KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Qkids

Is this your company?

Qkids

Add a Review

Qkids Employee Reviews about "hour"

Updated Jul 4, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 720 reviews

4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Qkids Founder Xutian Fu (no image)
Xutian Fu
62 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,892

960 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "The hours are difficult to get used to and sometimes you aren’t assigned as many classes as you would like(in 21 reviews)
  • "It is a contractor position, so there are no benefits as an individual is contracted to work with Qkids.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Qkids and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "hour"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    ESL teacher/independent contractor

    Nov 11, 2018 - Independent Contractor in Allentown, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I LOVE that I get to work from home, pick my own hours, AND get up to $20 an hour! The platform is interactive and awesome, the characters are fun, and of course the kids are great! I also like teaching up to 4 students at a time, or having the opportunity to each 1 on 1 regular students.

    Cons

    The hours can sometimes really suck, especially the early ones. Also, during slow seasons I will only get up to 15 classes a week, which is a bummer.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Qkids Response

    Thank you very much for your valuable input. We are always trying to better ourselves in every aspect all the time and we are looking into ways of providing more hours for our teachers. Hope you enjoy teaching as always!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great to work here

    Aug 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working for JiuQu is really wonderful and amazing . I've been working for them for 2 weeks and I've not had problems with management; they really easy to work with and really friendliest bosses I've worked with. And I love and enjoy teaching the kids! They're really fun and so cute , I like teaching the children that can speak a little more English, but I know other teachers who like teachers beginners … more. You'll get every experience. It's also really great part-time pay. Base pay is $16 but super easy to reach bonuses to get $20 an hour. I also move a lot, so it's really convenient and nice to have steady work wherever I go (even though it's just part time). I know I'll always have work and income. It's also great work experience, especially if you want to continue doing ESL work (which I am pursuing). For many, it'll just be part-time work, but it is literally the best part-time work you'll ever find

    Cons

    -Depending on where you live (the further west in the US the earlier you have to get up to teach) it can be very early in the morning, which can be a little rough if you go to bed late. -There can be some minor technical issues with the software. But usually, it's on the students' end. For example, their mics won't work so you can't hear them or their camera's broken so you can see them. It can make things a … little more difficult

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Online EFL Teacher

    Oct 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had to write this review because some of the bad ratings are totally off. I have been working for JQ for a year now and I will be sadly leaving them soon because their awesome reference got me an English teaching position in Japan with a reputable company. Every day I thank God/the universe for this job because it is a blessing compared to minimum wage food service or retail. However, like any job you must be passionate about it which then will show in your skills. Another point I want to make is that no JQ is not 'racist' by hiring 'only white people' because I am not caucasian (white) and I still got hired because of my skills. A lot of the parents and kids seem to love me to (not racist). Any job you do solely for sake of money without passion will equal bad experience. Yes, you're required to log in 5 minutes early to ensure the class is working but don't have to necessarily talk or engage with students until it's time for class to start. I usually log in, go do my own thing and appear on the screen when it's class time so unlike the other reviewer said you don't have to spend extra time with the kids if you don't want to. I usually do at end of class because I WANT to not that I have to. Before class I log in 5 minutees and continue with my break to quickly eat breakfast, go to the bathroom etc. So, the pay is fair. Pros: - great pay per hour -flexible hours -awesome staff (they're very understanding) -kids are so cute and always make my day -I love teaching and I'm good at it so it's fulfilling -fulfilling job (gives me a sense of purpose as opposed to a typical minimum wage retail job) -bonus pay

    Cons

    - Yes, English is obviously not their first language so you will have communication problems with the staff - early mornings so if you're not a morning person it's not for you BUT I was never a morning person and now I am (I am grateful this job has made me into a morning person) -Pay varies (not steady) depending on number of classes which you have no control over -technical problems in class but that is inevitable

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A good, lucrative side-hustle

    Nov 22, 2017 - Online English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is fair ($16-$20 and hour), and hours are flexible. I work as many as 10 hour/week during the school year, 20 hours/week during the Summer.

    Cons

    Hours can be a bit rough. Early classes start at 5:40am.

    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Most positive reviews are fake

    Jul 4, 2018 - Contractor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Kids are nice Classroom assistants are popular

    Cons

    Low pay $16 an hour Kids with toy realistic guns in class Parents who are abusive Negative feedback from parents for kids who login late or are not at the right level.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic work

    May 5, 2017 - ESL Teacher in Rexburg, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working for JiuQu is really wonderful. I've been working for them for over half a year and I've not had problems with management; they really easy to work with and really some of the friendliest bosses (if not people) I've worked with. And I love teaching the kids! They're so cute and so much fun! I like teaching the children that can speak a little more English, but I know other teachers who like teachers beginners more. You'll get every experience. It's also really great part-time pay. Base pay is $16 but super easy to reach bonuses to get $20 an hour. I also move a lot, so it's really convenient and nice to have steady work wherever I go (even though it's just part time). I know I'll always have work and income. It's also great work experience, especially if you want to continue doing ESL work (which I am pursuing). For many, it'll just be part-time work, but it is literally the best part-time work you'll ever find.

