Pythian Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Developer

Pythian Software Developer Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

0.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
Pythian President Keith Millar
Keith Millar
0 Rating
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Pythian for less than a year

    Pros

    Learnt a lot as an intern.

    Cons

    Can't think of any so far.

    Pythian2019-08-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Passion and Team Feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for a *very* large company. I've worked for a company with about 10K people. And now I'm working for a company with < 500 people. The feel of the place is far and away the best I've seen in 10 years. My first week, people deliberately chased me down to introduce themselves. I feel welcomed, appreciated, and in the right place. The work is interesting and challenging. The team is diverse and fun. The atmosphere is great. I'm excited to go to work every day.

    Cons

    I'm at the main Ottawa lab, and parking is an issue.

    Continue reading
    Pythian2018-06-06

    Pythian Response

    June 20, 2018Global Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello! Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your journey at Pythian. In regards to the parking, please note we have shared the feedback with leadership and will explore possibilities of adding more spaces.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "fake job offers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Software Developer in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Pythian

    Pros

    startup environment, remote work is possible

    Cons

    usually send the same excercise on python to whoever applies and once you send it to them you will never hear back..

    Continue reading
    Pythian2018-04-06

    Pythian Response

    April 18, 2018Sourcing & Branding Speclialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us the feedback from your recent recruitment experience and we’re sorry to hear that it did not go as you expected. Pythian is an equal opportunity employer and as part of our audited recruitment process, a technical challenge is sent to the candidates in order to measure their ability to apply their required skills. If this was not your case, please feel free to contact me, I’ll be happy to clarify anything for you. Have a great day and thank you for your feedback! EH (hasbun@pythian.com)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Coop Software Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian for less than a year

    Pros

    A week into my coop and I would say I want to come back and work for Pythian. - Working with an amazing team - Have really flexible hours. - Work from home - Huge Kitchen and Patio, table tennis in the Kitchen. - Friday Socials where there is food and can socialize with other team members - Hands down on of the coolest CEO's ever, Paul. You can talk to him about anything! - Amazing HR Team! Hope to find other great things in the up coming months

    Cons

    I personally like getting a lot of work in a short period of time, this helps me progressive better and learn faster while some coop students may not find that a good thing.

    Continue reading
    Pythian2017-05-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Pythian Web Development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer Intern in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pythian for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours for the internal tools team, I was always able to approach senior team members for guidance and advice. Great company events (board game nights, beer on Fridays, etc) they give out gifts to every employee for Christmas, which was nice.

    Cons

    As an Intern things got slow at times, could have been pushed/challenged more.

    Pythian2015-01-21
  6. Helpful (30)

    "If you want to do your job well, look elsewhere -- that's not allowed at Pythian."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the staff are really great. They know what they're doing, are helpful to others, and respectful when asking for help. There are some exciting projects to work on. But, you'll have to work hard to get assigned to those projects.

    Cons

    Some of the staff are simply incompetent. They survive by leeching off their peers, and management is too detached to notice or deal with this effectively. Management consistently picks the wrong solution, sometimes even for problems that don't exist. Similarly, management seems to have no coherent strategy for which features to pursue -- instead we pursue all of them, poorly. This damages the reputation of the team, which is incredibly demotivating. Projects are regularly dropped at the 80% mark because a new priority has risen to the top -- typically, a political priority. Management seems to be most concerned with ingratiating themselves with their peers than the performance of the team, or delivering the best solutions possible.

    Continue reading
    Pythian2013-07-24
Found 6 reviews