Pythian Reviews | Glassdoor

Pythian Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Pythian President Keith Millar
Keith Millar
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "High turnover, used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good self-training budget program. Talking with the few experts that are still around.

    Cons

    Inconsistent working hours and personal life balance due to many gaps in coverage (turnovers, bad resource planning). Remote workers contributions are often forgotten. The Company has a constant change of heart on basically everything. So don't get too excited about anything new, it might just go away soon or be dead on arrival. Lower management is unprepared and frail (with very few exceptions) . High management is overly optimistic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When people aren't meeting the high bar, don't lower it. There are many tools to raise people's skills (both technically and personally), including for managers as well (i.e. Manager Tools podcasts) Sometimes you need to have the courage to admit that managing people might not be your thing. That's alright, you can get that extra buck doing something else and let the Pros take the lead. Learn and then come back. Bigger is not always better. That growing ($) bar on the monthly profit chart doesn't mean much for everyone else and their families. Growing too fast is a thing. Best of luck for the new CEO. Sincerely.

    Show More
    Pythian2019-09-20
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Micromanagement is too BAD!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Consultant in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As usual from other reviews, Work from home is a great benefit. CEO Paul is very inspirational, Motivating personality. Great support on conferences (financially). Great support for trainings and certifications.

    Cons

    1. Filling 8 Hours per day is painful when there is no sufficient work available within the team. We need to find work from our team or other teams to complete 8 hours, even though its duty of the manager to assign work. 2. Some employees sitting from years, decades and have a very good hold in a company and they can easily blame newcomer. I had a very bad experience with my Manager and Colleague as they are blamed for no reason. God knows well what is happened and unfortunately, management has to listen to one of the employees and blamed me on all the corners. But they will pay/suffer definitely and finally forced me to resign from Pythian. This is really unacceptable and unexpected. 3. Lot of politics 4. To fill the 8 hours time, it will force us to fill wrong time to customers. Else we our salary will be dedcuted or have to pay leaves. This is bad part of the company, I recommend to change the policies. 5. I have seen resources, who fill 2 hours for even 10 minutes of work. Customer finally a big looser.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need to review and eliminate who are sitting in years or decades and doing big politics. Managers should have common sense instead of listening in 1 way. Because employee has to suffer throughout the duration.

    Pythian2019-01-24
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Remote but comes micromanaging of every hour log 2. Google Cloud Partner

    Cons

    1. Benefits are terrible and are getting worse every year 2. Very unprofessional personal 3. Dealing with Finance team or submitting any expenses always ends up in a terrible experience. 4. Resource allocation is poor, you end up working on multiple projects at the same time with a deadline for yesterday. 5. Lack of communication and transparency between teams 6. Terrible, worst internal management system, you will have to manage more than 5 systems at the same time to log track or report time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work for your employees, not for your investors, and you will win in the long term... Nowadays other companies pay more with better benefits and a better work climate.

    Pythian2019-01-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer and amazing place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pythian is a great company to work for. They offer rewarding jobs, good salaries, they treat their employees well and they have their finger on the pulse when it comes to satisfaction of their team. This is one of the rare companies that understands that keeping their employees happy is the key to succeeding. They also have great benefits, allow working remotely, they trust their employees to do their job, do not micromanage (although that may just be my management that was like that), and allow for flexibility when personal situations require flexibility. The CEO also does periodic updates to the whole global team, as well as does ''fireside chats'' where he will discuss any topic that the employees want. I would definitely recommend working there and would return happily.

    Show More

    Cons

    On the negative side, they have gone through some staff reductions in order to restructure and focus on their core, which got some people a bit worried, but they are doing well and are growing again. Other than that, I can't find much negative to say.

    Pythian2018-11-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "anon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good working conditions good employee benefits

    Cons

    bad management decisions high employee turnover

    Pythian2018-11-17
  6. Helpful (10)

    "They're Drinking the Kool-aid while the CEO is selling the company... err, looking for investors.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technologist in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, and free drinks (If local)

    Cons

    It's all glitter, until you look behind the curtain and see how much of a mess it is. Why else would a 20 year old company be in shambles and needing investors? Managers expect miracles from you, but don't give you the time to do it. This leads to poor performance, and makes you look like a complete dolt when you can't deliver. There is too much of a "bro" culture, and low-level employee cliques that are good at sucking up to exec and C levels.

    Show More
    Pythian2018-11-06
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to connect with International employees

    Cons

    Most of the time spent on writing how you did things, high contention of number of hours for clients between the teams

    Pythian2018-11-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Coop Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Remote work, Nice office space, Opportunity to learn from great colleagues.

    Cons

    Lack big challenges. Equally give the chance to all Coop students.

    Pythian2018-08-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Passion and Team Feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for a *very* large company. I've worked for a company with about 10K people. And now I'm working for a company with < 500 people. The feel of the place is far and away the best I've seen in 10 years. My first week, people deliberately chased me down to introduce themselves. I feel welcomed, appreciated, and in the right place. The work is interesting and challenging. The team is diverse and fun. The atmosphere is great. I'm excited to go to work every day.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'm at the main Ottawa lab, and parking is an issue.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work; your passion is infectious.

    Pythian2018-06-06
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Database Consultant in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits - Work from home. - Paid time off: 6 sick leaves, 15 vacation days, 12-17 statutory days (country based), 1 volunteer day, extra 10 days if new baby comes. -Professional development support: 3% over annual salary (this can vary according to your job title) + 2 professional days. - Office allowance: begin with 1500 CAD +500 per year - Speaking engagement support: 3000 CAD per year + 50 hours (only for some job titles or tech community leaders). - Paid over time: depend on the team workload. Great teams - People are divided in teams based on the technology they are experts. - Teams have some clients allotted based on the contract size and team size. - People are awesome, most teams really work as a team. - Each team has a team manager and she/he is really close to what everyone on the team does everyday. - There are 7-12 people per team. Company executives - Great visionary guys. - Good partnership programs with AWS, Oracle, Microsoft and Google. - CEO is a really nice guy with a great vision to tech trends and people. - People matters, Pythian has the Pythia index which tracks the balance of men and women in the company. Sales - Great involvement with the sales guys. - Every client has a Customer Success Manager that works with tech teams and the client. We have weekly meetings with the clients to check projects and todos.

    Show More

    Cons

    Tracking time and actions is really boring, but seems to be a necessary evil. Some people work alone on their shifts, which is not good, but seems that the company is trying to fix this. Sometimes the workload gets really low and there is no work to be done to the clients, but we have a target of 85% billable hours to get. We work a lot more than inside any other company because of the billable time targets we need to reach. It should be 8 hours a day, but from these we need to bill 6.8 hours to the client, sometimes it becomes difficult to reach. On-call is not paid extra, but you can take the time off. On-call can get pretty intense and heavy, but if you have a good team maybe someone will be available to help. Sometimes the tools available to work stress more than help.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on the outstanding people. Never forget about the people programs you have, this really makes a difference.

    Pythian2018-05-28
Found 11 reviews