QTS Reviews | Glassdoor

QTS Reviews

Updated August 1, 2017
141 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
QTS Chairman & CEO Chad Williams
Chad Williams
84 Ratings

141 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Free coffee is good and the 25 cents candy is cool (in 11 reviews)

  • This was a great organization with good people and incredible executive leadership (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • Obvious power struggles exist between executives and upper management (in 12 reviews)

  • Very little to no opportunity for advancement among existing employees, especially in Operations area due to un-trust (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (7)

    "Great Company, Great People, Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QTS full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work Life Balance
    Growing company creates new opportunities
    Great Leaders that care about the employees
    Continuous effort to make work more enjoyable, encourages employee feedbak

    Cons

    Understanding who is doing what, not all job titles carry the same workload

    Advice to Management

    Keep individual dialogue with employees to understand their concerns, not all employees open up in a group setting.

    QTS Response

    May 5, 2017

    This feedback is incredibly timely! We just kicked off a big initiative to help ensure we are aligned across all locations when it comes to job titles and compensation. This is an important part of... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "The only Female DCO Tech in the entire company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DCO Tech II in Jersey City, NJ
    Current Employee - DCO Tech II in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QTS full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Been working for QTS since they acquired Globix with grandfathered time I have a total of 16yrs I have seen way to many people come and go. QTS team has became my family I spend more time at my job than I do at home and to all those complaining about this that and no other stay out of all the office gossip the grass is not always greener on the other side I can complain sure, but I do my job forget about everyone else and give it my best every single day I don't know about any other site but here at JCY our Boss is awesome and if we encounter any problems we exercise The change of command we try to solve it amongst ourselves if that is not successful we go to our boss Mike G and it usually ends their. When projects come along we put all differences aside and ensure that the customers needs are met at 100%

    Cons

    I feel sometimes there is a lot of favoritism , not enough recognition for us little people. The EAGLES club seems to be for upper management only . Get up to date with Pay and bonuses should not be added to pay

    Advice to Management

    I have major respect for the Management team I deal with all the time and they are all awesome
    Mike G, Dave R, Jim R, Dwight D, Jessica L, you are the most caring group of people I have ever dealt with Keep up the good work guys!

  3. Helpful (6)

    "Good company with heart, quality products, and caring folks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QTS full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    QTS is a good company with heart, quality products, and caring folks. Just like a lot of places, sometimes the politics of 'getting ahead' or 'protecting my turf' get in the way of progress and growth. That's unfortunate but people are people I guess. The good thing is the culture tends to win out and the company does make the right decisions for the right reasons the vast majority of the time. That's really important!

    The company has seen explosive growth so if you are a go-getter you have a great chance to be successful and grow with the company. If you need rigid structure and process to perform your job, you'll quickly see the holes that you have to fill in yourself to be successful. That can lead to frustration, confusion, re-work, and sometimes turn-over.

    It has the feel of a family start-up with sound financial backing. I think that's what makes it fun and exciting - others may disagree. Technology is moving so fast these days I don't know if QTS will ever catchup to being an automated-process heavy enterprise. Perhaps it's better that way, anyway?

    Cons

    Sometimes the wrong people are hired or the wrong decisions are made that aren't a good culture fit. These setbacks hurt growth and morale.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe flip from trying to fix process to embracing entrepreneurial chaos. Harness the start-up mentality and hire people who think like that and let them loose. Perhaps that will unlock talent and innovation. At least in certain segments of the company

    QTS Response

    Jul 14, 2017

    This is great feedback and insight! It sounds like you've already embraced the 'chaos' that can sometimes accompany such rapid growth and are thriving! I couldn't agree more that there are so many... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "QTS is powered by people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QTS full-time

    Pros

    People, people, people! I have never had the pleasure to work with such a great group of people. It really does start at the top. From the CEO down to the interns on site nearly everyone is genuinely happy to assist other QTSers. The culture is the best part of the company and QTSers live the core values of the company.

    Cons

    As with any colocation data center there are times of stress and heavy workloads. The upside to that is work life balance is a real thing at QTS and doing community events and team building events makes the stressful aspects of the job balance out well.

    Advice to Management

    Please keep hiring great people and keep this world class culture trending upwards!

