Qlik "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Qlik Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Qlik CEO Mike Capone
Mike Capone
111 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The Swedish 'roots' only really remain in Lund where even there it is less prevalent than it once was(in 21 reviews)

  • "Thoma Bravo has done good things for this company(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Data Analytics and BI is a booming industry. Qlik has been a long time established leader in the space and has made recent acquisitions to become an end to end integration & analytics platform. The product is best of breed and customers love it. Sales leadership has a new team that is making great strides in growing the business. Pay is competitive and management is supportive and always willing to help. Quotas... are reasonable achievable. With a growing team, there are opportunities for growth. Great work-life balance with a supportive culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing extreme, although back office processes can be a bit convoluted. Things that should be a quick turnaround time can often take days. Typical growing pains that I am sure can easily be resolved as we scale.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Qlik2019-09-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time

    Pros

    Ability to work from home Great work/life balance Good salary and company culture Manager is really looking out for you and helping with career advancement

    Cons

    there are no cons - yet

    Qlik2019-03-30
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great company -- and growing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work culture. Strong work/life balance. Surrounded by excellent people. Executive leadership is growing the company in the right direction, this is resulting in opportunities for people to grow. Leadership in place appears to be "in touch" with the teams and take care of people.

    Cons

    A bit stingy with benefits.

    Advice to Management

    It's all about the people! Don't forget that. Take care of them, grow them, challenge them and reward them.

    Qlik2019-02-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic work/life balance, management cares about you and making sure you are happy. Your thoughts matter to your team.

    Cons

    Nothing that really comes to mind. I work remotely, which is a huge benefit to me. I still feel included.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Qlik2019-01-16
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Turned the corner, momentum picking up..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Superior data and analytics products - industry best end-to-end enterprise solution Incredibly passionate and loyal customers. Good people. Team-oriented culture. People care at Qlik and help each other out. I enjoy everyone I meet and work with. Work-life balance - work remote flexibility is a plus and the culture supports it. Strong partner ecosystem.

    Cons

    Qlik is emerging from a transition after going private several years ago. It experienced the very typical restructuring that it needed to do, but seems to be doing the right things to succeed long term. The employees Qlik needs now are ones that are passionate about its products and willing to work hard to help the company win. No coasting...

    Advice to Management

    Keep sharing the wins. You can see/feel the momentum picking up, the company is beating its targets, etc. Seems like leadership has the right strategy, put the right programs in place, is more decisive and acts/moves more quickly. Be patient and keep reminding employees turning the ship takes time...

    Qlik2018-10-30
  6. Helpful (17)

    "A company without culture or vision has no purpose besides making money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Good work-life balance - if there is anything to gloat about with Qlik, it is the work-life balance. We're a predominantly remote company and therefore so long as you're getting your work done, you have plenty of free time to indulge your personal life and pursue other interests. 2. The Pay - pretty decent compensation and benefits although nothing to write home about. The salary met my expectations and is... competitive with other employers in my area. 3. Choose your own adventure - maybe it's just my experience at Qlik but I feel like they give you free reign to work on passion projects so long as it adds value to the company. This probably has something to do with the limited overhead of a remote work environment but it allows you some freedom to escape the monotony of daily job function. 4. The technology - the company actually has a pretty good piece of software that can do some cool things with analytics. I'm constantly surprised by the product and what it's capable of doing for our customers.

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Sterile Corporate Culture - when I originally came to Qlik, they spoke so much about our 'Swedish' roots which drove our corporate culture. Although that may have been true in the past, Qlik is now an American, middle aged software company which feels much closer to Generic Corporation A than some Lund University start-up. In the few times you leave your private island and go to headquarters, you'll find... yourself asking what the culture of Qlik even is. Ex-IBM/Oracle/SAP/Microsoft etc. sales people have taken over the company and make it feel like a soulless, revenue-oriented corporate entity more focused on who'll make President's Club than customer success. The company feels devoid of life and dynamism. 2. Empty Vision - outside of making money, I have no idea what Qlik's long-term corporate vision is at this point. Each year leadership performs an exercise to determine vision but most points revolve around sales revenue and operational changes are almost never actually implemented. R&D is isolated heavily from the rest of the company and communication chains with leadership are fractured due to the remote nature of most of the employees. 3. Tripping over our own feet - Qlik's worst enemy is itself. Despite having a great product we consistently struggle with internal politics and management bureaucracy which when combined with remote employees makes it hard to implement any real operational changes. Most people just keep doing what they've always done even as the market fluxes in front of us the entire time. 4. Prioritizing Aesthetics over Substance - Qlik is a company in love with how it looks vs. what it actually does. Sales constantly talks about selling the 'art of the possible', a cute euphemism which is less "fake-it-till-you-make-it" and more "fake-it-till-you-sell-it". In a crowded space like analytics, you have to provide hard substance to customers to stand out. I feel like Qlik lacks a lot of tangible substance within the company. Everything looks great until you take a peak under the covers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overhaul your management teams across the board to inject some new life into the company. Too many corporate soldiers have risen through the ranks via politics and aesthetics vs. providing real value and substance to the company.

    Qlik2018-10-18
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great product, good people, bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great core product - great work/life balance - good health benefits - executive team is open and responsive to employees of all levels - regaining momentum and strength under the new leadership and vision - colleagues are smart and helpful

    Cons

    - last few years (under old leadership) have been tough - suffered from overall lack of strategy/execution/innovation - teams/divisions are often silo’ed and sometimes don’t communicate well

    Advice to Management

    - continue to invest in your people and product

    Qlik2018-09-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Qlik"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scdrum Master in Radnor, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance. Very matured organization

    Cons

    Compensation was just a bit low at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Qlik2018-04-26
  9. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Qlik full-time

    Pros

    Relatively good work life balance

    Cons

    Not many opportunities for advancement in the finance organization

    Qlik2018-01-09
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Used to be an AMAZING company :("

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Amazing product and technology. Absolute best in the market, but it's a hidden gem. Very few know the true power and value of the associative engine. * Competitive pay. For those that have been here for a while, the pay is very good. * Great work/life balance. Flexible work hours, remote working, and time off is excellent.

    Cons

    * Cost cutting. Since going private, the focus is on cost cutting and short-term revenue. Very little focus on customer success, training and enablement, or doing the right thing. * No culture/identity. The Swedish culture and Qlik's core values were very unique and a huge differentiator. Those core values are no longer here at Qlik. Instead, everyone just works on their own things, rarely communicates or seek... advise or help, and nobody seems to care anymore. It's just a job. * Management. Very out of touch with the people, technology, and customers. Rarely visit customers. The same senior managers that got us into this mess (e.g. grossly missed in Q4/2015, which caused the stock to drop and ultimately lead to Qlik going private) are the ones still leading the company. They made $Ms on the stock, more $Ms when Qlik went private, and have more $Ms in stock in the new private company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, partners, and customers. There's major attrition and nothing is being done to acknowledge or address it. Partners have built businesses off of Qlik and they're now moving/adopting new technologies. Customers are screaming for new features, but we go off and build completely different things. Unfortunately, the competitors have better management and as a result, Qlik is losing market... share to them.

    Show More
    Qlik2017-07-13
Found 36 reviews
</>Embed