QIAGEN Associate Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Associate Director

QIAGEN Associate Director Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
QIAGEN CEO Peer M. Schatz
Peer M. Schatz
5 Ratings
  1. "A rewarding and diverse work environment with a tremendous sense of unity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great feeling of contributing to make a difference in the health care sector -Agile and strong participation in daily operation -Management understanding of personal life constraints

    Cons

    The only downside would be the challenge of working with an organization with subsidiaries around the world and in various time zones

    Advice to Management

    Continue working at retaining talent and loyal employees

    QIAGEN2019-05-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "QIAGEN, Inc Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Germantown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some of the best people you could work with; Company benefits are quite good.

    Cons

    Siloed decision-making resulting in inefficiencies

    Advice to Management

    Involve stake-holders at all levels of a process before deciding on a course correction (and confirm the stake-holders engaged the input from the actual people doing the work)

    QIAGEN2017-08-07
  3. "A place for hard work, challenges and professional refining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The professional relationships that can be developed are amazing and professionally rewarding. Exposure to many different areas of the business is daily and constant - there is always something new to be experienced and learned.

    Cons

    Resources in some departments are significantly impaired because the understanding of those who can influence change in that area do not seem to comprehend what is required to truly ensure the work is done most effectively. This is not every business area, but is true for some.

    Advice to Management

    I do not work for QIAGEN only for a paycheck. I believe whole-heartedly in our mission statement and do my best every day to make a small contribution in that direction through my work and those who I lead. I also have faith in the Executive Committee that they make decisions they believe are the best overall for the company. We can't be afraid to make changes to grow, be more efficient, be more profitable. I think for...

    Show More
    QIAGEN2016-11-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN

    Pros

    Not much, unfortunately. Good Manager, nice colleagues.

    Cons

    Low pay, low 401K contribution, high turn over.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the people who actually do the work and listen to them when they tell you that something is wrong about the lack of resources

    QIAGEN2016-02-18
  5. "Amazing Growth Potential where hard work is rewarded and recognised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Director in
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to accelerate career Hard work is recognised Growth opportunities Strong leadership development Global Diversity program

    Cons

    Salaries need to be bench-marked more accurately with diagnostic industry

    Advice to Management

    Considerable improvements to still be made in developing and retaining top female talent

    QIAGEN2019-06-20
  6. "Interesting times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Hilden
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    New management is focussed on the numbers and outcomes. Information sharing is quite open now. Key figures shared on a regular basis. Colleagues are amazingly friendly, proactive and hard working and make up for the fact that processes and systems don't work.

    Cons

    Has a habit of taking a holistic view all the time and trying to solve every problem as a global problem. People end up walking in circles and not coming to a decision

    Advice to Management

    Get the culture more focussed on the right outcomes. Stop wasting time and building the brand. Get some power on the ground with more action not initiatives.

    QIAGEN2015-11-13
  7. "Overall good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director Sales in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong teams and a very positive working culture and attitude. Most managers are encouraging and opportunities are available for those who are willing. Q has a strong pipeline, strong products and very high brand value, which makes it motivating to work for the company and follow the overall vision.

    Cons

    Segmentation in some areas don't make to much much sense and lead to internal struggles in the past.

    QIAGEN2013-10-21
Found 7 reviews