QKids Reviews | Glassdoor

QKids Reviews

Updated September 17, 2018
248 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
CEO
0 Ratings

248 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "There are some technical issues but that is expected" (in 24 reviews)

  • "The only downside I can think of is that the teaching shifts are primarily in the early morning hours during the week (6:40 AM to 8:30 AM EST)" (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (30)

    "An Incredible Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Greensboro, NC
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at QKids part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    QKids offers great part-time hours that allow you to finish teaching every early in the day.
    The QKids staff is amazing, and I cannot rave enough about how wonderful they treat their employees and how kind they are to work for.
    The children are very sweet and enjoyable to work with.
    With small classes, it's very easy to interact and provide one-on-one attention during class.
    There is no lesson planning or grading-a teacher's dream!
    This job has great (and consistent) pay and scheduling.

    Cons

    Although it's not really a con, I wish I could teach more classes! With the time difference, teaching four classes a day is standard. It is perfect as a part-time position though!
    Also, once in a while it can be a struggle to be engaging at 6am, but it is definitely worth it.

    Advice to Management

    You have been such a blessing to me, and I am very grateful for the consistent and kind manner in which you interact with your teachers. Keep it up!

    QKids Response

    Mar 20, 2018 – BD

    Thank you so much for the input! We appreciate your support very much.


  2. "Wonderful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Little Rock, AR
    Current Employee - Teacher in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at QKids part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome staff, trainers, everything. Laid back.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

  3. "SO FAR SO GOOD!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher
    Current Employee - Teacher
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at QKids part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Easy. No grading or lesson planning. Very fun engaging platform. Ways to check how much you have earned and the bonuses you get.

    Cons

    Early in the morning.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in New York, NY
    Current Employee - English Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at QKids part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You can work from home and basically set your own hours. I have a full time job so the times actually fit well with my schedule. The staff is always helpful and understanding when things come up, and you can not attend a lesson. The kids are usually eager to learn, and as a result easy to teach. Lessons are all prepared by the company, so only minimal prep work is required.

    Cons

    There are some technical issues from time to time with the program, but they have been improving lately. During the off- peak season it can be harder to get a full schedule, but as I have another job it is not really an issue for me. So I would not recommend Qkids as a sole source of income. You do need some flexibility as weird things can happen during lessons, and on occasion you will have a very young child who does not want to be there.

    Advice to Management

    No advice, I think they do a good job of reading taking criticism and adjusting their policies accordingly. As an example, the change from the often complained about number rating to the feedback tags.

    QKids Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Marketing Representative

    Thank you so much for your valuable input! We truly appreciate all your efforts and your understanding of our company! We are constantly striving to better our platform and service for our dearest... More


  5. "I have been working with QKids for about a month and I am really enjoying it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QKids part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, teaching assistance, technical support throughout classes

    Cons

    Time difference increases the time between correspondence, but other than that everything is great!

    QKids Response

    Sep 9, 2018 – Marketing Representative

    Thank you so much for your honest comment! We truly appreciate all your efforts and devotions to our Qkids Family!!! Happy teaching~~~


  6. "Great for Part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at QKids part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love what I do I am a part time English teacher. I am paid 8.00 per 30min or 16hr and you get 2 bonuses a week for attendance and for review. This is a 1099 based employment paid monthly pay period ends on the 30/31 and you should receive you pay by the 15th more than likely earlier depends on you bank or method. I received my first pay through paypal the first week of the month. Hope this helps

    Cons

    Communication when it comes to your schedule one min you are told their is not any availability for you and then you miss a day of work. So always check you portal

    Advice to Management

    Advise employees that you do not submit in email about schedule educated to always check portal.

    QKids Response

    Sep 9, 2018 – Marketing Representative

    Thank you so much for your honest comments! We appreciate all your devotion and your suggestions! We try our best to schedule classes in advance - The schedule for the following week will on our... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "I Love Qkids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Rocky Mount, NC
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Rocky Mount, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QKids full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They are so easy to work with. The staff is very friendly!

    Cons

    I'm finding it hard to get the hours I need since the regular school season has begun.

    QKids Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Marketing Representative

    Thank you so much for your valuable input! We are always striving to better our platform and service for our dearest teachers! We appreciate that you understand the decrease in student signups when... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good for some holiday cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends

    I have been working at QKids part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You create your schedule and you get to work from home.

    Cons

    Some of the children do not participate or can be bratty and disruptive to the other children. For example, one child would just yell everything and another just kept making faces into the camera.

    QKids Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Marketing Representative

    Thank you very much for your honest comment. We are grateful that you put great efforts into teaching. The behaviors of students vary from person to person. Teachers do need to adapt while teaching... More


  9. "Excellent way of working from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher
    Current Employee - Teacher
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at QKids part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The biggest advantage of working here is that you feel you’re doing a job that’s actually important. The kids are super cute, and I feel excited when I see their progress! The software and curriculum make teaching easy. Working from home is also a huge benefit—no commuting costs! Additionally, the staff is super understanding and accommodating; I’ve felt very accommodated and I’ve managed a great work/life balance working at Qkids.

    Cons

    Sometimes updates create technical difficulties in the software. Additionally, the hours are very, very early, which can sometimes be hard to maintain, especially if you work 6-7 days a week. Occasionally, some students can be uncooperative, and there’s not a real way of addressing that.

    Advice to Management

    You have changed my life! Thank you for everything!

    QKids Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Marketing Representative

    Thank you so much for your sincere comments! We are constantly striving to better our platform and service for our dearest teachers like you! We are in the progress of creating more hours for our... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Cute kids, harsh reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at QKids part-time

    Pros

    The kids can be super cute and you feel like you’re helping them succeed while enabling them to have fun.

    Cons

    On the other hand some kids can be hard to handle and their parents give harsh reviews even though you feel like you’re putting a good amount of effort in. The hours are weird (5 am-9am on the east coast) but it’s a good side gig if you’re up for that.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees the benefit of the doubt

    QKids Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Marketing Representative

    Thank you so much for your suggestions! We appreciate all the efforts you put in the classes! We do have a quality control team of experienced coaches to assist teachers whenever they get harsh... More


Showing 248 of 287 reviews
Reset Filters