    QTS Response

    Jul 17, 2017

    We love our people too and believe that we could not be successful without the true talent, dedication and team work our employees exhibit every day. We will continue to look for the best of the best... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QTS full-time

    Pros

    QTS is poised for long-term growth as its business sits at the intersection of cloud evolution and the ongoing creation of massive amounts of data by nearly every company in the US. The spirit of innovation runs throughout the organization and employees are empowered and enabled to excel at their jobs. In addition, I have never worked at a company that cares more about its employees from top to bottom than QTS.

    Cons

    QTS continues to enhance its overall benefits package for employees, but still has room to improve. The recent discounted ESPP was a welcomed addition!

    QTS Response

    Jul 14, 2017

    Thank you so much for the positive feedback. I'm glad to see you are excited about our growth and the opportunities that creates for our employees and customers. I hope you took the benefits survey... More


  6. "Good Company With Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QTS full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work besides. Decent benefits and very family oriented. Challenging on a daily basis so there is never a dull moment. Always looking for feedback from employees and very involved in supporting charities

    Cons

    Hourly rates for data center technicians are low compared to other companies.

    Advice to Management

    Review market research for salaries for all levels of hourly employees in the Ashburn, VA market and compare desired skills against the market, not just entry level rates.

    QTS Response

    Jul 14, 2017

    Thank you for the feedback. I'm not sure if you are aware, but we are currently working through a project that will address your concerns. I'll be providing an update at our August People Rally … so... More


  7. Helpful (7)

    "Looks good on the surface but rotten below. Don't be fooled."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Sandston, VA
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Sandston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at QTS full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I work with some good people that I have learned a lot from and had a few training opportunities. Most of the hourly workers will try to teach you if you put for the effort.

    Cons

    Trust nothing from anyone with the title manager in their job title. The will lie to you and against you. Don't be fooled by the powered by people stuff or how much family is important. They care only about the management team and those that will do anything to keep the management team happy. I feel like I have wasted years of my life at this company and I am working on leaving right now. Please don't make the same mistake. Most of the positive reviews on here come from the HR department and management trying to rise the companies scores on here because it looks bad when customers and potential employees look on here and see what's really going on at qts. I also like how they are having all these high level people responding to the reviews on here when they mostly have no idea what really goes on doing the day to day operations. I don't think the want to know is the bad part. They just keep listening to the lies they are fed. I can't wait to see what kind of blanketed company response this review will get.

    Advice to Management

    If you really want to make a change you have to break down the wall there is between management and the workers that make the business run on the day to day. Management is not always right! The sooner the company learns this the better off they will be. Get rid of all the "yes" men. If an idea is good should it matter if it came from a worker or management? If an idea is bad does it all of a sudden become good because it came from a manager? The company has lost some good people here at my site over the last year and people are still trying to leave because of the problems I listed including me.

    QTS Response

    Aug 8, 2017

    QTS absolutely is powered by our people and we consider our employees a part of our family. But like any family, there will always be those who choose to look for the negative and refuse to take... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Wolf in Sheep's Costume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Suwanee, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Suwanee, GA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at QTS full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Looks great from the outside - beautiful buildings and they talk the talk. There are some amazingly talented, hard-working individuals, who want to make a difference and want to help the newcomers.

    Cons

    Those people are few and far between. Most are trying to keep their heads down while doing the minimum necessary to get by. Then, there are the managers, who generally have no idea how the workers do their jobs, they just know that the workers need to work harder. Not sure if having this company listed on your resume is worth the soul-selling required.

    There are NO procedures, NO documentation, NO training. Jump into this pool and pray you can swim faster than whirlpool of people leaving.

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to quote "Powered by People" then actually believe, encourage and live that belief. Managers only hearing what other managers say becomes an echo chamber that accomplishes nothing.

    QTS Response

    Aug 8, 2017

    Powered by people is not something we 'quote.' It's not a tagline. It's who we are! And for those who lift up their heads and engage with our amazing people and volunteer opportunities, the culture... More


  9. "Decent place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QTS full-time

    Pros

    Decent place to work, nice ppl and growing company

    Cons

    Promotions are based on who you know

    QTS Response

    Jul 14, 2017

    Thank you for the feedback. I can assure you as someone who joined QTS as part of an acquisition, I have worked my way through the ranks at QTS based solely on my hard work, dedication and... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QTS full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    amazing team and culture. they provide an excellent balance and flexibility

    Cons

    I can't think of many!

    QTS Response

    Jun 23, 2017

    Thank you for the positive review! We're glad you chose to be part of the QTS family and look forward to continued success together.
    Scott McTague, Director of Talent Management and Engagement


Showing 141 of 145 reviews
Reset Filters