Purple Land Management "no training" Reviews | Glassdoor

Purple Land Management Employee Reviews about "no training"

Updated Feb 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
40%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Purple Land Management Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer Bryan Cortney (no image)
Bryan Cortney
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "This gets your foot in the door of the oil and gas industry(in 10 reviews)

  • "Little to no experience required, with a great training program offered(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "They expect landmen to train other(in 16 reviews)

  • "There is no training and the pay is very low(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no training"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Landman sweatshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Oklahoma City, OK
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no company pros.

    Cons

    Management is inept, and they basically run a landman sweatshop. There is no training and the pay is very low.

    Purple Land Management2019-02-18
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Its a check"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Cannonsburg, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -If you're new to title then you'll get a crash course in basic runsheet building, MOR and might see a wide variety of work in a short period of time -If you're not planning on being there a long period of time and just need a check for rent, it'll work. -Everyone else is in the same boat you are

    Cons

    *cracks knuckles* -This company pretty much gets by providing at best average to woeful title work by hiring inexperienced people and then recycling them over a period of roughly a year. To do this they pay beneath the industry standard and excuse that by providing employment benefits which are pretty measley. This includes only 10 PTO days which do not roll over or accrue. -In terms of the work, this is not comprehensive title. Their process essentially involves each segment of a project being done as a link in a chain, handed off for review and then squabbling because often times the over worked reviewers don't have an in depth knowledge of the title. More often, they essentially correct formatting to the clients demands. The clients know that the quality of work they're getting isn't great and usually use this as a jumping off point before handing it to more experienced people. -Management essentially view themselves as kings of a castle but in reality they're kids with plastic crowns in a pillow fort. They stalk the bullpen like middle school teachers searching for children to give detention slips to, which is additionally strange because the office is so silent you could tell if anyone was talking anyways. Management gets paid according to how many billing landmen are beneath them so they have pretty public disagreements about how many serfs are proportionately assigned. There's also a lot of unsubstantiated gossip in the office about inappropriate working relationships between certain people in management and those under them. -You have to pay roughly a hundred bucks a month for parking close to the office. A little further away and its 40 but you half to walk about half a mile. It won't be reimbursed, just the cost of "giving more than you take". You have to clock in and clock out for start, lunch and end of day. They say you can get there as early as 6 but if you leave any time before 5:30 regardless you can feel the project manager's beady little eyes on you. Upper management usually gets in anywhere between 9 and 10, takes a 2 hour lunch and leaves when they feel like it. Some are there more than others. -In summary, there's no upside here. From the beginning, there's no training for those new title because they don't see you as long term. There's a team of about 6-7 project managers that make the day to day go and the management spends most of their time either trying to flex in the office, lying to clients to get new work, or bribing their existing ones to stay. If you get asked to work overtime or weekends, don't. Management has asked people to drive from Midland Texas to eastern Ohio with no liability insurance for projects it wasn't necessary for. They'd never pay for a flight and rental cards on the company cards obviously, they'll just reimburse you a month later if you don't get let go first. They'll cut you after and never give you a bonus check. Don't waste your time investing in them, because they don't invest in you. There are no annual reviews or raises for anyone outside of management or project managers. If you're new to title, use this for 6 months learning and then try to find another broker. If you're experienced it'll pay some bills but if you're there long term, you have a criminal record and no one else will hire you or you're failing your family because you're not getting paid enough.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2019-02-13
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Recommend this job to your worst enemy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The other associates are very nice and kind, they're the only reason I stuck around for as long as I did.

