees a month or two to figure that one out. Once they realize that this land-broker is a career black-hole, the talent leaves. That's why PLM is always hiring. Business model: Let's be honest. Anyone with a few brain-cells and a pulse can run mineral title. The management knows that from personal experience. So they hire anyone... ANYONE to run mineral title, that's willing to do it on the cheap. "No experience ? No problem ! We'll pay you the same rate as the guy/gal that actually has valuable experience. " All it does, is slow down the project, dilute the work product of the experienced landmen, and seriously kills any morale that could have existed in that cesspool. PLM is a revolving door for employees. The talented employees leave, because they don't have to put up with the favoritism, the crappy pay, the slave-driving management, the incompetence, or the awful work environment. PLM's business model is simple: "Running mineral title is easy. We can hire the bums living under the bridge over there off of Lancaster to do this job, and pay them peanuts (in comparison to what we're being paid for their work). When they wise up and leave, we'll just hire more bums to fill the chairs. We'll keep driving our BMWs, buy a $10m building in downtown Ft Worth, while completely neglecting the life-blood of the company itself. We'll institute company-wide pay-cuts (except for ourselves, of course) that are anywhere from $6,000 to $10,000 just to make sure anyone with talent or a shred of basic human dignity leaves ASAP. As long as we have unlimited access to free-ranging bums, we're in business." Texas Workforce Commission violations: Most of their landmen were hired as Independent Contractors. Briefly, ICs are supposed to be treated differently than employees. Employees generally have access to medical insurance benefits, paid time off, maybe a 401K plan... ICs generally do not get those benefits. The benefit to being an IC (instead of an employee), is that the IC typically enjoys much more latitude in their work. They can show up when they want, quit when they want, take as much lunch-time as they want, don't have to adhere to a dress-code... and as long as an IC is getting their work done with at least satisfactory quality, nothing else matters. Well... guess what PLM did. They hired people on as ICs, but treated them like employees. So, basically, if you were an IC, you were forced to be at your desk (with your own equipment, by the way) at 8am, and not leave before 5pm. You had to adhere to their dress code (no jeans, except on Friday). If you actually took a lunch break, like any human being with a shred of dignity does, you weren't doing your job "the purple way" (see below). Oh, and if you ate lunch in 5 minutes, and worked through the rest of the day without billing for it... guess what... nobody cares. Apparently they just expect you to do that. So, basically, you got all of the burdens of an IC, and none of the benefits of an employee. PLM has had the Texas Workforce Commission called on it more than once. The one that really sticks out in my mind, is when management collected all of our name-plates from our desks right before the TWC was supposed to be there. It should tell a person something, when management in a company is willing to go so far to break the law, and commit fraud, just to screw its employees/ICs. Project managers: these guys and gals were the only good thing that company had going for it. I had the privilege of working for some great project managers, and also some crappy ones. I'd say that's a typical working experience. But guess who PLM takes a huge crap on.... the project managers and reviewers. PLM simply did not know how to treat people. The landmen were the life-blood of that place, and the project managers were the heart that pumped that life-blood. When you treat those people like garbage (not paying them a decent salary, terrible medical insurance, no retirement incentives, etc), the good ones generally leave. "Oh well... as long as we have more bums, we're in business !" Management: I have no personal knowledge of how the management was selected at PLM. But, best I can tell, the management are just a bunch of the company owners' college drinking buddies. I'm not sure exactly what they do, but I do know they're paid a lot more than the people that actually power that company. Don't believe me ? Ride in one of their cars to one of their houses. If the thought "wow. I guess this is what my work is going towards" doesn't occur to you, PLM wants you in their ranks. Management was loud, obnoxious, and privileged. It is nothing even closely resembling leadership. "The Purple Way": Anyone that has worked at PLM will tell you that this motto/mantra is everywhere in that company. The "leadership" in this company will relentlessly hound you with the statement that you should "always give more than you take". It sounds pretty noble, right ? Kinda hits you in the work-ethic department, doesn't it ? Any good employee/IC will naturally want to do right by their employer on their own. Wanna take a guess who does all of the giving, and who does all of the taking at PLM ? The employees/ICs give 100%, and the owners/management take 100%. That's where it ends. And to expect anything different, is absolutely unrealistic. "The Purple Way" was a punchline in that office. Unless PLM starts treating people like actual human beings, it always will be. "The Purple Way" has turned into the dollar-store philosophy. "Why do it right, when you can do it cheap ?" I guess that's what a TCU football "education" yields. A barely-passing grade on a GED exam, with a PhD in how to treat people like crap. Benefits: There are none, in the typical employment sense. Instead of paying their employees a decent wage, providing benefits that any real company does... they take you to go bowling once a year. If you're one of their top producers, you'll get to go to lunch with your slave master once per year, too. PLM cuts corners at every possible opportunity. They don't care about their employees/ICs. You might as well be asking about a benefits package as if you were working in a slave-labor camp in Thailand. Unless you're asking for more work, and no compensation for it, you're out of luck. Lies: I couldn't tell you how many times I caught management lying to its subordinates. This was one of my favorites: "We got an email from the owners of the parking lot next door. They're going to start charging everybody that parks there. So if you want a good parking spot, you might want to get to work at around 7:15, maybe 7:30 at the latest to get a decent parking spot". Now, like we discussed before... as an employee/IC of PLM, you can only bill for an 8 hour day. It doesn't matter if you started working at 7am, worked through lunch, and worked until 6pm (because that's when the traffic kinda eases up). You're still only being paid for 8 hours. I worked in that office for well over a year, so I knew a lot of people that worked in that building. Naturally, I asked around, to see who all got that email from the neighboring parking lot. NOBODY got that email. Seriously, there were at least a dozen other offices in that multi-story building, and NONE of them got an email about parking in the adjacent lot. It was PLMs way of trying to get its employees/ICs to show up at least a half hour earlier, without paying them for that extra work. If you're willing to work for a company like that, I have news for you.... the economy isn't that bad anymore. Go get a job anywhere, and it's better than being deceived for the sake of being taken advantage of. If they're willing to lie about that, imagine what they're doing that you DON'T know about. Overall: Working for this company was one of the most disappointing experiences of my entire life. It was absolutely the most soul-sucking job I ever had. I dumped heart and soul into that place, and it was met with purposeful indifference. As long as their 7-series BMW payment was being made, they didn't care. If you have any talent at all with title, DO NOT APPLY AT PLM. I have never spent so much time and effort in doing work at a company, and been crapped on in such fashion. Working for this company with any expectation of promotion or advancement is a pipe dream. I guess that would be fine, if they were honest about that fact from the beginning. But they're not. They'll throw their own mothers under a freight-train, just to get that extra few hours out of you. Run hard, run fast, and run far away from this sorry excuse of an employer. Seriously, if you think your application at the Exxon station as a graveyard shift cashier in that bad part of town looks promising... it's still better than working at PLM.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-01-07
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Miserable place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with one of the Sr. project managers there. He was very helpful and friendly.

