KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Qkids

Is this your company?

Qkids

Add a Review

Qkids Employee Reviews about "pay"

Updated Jun 22, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 250 of over 719 reviews

4.6
92%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Qkids Founder Xutian Fu (no image)
Xutian Fu
62 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,892

960 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "I received another text message asking if I would teach another two classes but no job offer.(in 20 reviews)
  • "It is a contractor position, so there are no benefits as an individual is contracted to work with Qkids.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Qkids and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very Understanding Laid Back Company

    Jun 11, 2022 - Online English Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The staff is very responsive and always willing to help with absolutely anything, from class materials, tech issues, to needing to reschedule/cancel classes. They really go above and beyond. Always friendly. Easy to hit bonuses (see cons below about bonus structure) Flexible Schedule Very easy to follow Pre-planned lessons

    Cons

    The pay/hr is misleading to those interested in the company because you do not actually get paid per hour. You are paid/lesson which is less than 30 minutes. You are not compensated for the short breaks in between classes, So a full 'hour' of pay would actually be a little more than an hour of work. Little incentives or room for career growth. The bonuses are easy to hit but they do not add that much to your pay. That can be disheartening after teaching for months or years and you are still getting the same pay as someone who is a new hire and who also may be a worse teacher. Lessons (especially beginner lessons) become extremely boring. This becomes easier after your first contract since the many of the beginner lessons are put on new teachers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    worked as a teacher over a year

    Feb 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good pay and you pick your time slots

    Cons

    Have had many software issues which causes cancelled classes

    3 people found this review helpful

    Qkids Response

    Marketing Representative

    We appreciate your sincere comment. We are striving to improve the software constantly to provide teachers with a stable platform. Thank you so much for your understanding and support!

  3. 4.0
    Former Contractor

    Good job

    May 3, 2021 - English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good pay, kids are fun

    Cons

    The hours are super early or really late. It’s very stressful to worry about what the parents think and how they will rate you which effects pay.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee

    lower pay than most, pay system is unclear and lesson bonus is rarely guaranteed

    Apr 17, 2019 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good platform, interactive and students are good for the most part.

    Cons

    You can be a very good teacher here and still not get the pay you are entitled to. Unless you get a positive rating from EACH AND EVERY student/parent in the class, you won't get your lesson bonus. That means that you must please every student and parent every time, for each student in every class. While it is possible to be likeable and make most happy, it is not possible to make everyone happy 100% of the time (some kids do not cooperate in the lesson and some parents are unreasonable). Therefore, getting your lesson bonus is not guaranteed. For example, if 3 out of 4 parents liked your lesson you won't get the bonus as feedback wasn't 100% perfect. At Qkids it is also difficult to see how they are calculating your pay. Not straightforward and clear payment system.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Teacher

    Aug 10, 2018 - Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company is amazing to work for! I've worked for them for 6 weeks now, but they've already far exceeded my expectations. I've taught with several different online companies, but this is the only one I would recommend. They pay is very good (I earn about $20 per teaching hour). The staff is incredibly supportive (both for technical help and teaching guidance). The kids are amazing to work with. And the program is second to none! It's incredibly interactive. I think I have just as much fun using it as the kids =)

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Qkids Response

    Marketing Representative

    Thank you so much for your sincere comments~ We are glad to have you in our Qkids family. We truly appreciate your effort, devotion, and support for our Qkids family! Happy teaching~

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love Jiuqu!

    Aug 25, 2017 - ESL Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love everything about working with Jiuqu. The management and staff are extremely helpful, understanding and polite. The children are absolutely adorable and are eager to learn. The pay is good and best of all everything is done from the comfort of your home. As a full time mom to a two year old, its a wonderful opportunity to do what I love and be able to provide for my child.

    Cons

    A few technical difficulties here and there, but its expected. other than that, i have no negative comments to say about Jiuqu.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great work experience

    Apr 25, 2017 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked with JiuQu since November 2016 and I love teaching ESL to the kids. The lessons are all pre-planned, so with just a little review in advance, I feel confident teaching. The pay is more than fair and I love the flexible nature of the job. I can make it work in addition to my regular job.

    Cons

    You will need to adjust to working in a time zone 12 hours ahead of EST, but that becomes easier after a few weeks.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    great

    Mar 24, 2020 - Teacher in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the pay is great and kids are nice

    Cons

    the hours are very early

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love working for JiuQu

    Aug 25, 2017 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This job allows me to stay at home with my son and make some extra money. The hours are great, as I'm done with classes before he's even awake. Communication with management is also wonderful, considering the 15 hour time difference where I'm located. Staff truly care about their teachers and answer all questions. Taking time off is also very easy. Vacation, sickness, or other is easy to take off. They're very understanding and really care about their teachers. The software is easy to navigate and very interactive! The students are also very polite and eager to learn. The pay is really great for how easy and enjoyable this job is. I wish I would have found JiuQu earlier.. it's been a great experience and I plan to stay at this company for a long time.

    Cons

    The software tends to have issues at times. Also, the text box in the classroom doesn't always work. Some students don't know the review material and this can be challenging at times for the teacher. Stickers get old and need to be replaced with new ones in the classroom.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Dont work here

    Feb 6, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is good and its fun

    Cons

    No training what so ever. Classes are 30 mins long. I finished a class in 28 mins and they let me go. I was so mad because they never told me what would happen if you finished early. They suck.

    21 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 250 Reviews

Popular Careers with Qkids Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Qkids? Share Your Experiences

or

Qkids Photos

+ Add Photo
Qkids photo of: Qkids HQ
Qkids photo of: Qkids teacher trip to China&Year-end party
Qkids photo of: Qkids-TESOL Global Partnership Signing
Qkids photo of: Qkids on New York Times Square
Qkids photo of: Qkids on New York Times Square
Qkids photo of: Qkids mascots Koby(left) and Momo(right)
Qkids photo of: Qkids Guangzhou Office Lobby
See All Photos