    Cons

    1. First of all, any positive reviews you see are because HR begs people to write nice reviews on this place daily. They are completely made up and fabricated. Every employee I have talked to hates their lives at this company. These nice reviews are fake do not believe them. 2. None of the VP's have any idea what is actually going on with their employees or the work they put in 3. Management doesn't care about you at all and this is reflected in the benefits, the firing/laying off process, and the way you are treated at work. 4. Benefits are basically non existent. There is no 401K matching and only 10 PTO days. Thats it. This covers vacations, sick days, family emergencies, everything. Doesn't matter if you started yesterday or have been with the company for 5 years, everyone only gets 10 days. 5. The firing/laying off process is absolutely ridiculous. Project managers get paid per person on their team. They bring in inexperienced people by the masses, pay them practically nothing, promise raises and NEVER deliver. Then, when it comes time for you to finally get your raise of your end of the year bonus, they make up some BS excuse on why they have to "let you go" to keep more money in the companies pockets. 6. They do not invest in their employees whatsoever. There is absolutely no training, you mostly fend for yourself. Instead of warning you if your production numbers are low, they just fire you on the spot, still with the same BS excuse, they are never upfront on what the real reason is. 7. You are expected to pay for everything. Any travel you do, you pay your own money upfront for. Parking? No reimbursement, only for the Houston office, not even corporate. If you need to access documents online, guess who has to front the money? Hint: its not the company. You do get reimbursed but this is just another example of how they don't care about their employees. They have plenty of company cards but do not allow employees to use it to do the basic functions of their job. Only VP's get that luxury. 8. The atmosphere of the office is unlike anything I have ever seen. No one talks, the office is completely silent. They had to buy white noise machines so you wouldn't be able to hear the sound of a pen drop. Its an extremely weird environment to be in every day. All in all, this company is completely toxic and corrupt. You don't know how draining it is working for a place that doesn't care about you until you are hired on. I'll be absolutely shocked if this place is still in business in 3 years. Management is running it straight into the ground.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-12-05
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Miserable place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with one of the Sr. project managers there. He was very helpful and friendly.

    Cons

    Be prepared to work long hours for very low pay! They treat contractors like regular employees, expect you to be in the office to sit in their "bull pen" and micro manage you. They are so desperate for work they take on any outrageous time frame the client demands and pass it down to the contractor. They want constant updates, updates on updates, and ride you non-stop. The worst thing about Purple is that they will hire anyone. If you don't catch on to their complicated processes extremely quickly then they cut you lose. There is no training and development. They expect landmen to train other landmen with no incentive or day rate increase. The management doesn't have the slightest clue how to manage a crew of landmen. I would be shocked if the office still exists a year from now. The day rate is probably the lowest in the industry.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2018-01-10
  5. Helpful (7)

    "A paycheck until the next job offer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -They hire without experience. -Sometimes they'll buy you lunch. -As with any company, good people work here. -it's a paycheck until your next job offer.

    Cons

    -No training at all. No company wide training, no one on one training, no small group training. Nothing. It's not important to Purple. You'll be lucky if you receive all the instructions for a project... Which you won't... -No project management. Projects are thrown out there and a plan of action is created about mid-project. Then you'll go back and have to fix templates, entries, research, etc. -inexperienced management. Look up the "leadership" page, no one has professional or real oil and gas experience. Working at Purple since college is not real experience. -Terrible pay and benefits. Don't expect affordable insurance for your family, a raise, or time off. 10 days of PTO and no flex schedule makes it difficult to be a responsible adult and work here. -Questionable behavior. It's not ok for anyone in management to ask for gossip from employees, but it happens here. -You better be a favorite to get anywhere. Favorites are given preference and leadership roles despite their inability to perform and lack of knowledge. -Extra points if you are male. My experience here was that males were given preference over women. -Upper and middle management- Majority white males. Not many minorities and no minority women at all in management. It's very sad to see the lack of diversity. -Employees don't matter. Sorry, employees just don't matter. Only head counts, hours spent sitting in your chair, runsheet counts, and billable hours matter.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2017-09-11
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a lot of clients. They have stayed busy in a seriously challenged market. They are moving to a new location.

    Cons

    The president of PLM is stuck in his college football glory days and can't get over it. Too bad he's not as enthusiastic about delivering quality work to clients. The people who have been chosen to run the company are just... inept. Completely inept. If you are a self respecting landman who values your reputation, then run away from this place, and fast. As a company culture, because they are so inexperienced, the management at Purple thinks that they can use one and two-year landmen to do the jobs of ten-year landmen. Using this strategy, they can pay the landmen less and maximize their profit margins. This is also how they secure so many clients- by charging the client less than other brokers. But the bottom line is that the client gets a crappy end product that takes way too long to complete. Because management is so unqualified, there is NO training at this company. None. Inexperienced landmen are given challenging projects with zero direction because the project managers have no idea what they are doing. There are some very bright and dedicated employees and contractors at this company, but unfortunately they won't be getting anywhere. Inept management is completely incapable of recognizing good talent, let alone retaining it. They take advantage of people left and right and bend the law. They treat contractors as employees and they classify employees as exempt when they shouldn't be so that they don't have to pay them overtime. When they expect them to work on weekends, they have to do it for free. They give two weeks of PTO but tell you that if you take your PTO, then you will not qualify for end of year bonus or a merit raise. They roll out bonus and incentive programs that disappear randomly or never come to fruition. They bought a new building and turned the freight elevator into a moving conference room. How is this a good use of resources? What exactly is the purpose of that? Wouldn't it have made more sense to spend this money on something worthwhile?

