Pythian Reviews | Glassdoor

Pythian Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Powerful Pythian!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Transformation Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Pythian is by far the best technology services company I have ever worked with, and I have worked with everyone from most of the big Tier 1 and Tier 2 global technology name brands you would definitely know, to supporting 3rd party vendors, and to a hot new start up in Silicon Valley. * Client satisfaction and the client's desired business + technical outcomes are of the highest priority. From what I have personally witnessed so far, Pythian is consistently doing this better and faster than our competitors. * Pythian technical resources are truly top tier globally. Their level of accumulated knowledge and ability to recall fine details during client calls continues to impress. * The culture internally is positive, transparent, and people are genuinely invested in helping each other with their respective individual career growth goals. I see a future for myself here with our growth trajectory over the next 5+ years. * The employee compensation package is generous and competitive in the market. * Remote work and travel opportunities offer flexibility for me as my siblings and I continue to care for our sick parents. * Learning, questions, and action are all encouraged and rewarded. * Feedback from employees is actually heard and acknowledged by leadership teams, who strive to make logical adjustments to adapt if/where necessary. * The current leadership team is strong, humble, intelligent, and accountable; these are rare traits to find together in today's industry. * All departments across the board deserve a shoutout for executing their jobs at the highest level, and for forming a cohesive company through excellent verbal and written communications.

    Cons

    * Although no company is "perfect" and I would challenge anyone to find a company today that truly is, Pythian objectively does not have many Cons to mention. * Brand awareness and presence could be increased in a certain high-potential geography of the United States. Leadership seems to be actively working on this. * This rarely happens: remote workers can face a double-edged sword sometimes, as it can be more efficient to find the correct person in their office for a quick face-to-face chat about a critical client need than it is to email, text, or call. * Training could be more personalized and/or standardized, as people tend to learn best leveraging the individual methods that are best for them to learn.

    Continue reading
    Pythian2019-10-16

    Pythian Response

    October 22, 2019Organizational Development & Communications Specialist

    Wow! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review! The employee experience is so important to us and we’re happy to hear that you feel we’ve fostered a positive culture where you can freely share ideas, ask questions and grow your career with us. Wishing you all the best.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Micro management and no freedom at work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Administrator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a Global team Options to Work remotely Flexible hours are provided

    Cons

    The company do the micromanagement, monitor every single minutes and every single work/post , do not focus on customer. Company is losing business due to Cloud and Database as service Use 10-20 years old technology for database monitoring and ticketing No-one has any voice for improvement and any suggestions. Work as head down and put tape on mouse, work as a slave.

    Continue reading
    Pythian2019-10-13

    Pythian Response

    October 18, 2019Director of Human Resources

    Sorry to hear you feel this way. A couple thoughts I’d like to share. As a global company, we are continually striving to innovate in order to meet our client needs and provide growth for our people. To help support this initiative, we rely on our team members to share their ideas and feedback through team slack channels, company wide Q&A’s and weekly pulse checks. Nonetheless, the last thing we want is for our people to have an experience that is less than great so if you’d like to continue the discussion, you can contact me directly at hillier@pythian.com.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Its been ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Big Data Architect in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    401k match, travel allowance, training

    Cons

    It's been back to back and stressful. Leadership with no clarity

    Pythian2019-03-04

    Pythian Response

    March 6, 2019VP, Human Resources

    We are glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of our total rewards package for our US employees while you were with us. We truly believe in investing in our employees financially and with continued learning through professional development. Pythian is proud to have been in business for over 20 years, and as the community at large change and grows we must continue to grow and evolve in order to keep pace with the ever-changing market demands. This does include business investment and adaptations to technologies and services at strategic inflection points of our business life cycle which can be stressful as the adaptations take roots. Our CEO & Executive Team are committed to strong global internal communication through this process and host monthly communication sessions to share updates on initiatives to foster an open and transparent culture and help with organizational change. All employees are invited to these sessions. If you’d like to share any additional feedback, feel free to reach out to our VP of HR, Anne Graham at graham@pythian.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Work life balance is tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Database Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you could survive the tough non stop 30 hours on call. You can deal any issues in your following career.