    Cons

    Be prepared to work long hours for very low pay! They treat contractors like regular employees, expect you to be in the office to sit in their "bull pen" and micro manage you. They are so desperate for work they take on any outrageous time frame the client demands and pass it down to the contractor. They want constant updates, updates on updates, and ride you non-stop. The worst thing about Purple is that they will hire anyone. If you don't catch on to their complicated processes extremely quickly then they cut you lose. There is no training and development. They expect landmen to train other landmen with no incentive or day rate increase. The management doesn't have the slightest clue how to manage a crew of landmen. I would be shocked if the office still exists a year from now. The day rate is probably the lowest in the industry.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-01-10
  6. Helpful (6)

    "LOW PAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management

    Pros

    There are no pros working here.

    Cons

    They need experienced people, especially reviewers. The reviewers they have, do not know what they are doing.

    Purple Land Management2017-12-14
  7. "Great changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Purple has really stepped up in the last couple of months. They have really taken the time to look at some much needed changes. With all the managers in place, I know I'm in the right place to grow professionally.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2017-11-09
  8. Helpful (7)

    "A paycheck until the next job offer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -They hire without experience. -Sometimes they'll buy you lunch. -As with any company, good people work here. -it's a paycheck until your next job offer.

    Cons

    -No training at all. No company wide training, no one on one training, no small group training. Nothing. It's not important to Purple. You'll be lucky if you receive all the instructions for a project... Which you won't... -No project management. Projects are thrown out there and a plan of action is created about mid-project. Then you'll go back and have to fix templates, entries, research, etc. -inexperienced management. Look up the "leadership" page, no one has professional or real oil and gas experience. Working at Purple since college is not real experience. -Terrible pay and benefits. Don't expect affordable insurance for your family, a raise, or time off. 10 days of PTO and no flex schedule makes it difficult to be a responsible adult and work here. -Questionable behavior. It's not ok for anyone in management to ask for gossip from employees, but it happens here. -You better be a favorite to get anywhere. Favorites are given preference and leadership roles despite their inability to perform and lack of knowledge. -Extra points if you are male. My experience here was that males were given preference over women. -Upper and middle management- Majority white males. Not many minorities and no minority women at all in management. It's very sad to see the lack of diversity. -Employees don't matter. Sorry, employees just don't matter. Only head counts, hours spent sitting in your chair, runsheet counts, and billable hours matter.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2017-09-11
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Amature, shoestring operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Canonsburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stepping stone at best. Less than professional environment. Low day rates. No real organization of roles. Kind of a scatterbrained approach to everything!

    Cons

    Cluttered less than professional environment led by shady get as much as I can for as little as possible local Mgmt.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2017-08-08
  10. "Great place to work. Friendly management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Landman in Canonsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and willing to train. Management is supportive and understanding of work life balance. Job security.

    Cons

    The benefits are not great. Salaries are okay maybe a little low but fair. No match on 401k and only 2 weeks pto

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2017-05-01
Found 88 reviews