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2016-03-05
  7. Helpful (12)

    "All Smoke and Mirrors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management full-time

    Pros

    Purple will hire people who are new to the industry so it provides a pathway into a crowded field in a business with high barriers to entry. The offices are clean and well appointed. They promote the company well and have a strong marketing and sales approach which creates opportunities.

    Cons

    The pay is abysmally low. Staying up with student loans and living a modest existence is almost impossible. They pay low rates to beef up profit margins at the expense of their clients, so it is win - lose business model for Landmen and clients. Purple wins and everyone else loses. Management is hostile and aggressive and very inexperienced. No training is offered, so you have to learn from other trainees who only have slightly more experienced. The corporate culture is strange to say the least. It seems like they are in sales mode all the time and with all the purple shirts, shoes, wall colors, etc. it gets obnoxious. . Maybe they should rename the Company -" White" rather than "Purple" since the operation is dominated by white frat boys. Watching this company in operation mode is like watching "Wolves of Wall Street" film. Greed runs rampant and they don't really have values system.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2016-02-21
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Invest more time in training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management

    Pros

    When times are good, everyone is happy and things are more laid back. I'm not saying they don't require you to work hard, but you are allowed to make a few mistakes along the way in the learning process. Management does like to give back and mostly get to know all of the employees.

    Cons

    There is literally no training. If you are new to the business, you come in on your first day and they give you an assignment and just tell you to ask a lot of questions. Meanwhile, new employees don't want to ask co-workers a ton of questions because they are trying to get their work done as well. It doesn't bode well for a comfortable working environment.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2016-01-11
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Grossly Inept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Landman in North Canton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management

    Pros

    The best reason to work at Purple Land Management is to gain experience in the industry in order to parlay that experience in to a position with a reputable broker.

    Cons

    There is no training to speak of. If you are new to the industry, I would not expect guidance from anyone on how to do what is expected of you. If you are not new to the industry, you will recognize early on that the organization is saturated with systematic inefficiencies, incompetent management, passive aggressive, or/and outright rude interpersonal communications, and an "old boys club" culture.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2015-10-06
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Absolutley frustrating! I had to give a star or my review would not have been submitted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Contract Landman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Purple Land Management

    Pros

    Believe it or not - I have learned to investigate employee reviews of a company prior to joining any company. I have also learned to watch my back - those who smile friendly and reply they are checking into your request regarding work turned in - yeah....not quite so friendly.

    Cons

    None, zilch, zip - no training - Not on the work itself nor the system being utilized. I had to call meetings with my supervisor(s) - yep - not sure how many I did have. But when I asked for guidance someone else always showed up with one of my supervisors. Although an attorney, and had worked on a project for three months running title, it was completely different than this play. When I overlooked something which with just a "tad" bit of training would have caught - I was told "YOU DON'T ASK QUESTIONS!" "YOU ARE JUST NOT GETTING IT!" I'm not kidding either my manager had just brushed teeth or was frothing at the mouth. I did ask questions and will admit I did make some errors - but for crying out loud - PROVIDE A LITTLE TRAINING - or if you do not desire to hire someone with such little experience - then do not hire them! Both the company and the individual would be better off. I worked 17-20 hour days just trying to "get it" – understand the system – try to download documents – one page at a time. Seriously - I actually went into my supervisor - well one of them anyway- 10 days before leaving and asked point blank..."do you want me to leave"? "Oh God No! Just relax - stop staying up all night and it will be okay." Nope it was not okay! [By the way, I personally know more than several experienced landman and due diligence professionals who knew my predicament and suggested I send my work to them prior to turning in - however - I did not believe it to be ethical and did not do so.] However, those professionals I have worked with over the years would have shown me in less than half an hour my oversights. I have a legal, (attorney), and highly technical background, (electronic discovery) consequently; when reviewing documents by downloading them - one page at a time - with a system that was not conducive to a large scale review, I offered my experience and expertise to Management. I was rebuffed. When templates reviewed and approved by the Client were disseminated throughout the offices - I immediately pointed out the meta data included the Client's name. I was told it was being "looked into". Did I learn a lot? Yep! Check out employee reviews on a company prior to accepting an offer. Oh, and don't bother calling corporate to try and explain the situation - so the next poor guy will not endure what you have - they do not care and will not return your call.

    Continue reading
    Purple Land Management2015-04-07
Found 14 reviews