    Cons

    No work balance at all. Give you a real on call experience on 2015: I was scheduled to take on call at Friday 1100pm. And was supposed to pass to another on call DBA who is in South America at Saturday 1100pm. However, this guy didn't pickup. After called him many times I escalate to my manager. The manager first response was: you need continue on call until I would find your backup. Here's the important culture of this company, they really care less about the remote DBA. They charge client $250 per hour. So it's critical you were able to delivery the hours billable hours. This is the most selfish company culture I've ever experienced. My neck was hurt during those two years on call life.

    Pythian2019-01-14

    Pythian Response

    January 17, 2019VP, Human Resources

    We’re sorry to hear that on-call work made it challenging for you to achieve a work-life balance. We can certainly empathize with your example from 2015 and agree that when a team member doesn’t show up for their on-call duty, it puts a strain on the rest of the team. Since 24/7 global coverage is key to our clients, we continuously try to improve our processes and systems. To help with on-call demands, we have a backup team available to assist for such instances. Also, we have provisions and policies to help maintain work-life balance. Each of us has different demands as we try to balance personal and work life so this includes time off for illness, to care for children, a partner, or parents, additional parental and maternity leave, bereavement leave, days off for professional development and volunteering, remote working, and an allowance for self-directed learning. It is important to us to continually build a positive working culture where feedback such as yours helps us to maintain and improve the experience of our team members. If you would like to continue this discussion further, please do email our VP of HR, Anne Graham directly at graham@pythian.com. Thanks, and have a great day.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pythian - A company with a purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel very fortunate to have found this company. I work with a very smart and talented group of individuals whose focus is on the best outcome for our customers. The teams I have engaged with are extremely helpful and supportive and will always make time to help you. Visionary President/CEO and strong executive management team; leader in their field; investing in their employees; key partner with many of the leading cloud technology companies; great managers and co workers. Exciting time to join.

    Cons

    At this time I haven't run into any but I feel comfortable knowing I could discuss the situation internally with my manager.

    Continue reading
    Pythian2018-03-28

    Pythian Response

    June 21, 2018Global Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad to hear your journey at Pythian has been positive! Should you have further comments, please feel free to email us at gudino@pythian.com

    Continue reading
  6. "Best Job, Hands Down!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director US East in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am now part of that small but lucky group of folks who can wake up and say..."I truly love what I do for a living." If you want... **to work with some of the smartest people in the world **to work remotely **to live anywhere in the world you want **to have the best work/life balance you have ever experienced **to be challenged daily to constantly be on your A game **to be careful what you ask for because the answer is always YES **to be able to seriously influence the direction of a company daily through your own actions Then Pythian is for you.

    Cons

    If you don't want..... **to work really hard and be held accountable **to work on different cool projects daily **to have to wear multiple hats at times **to overcome challenges just like every other company in the world has.... Then Pythian is not for you. And thats ok too.

    Continue reading
    Pythian2018-03-06

    Pythian Response

    June 21, 2018Global Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We appreciate your time and feedback! We are certainly happy to hear your experience with Pythian has been this positive. PS: don't forget to share your moments using #pythianlife on social media!

    Continue reading
  7. "I had a great experience (Big Data / Transformation Team)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Big Data Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Huge learning experience Impressive client roster Amazing group of experts Company is great at continuing education/training opportunities. Encouraged/expected to be domain experts Tons of exposure to cutting edge technologies Overall, the company is striving to be at the forefront of Innovation / Technology

    Cons

    Engineering work is great, but hard to move up in org without being onsite (though being onsite is encouraged). Normal challenges that come with remote work.

    Continue reading
    Pythian2018-01-31
  8. Helpful (3)

    "CSM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    --Healthy work environment/culture --plenty of opportunities to grow ---latest on technology ---your voice is heard --I feel empowered

    Cons

    ---submitting work details for 8 hours a day

    Continue reading
    Pythian2017-04-04
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership. The most transparent company that I have ever worked with. Client focused Everyone has an attitude of accountability. A real feeling of caring for the employees.

    Cons

    Fast growth causing organizational stress. Top technical staff getting over worked.

    Continue reading
    Pythian2015-11-19
  10. "QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Ott Town, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pythian for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company , innovative thinking, freedom of speech and ideas to bring to table

    Cons

    Nothing best company -- try to hire more people in automation

    Continue reading
    Pythian2015-11-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews