Pythian Reviews | Glassdoor

Pythian Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Pythian President Keith Millar
Keith Millar
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Visionary company, with a tremendous amount of talented people who love what they do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pythian CEO/Founder is one of the most humble, down to earth people I have encountered. He treats everyone in the company with dignity and respect and truly values and listens to his employees. The company has a a tremendous amount of intellectual talent and thought leadership in the DBA community...therefore making it easy to feel good about selling/promoting their services as you truly feel that you are doing your prospects/customers a favor by assisting them with their various data-centric needs

    Show More

    Cons

    the company is growing very fast and therefore is experiencing typical pains of this sort...implementing new internal systems, workflows, incorporating new positions into diff departments, and establishing best practices...but nothing out of the ordinary for a company going through a transformation of this sort

    Advice to Management

    continue to listen to your employees feedback, investing in training, and promoting internal upward mobility of talents people and the company will grow strong organically

    Pythian2014-10-06
  2. "Industry leader in data and cloud"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undisclosed in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing talent Opportunity to learn Remote work / work from home Opportunity to work for top clients on hard problems in data and cloud HR tries real hard

    Cons

    Can be stressful and intense. Working by the billable hour can be a challenge. Globally distributed teams can feel isolating, must take steps to compensate and accommodate.

    Pythian2019-11-27
  3. "Truly at the cutting edge of technology trends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very strong skill set in Cloud transformation consulting and technical execution but even more so their differentiator from other technology partners is that Pythian really know data. They are all about data. They spend a lot of time thinking about data, they recruit people who are data experts from all over the world. Further more, Pythian is really good at marrying the technology with the business strategy and objectives. This is something that they are passionate about. Pythian focuses on the customer journey which goes far beyond just technology. Its organizational change, its user behavioural change and creating a better customer experience. They have a very strong complete story from strategy and planning to execution to on managed support. Senior leadership team is always willing to get involved and support various initiatives whether it's sales, operations, engineering, project management etc. The support throughout the organization and communications is very strong. Never feel like an initiative is being tackled alone. The unique global delivery model, allows the team to support customers and projects around the clock allowing industry experts to roll on and off projects seamlessly with out adverse effects on the customers project or managed environment.

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing demand requires a need for increased sales and presales resources in certain regions.

    Pythian2019-10-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Special forces of the data world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -The people. Great culture. -Very exciting growth outlook -Great reputation in the industry -Strong leadership -Great Sales compensation potential

    Cons

    Hard to think of a con right now....

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire the best technical talent out there!

    Pythian2019-10-16
  5. "Excellent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture here is one of respect, you are valued for your skillset and everyone has fun while working hard. Given the tools and the support to be successful in hitting sales quotas. Faithful and happy clients.

    Cons

    Keep waiting for the culture of cooperation and helping each other to sour and loving that this has not happened.

    Pythian2019-10-17
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary GREAT benefits Strong commitment and professionalism from peers and senior management Management is very collaborative and adaptive to suggestions Strong working relationships Fun working environment

    Cons

    Need more white wine for Friday socials:)

    Advice to Management

    The quality of work at Pythian is some of the best in the business.

    Pythian2019-10-17
  7. "Pythian is the best company I've have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team The company is always investing in your professional development Possibility to work with some of the greatest technologies available Great salary

    Cons

    I do not have anything to say about Pythian that could be bad

    Pythian2019-10-17
  8. "Pythian takes care of their most precious resource - their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microsoft Data Platform Architect in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As employees, we are treated with respect and dignity. We get many benefits and we are compensated based on performance and years at the company. The projects are diverse and interesting. In regards to career opportunities, the sky is the limit!

    Cons

    Some people may find working from home a con because there is no separation between personal and work time. I personally love it!

    Pythian2019-10-17
  9. "Database Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Consultant in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company culture and tremendous opportunity for career advancement. Work from home option makes work life balance easier.People are friendly and will bend over backwards to get you the resources you need to succeed. Compensation and perks are good.They allocate certain amount every year for training which is very good and keep me learning.Company encourages to learn new technologies. Leadership/Management is approachable and listens to employee. Good place to learn cutting edge technologies.

    Show More

    Cons

    So far I have found none.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Pythian2019-10-18
  10. "Working as a Project Engineer at Pythian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Jalandhar, Punjab
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pythian is a fast paced, challenging, rewarding company that is inclusive, exciting & constantly trying to improve. I really appreciate and thank you so much for all of the opportunities this company has provided me which has not only helped but, is helping me to grow technically, professionally as well as personally. I have learned so much in these past few years (and still learning from this great place), and will never forget the kindness of management and all of my colleagues. Makepositve is just filled with lots of opportunities at every level of career. Awesome people to work with, always ready to help, encourage and support be it technical or personal.

    Show More

    Cons

    Though I believe that there is always room for improvement in anything but thinking of things to improve at Pythian is so difficult because all you see around is a positive culture which makes to neglect anything that doesn't effect you directly.

    Advice to Management

    Lets keep loving the data and making Pythian bigger and better :)

    Pythian2019-10-18
Found 11 reviews