KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Qkids

Is this your company?

Qkids

Add a Review

Qkids Qkids Online ESL Teacher Reviews

Updated Oct 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 654 reviews

4.5
80%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Qkids Founder Xutian Fu (no image)
Xutian Fu
4 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,873

959 Comments

Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Qkids and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor

    Great Company

    Oct 25, 2021 - Qkids Online ESL Teacher in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun, interactive job. The students were great and kept the job interesting.

    Cons

    regulations made it hard to continue teaching

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Contractor

    Great company

    Mar 13, 2021 - Qkids Online ESL Teacher in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything was good and fine

    Cons

    Not enough hours to get full time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great part-time opportunity

    May 4, 2021 - Qkids Online ESL Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The support team is kind and accomodating.

    Cons

    Challenging hours as you have to be ready to work early in the morning/late at night

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Flexible

    Mar 2, 2021 - Qkids Online ESL Teacher in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, small class sizes, class availability

    Cons

    Working Beijing hours can be difficult

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Contractor

    Very flexible

    Oct 4, 2020 - Qkids Online ESL Teacher in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely flexible schedules and classes are easy to follow.

    Cons

    Must have strong ping at all times. If your ping is not up to par you will NOT be hired.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Great side gig -- WONDERFUL inspiring kiddos

    Aug 26, 2020 - Qkids Online ESL Teacher in Vincennes, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    you get to see cute kids every day first thing in the morning.

    Cons

    the class times are very early and very late.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company i've worked for! Flexible hours and friendly staff!

    Apr 27, 2018 - Qkids Online ESL Teacher in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, excellent platform that is super fun! I love teaching in the platform and the kids do as well! Very interactive and overall a great company to work for. Great interview process, the staff are so laid back that you won't feel nervous at all. Very understanding. They offer many other ways for you to make extra cash like contests and summer camp is fun. I have so many great things to say but I rather you join than read my review because I can go on and on and on :)

    Cons

    I wish there are more hours so I can do this full time :)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Qkids Response

    Marketing Representative

    We truly appreciate your sincere comment and constant support! We are glad that you love teaching with Qkids. We will add more hours during summer time and Chinese winter break. Thank you again for your devotion!!

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Comfortable place to work

    Apr 13, 2021 - Qkids Online ESL Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, positive employers, work on your own time

    Cons

    Pay could be better other than that no complaints

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Do NOT Recommend. Lots of awful parents, ill-behaved children, and non-helpful staff

    Jan 13, 2021 - Qkids Online ESL Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some of the children were sweet and eager to learn. - Remote job.

    Cons

    Lots of ill-behaved children. They'd come to class sticking their tongue out at the camera, there was a mother bathing her child on camera during class :-/, children having full blown tantrums and when you'd contact the staff, they'd do nothing to help. If there were IT problems, I couldn't get a hold of the staff 4/5 times. So sometimes the student would miss the class because they couldn't understand my physical actions to turn on their sound/camera or go get their parent(s). There were children who'd come to class and not want to learn or shout over me so I couldn't teach the other children who actually wanted to learn. There were children who'd come to class and not want to speak at all (no, it wasn't due to shyness or not knowing the language. They simply didn't want to participate) and that wasn't possible since it was only my and either them or them and another student in the class. Someone has to talk other than me :-/. It didn't matter what I did, they refused to speak. Some of the lessons are waaay too short. It didn't matter how I tried to stretch out the lessons nor how many times the students would repeat it, they were too short (especially when the students had an advanced level). I've always wondered how these students advance to the next level because there would be students at level 5 for example who couldn't speak a stitch of English. They never understood anything I was saying, yet they were at a level 5. Please make that make sense. :-/ This company doesn't care about actually teaching children English. They just care about the money and satisfying the parents, i.e. turning teachers into clowns who entertain the children. It's all performative. Never mind the fact that many of the slides have incorrect grammar and misspellings. They don't care about that because they just want the dollar bills. A lot of the children's parents would talk over me when I was explaining the lesson or teaching their child new words/expressions. If I tried to correct their pronunciation, their parent was telling them how it's to be said or answered. :-/ Let's not forget these are Chinese parents who do not speak English. I kept asking myself, "Why is your child(ren) in this class if you know how to speak English? Why not just teach them yourself?" Of course it's because they DON'T speak English. They were always wrong and it was frustrating when I'm trying to teach their child, you know, do my job, and they were jumping in providing incorrect information. I'd also have to witness parents berating and scolding their child right in front of me, which was disgusting and hard to watch, especially since the child was trying. Learning a second language isn't easy, especially when you're only exposed to it for 30 minutes or 1 hour from a native speaker per day, not to mention you have a bunch of non-native speakers trying to speak the language to you and doing it so poorly it starts to confused your head. There's so much more I could write, but I'll stop there. This job was awful and made me start to hate teaching. Something I've done for 4 years before I signed up for this company and had excelled at. Teachers and students alike have always praised me for my teaching skills, ability to manage the classroom, and friendliness towards students, but geez, this company sucked me dry. It was absolutely awful. The hours also blow and it sucks that you have to constantly perform like a clown instead of teach in order to get every parent to like you so you can get your performance bonus. This company is honestly a joke. There are so many other better online ESL companies out there that pay better and support you better as well. Stay away from Qkids.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Exciting place to work but consider how it aligns with your timezone...

    Dec 26, 2020 - Qkids Online ESL Teacher in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Clear and effective training program - Great support from staff when tech issues arise - Very easy to use - Internal satisfaction from successful teaching

    Cons

    - 10 minute breaks after each lesson reduce the actual 'hourly pay' since you're not paid for these transition gaps - Difficult if you're in a timezone that requires you to wake super early

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with Qkids Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Qkids? Share Your Experiences

or