    Cons

    -Depending on where you live (the further west in the US the earlier you have to get up to teach) it can be very early in the morning, which can be a little rough if you go to bed late. -There can be some minor technical issues with the software. But usually, it's on the students' end. For example, their mics won't work so you can't hear them or their camera's broken so you can see them. It can make things a little more difficult.

    Continue reading
    51 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Teacher

    Aug 10, 2018 - Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company is amazing to work for! I've worked for them for 6 weeks now, but they've already far exceeded my expectations. I've taught with several different online companies, but this is the only one I would recommend. They pay is very good (I earn about $20 per teaching hour). The staff is incredibly supportive (both for technical help and teaching guidance). The kids are amazing to work with. And the program is second to none! It's incredibly interactive. I think I have just as much fun using it as the kids =)

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Qkids Response

    Marketing Representative

    Thank you so much for your sincere comments~ We are glad to have you in our Qkids family. We truly appreciate your effort, devotion, and support for our Qkids family! Happy teaching~

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    ESL Teacher

    Aug 26, 2017 - ESL Teacher in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've only been with this company for two weeks, but I have SOOO much to say. It's great if you... > Love children. The children are hilarious! > Enjoy correcting obviously improper English. > Want to use fun software with cute graphics. > Have always wanted to work from home. > They are constantly improving because they are still a new and growing company, but they have trainers. Some trainers are good and will listen to you. > If you want set hours, you will get set hours. They pay well per half-hour class and if you do many classes, of course, they will add up quickly. YOu will make $16 per hour before any bonuses. They pay you via pay-pal or direct deposit through your bank. If you do this, don't forget to add your ID. I heard that it will take longer to get paid if you don't. I love this company!

    Cons

    > The summer hours will get to you if you try to take all of them. Taking on these hours will cause you to sleep 4 hours twice a day. Or have you sleep your 7 to 8 hours in the day instead of at night. Sleep split up like that will make you feel strange. > Once the summer hours are over, a number of classes you can get will drop, but you can still make good money. They're working on increasing the hours slightly. > One of the bonuses is contingent on a rating that will either be given by the parent or the student or both. However, some of them may have BS reasons to rate you a 1 instead of a 5. Some of them are confused in thinking that 1 is a good rating. > The parent will put their child(ren) in a class that is too advanced for them and you have to guide them to say every single word on the screen every single time throughout the whole 30 minutes of class. Some will repeat you because they know to repeat you, but not know to read what's on the screen. > You get paid monthly.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    ESL teacher

    Aug 28, 2017 - ESL Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working for JiuQu for about 3 months now and its really a breath of fresh air. Their program has all the lessons loaded on to it, which includes games! The children really love the interactive parts that are added into the lesson. I am always given classes on the times and days that I am available which is great because they are also super helpful and flexible when it comes to me needing time off. Love to open up the classroom and see the smiling faces of children eager to learn, we enjoy many laughs in the 30 minutes we share together. It's also really great part-time pay. Base pay is $16 but super easy to reach bonuses to get $20 an hour. This is the best job I've ever had!

    Cons

    During class when a tech problem arises, it is sometimes hard to get into contact with service desk...this is where self problem solving comes into play and I don't get a response for almost hours later after class is over. The program could have some minor things updated and also some more stickers for the children! They ask for stickers that I don't have(such as animals, cars, and other things of this nature) Wish there was more time slots that could be open for us... some of us are willing to have the late hour time slots! NOT JUST IN THE SUMMER! Also right now we can only see an average number as our rating. It would be nice to be able to see the actual feedback from the parents ourselves rather than having to ask our trainer, who may not get back to us for a bit.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Perfect Gig for College Students

    Dec 10, 2019 - Online English Teacher in Provo, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible hours (you choose when you can teach) - Good pay (about $18 an hour) - Great support to help you succeed as a teacher - Don't have to work too many hours

    Cons

    - Have to wake up really early (5am) - Sometimes its hard to get students involved - You have to have a space where it is quiet and no one will bother you while you teach, but also a place where you won't wake up others when you teach - You only get paid at the end of the month

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Qkids Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Qkids? Share Your Experiences

or